11/13 Morris AMPS 425; +3 364; +7 380; +9 396; PMPS 473

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56317

Last night, he only ate 1/4 of his food. Combine that with during the day yesterday he only ate 1/2 of his food. I am still worried about his teeth! Can't wait to be able to speak with the vet tomorrow!

I will be home the majority of the day again today, so will do more spot checks on both his BG & how he is eating.
 
Re: 11/13 Morris AMPS 425

it's great that you're so on top of this, gwen. if his teeth are a problem it's no wonder he doesn't want to eat.

enjoy your sunday!
 
Re: 11/13 Morris AMPS 425; +3 364

He has now eaten 1/4 of his food.

Could these 'marginal' kidney issues be causing his tremendous peeing? I know cats don't have a naturaly thirst drive. He only gets fed canned food & I mix water into it (about 1 cup every 12 hours). He doesn't have access to other water. Should I try his water dish again? Even on the days he doesn't eat much (& therefore drink much), he pees an incredible amount!

Any thoughts/suggestions??
 
Re: 11/13 Morris AMPS 425; +3 364

punkin pees a ton too. i put water in his food (about equal amounts) but he also drinks some from his water dish. i would think you should have a water bowl out and available all the time. it may be with the high numbers they all seem to pee more, then you add in the water you've given him = lots of pee.

a friend of mine who is a vet said that all diabetic cats, by definition, are dehydrated. the peeing isn't hard on the kidneys, i don't think, i think the sugar from high numbers is and being dehydrated is.

but i don't know a lot on this, so see what others say.
 
Re: 11/13 Morris AMPS 425; +3 364; +7 380; +9 396

He has had just a couple more bites of food since I last checked his BG. After I was done testing, he did jump down & head over towards his food though!
 
Absolutely. Bounces can take up to six cycles (72 hours) to clear. I'm not surprised he is bouncing this hard. Now is the time for patience pants. Be sure you do not raise his dose until you give him time to clear. His sixth cycle is tomorrow morning. I would probably see what he does through tomorrow before I consider raising.

Remember that according to the protocol, if they fail a reduction, you take them up to the last "good" dose and as Libby explained to us once, the last "good dose" is not the one that put them below 40. If he doesn't move by early tomorrow evening, I'd post and ask for dose help.
 
my guess is the high numbers are bouncing from the blues yesterday. it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, so you probably need to borrow some patience pants from marjorie and wait it out. keep testing though, because you need to know what's happening when that bounce clears.

i would blame the not-eating on any teeth problems.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top