11/13 Mowgli PMPS 367 +2 358 +6 319

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401

Come on down Mowgli.....Red is not for you my furry friend.

I was reading in your profile about all your fun Winter activities. Wow. And dog sledding too...that's cool.

Have a great day Keri and I hope Mowgli makes it down a level or two....safely.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401

Please get another ketone test. If you can't raise Mowgli's dose (he really needs an increase), you've got to test aggressively for ketones.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401

I have been testing his ketones, up to this point still says negative..
i don't think it would be responsible of me to increase his dose without being here to monitor it? would this not be the consensus? monitoring is key when raising a dose?
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401

.

from yesterdays condo:

Unfortunately I am not okay with increasing his dose this weekend, as I will be gone from about 11-530 tomorrow and most the day on sunday.


is this still the plan for your schedule this weekend Keri? just double checking...
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401

same schedule yes, i will be gone shortly am actually leaving in half an hour, and then back before his PMdose...And then tomorrow will be gone roughly the same time...
And monday, all day, back to work...
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401

ok, could you get an "out the door check" before you leave?
these little checks will help fill in your spreadsheet on days like this when you wont be around.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401 +4 358

sounds good.
hope ur day goes well, and if you decide not to increase cuz of your schedule this weekend, keep at it with the ketones checks, that includes tonight.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401 +4 358

will you be home tonight? About about increasing then? Mowgli has plenty of room for an increase - he hasn't been lower than 211 on this dose. He needs more insulin, even if there weren't ketones threatening. Now that there are ketones threatening, that takes away the luxury of being able to take more time between dose changes.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401 +4 358

I agree with Libby. He has plenty of room and the ketones are a big concern. You can monitor tonight, and get what tests you can tomorrow. He needs more insulin, Keri.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli AMPS 401 +4 358

Hi Keri. Good with getting the out the door check here. You know I agree with Libby here. I really think you should consider upping Mowgli's dose tonight and not wait. He does have room for it and you don't want to see ketones again even if it was just a trace.

I did get your PM yesterday by the way. I hope that you are able to get into to see Doug. I think you will like him. Yes he will work with you with the Lantus and he believes in home testing. I must say though that after all the years we have been on this journey with Tori he pretty well has me do my own decisions about dosing but he's always there when I need him. He loves spread sheets or graphs by the way. At the beginning I used to do curves and graph them and bring them in for him.

Hope you have a good day at work. Call for a chat if you like.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli ASAP what dosage increase??? PMPS 367

I'm not all that experienced in giving dosing advise, but yes, I think 1.25 would be the next step.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli ASAP what dosage increase??? PMPS 367

I think I would go with the 1.25.
Mowgli's numbers have been pretty high so a .25 increase is usually what would be advised.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli PMPS 367

Good hooting.
I think you can start with a +2, tonight, and depending upon the +2 (please post the number), a +4 would be good to get.

Best of luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli PMPS 367

Don't forget about NDW - with the dose increase, the shed will need to be topped up so you may see some higher numbers before you see better lower numbers.

"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli PMPS 367 +2 358

an how does this fair for him? i would prefer to get a +6, as opposed to a +4 and +6...... just sayin....
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli PMPS 367 +2 358

Keri, you don't need to get all those tests...get a +6, ok? I don't think Dyana realizes that you are having a hard time testing.
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli PMPS 367 +2 358

thanks laurie... :YMHUG:
i don't imagine there is going to be a dramatic drop anyway..with the way his numbers have been...so i will get a +6, and depending on that I will do the morning....
ketones still negative right now...

he hides under the bed on me now :sad: i don't much like that......
 
Re: 11/13 Mowgli PMPS 367 +2 358

Yes, unless you get a dramatic drop at +6, that should be enough for tonight. Great that the ketones are negative! I saw that you have been putting the tests in the comments on your SS, that's great. :-D

Awww, I'm sorry he's hiding. Like Pat said, have a talk with him and tell him that it's for his own good, make sure you use big words so he's impressed. ;-) Hang in there Keri, you're doing a great job...it will get easier. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top