Crista & Ming
Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-pmps-76-1-110-reduction-suggestions.221615/
Good morning, everyone! Yesterday, Ming pulled a 41 around PMPS time while I was at work and my mom took the lead. He earned a reduction which I hope he uses.
Thank you, Wendy! I agree with everything you said and I'll be keeping this post in my notes when it happens again. I feel like I would've done similar to what you suggested if I was home so that makes me feel less like I'm living on the edge of danger. My instinct was to stall when we saw that 41 but my mom had already fed him HC before she told me. Oh well!
It wasn't in the notes last time, but my mom did feed him at +8 some LC FF so maybe next time, we'll have to give him MC and experiment. He did the same thing the day before and I fed him at +8 / +9 as well. (Or he's just being Ming and doing his cat things yesterday..)
Good morning, everyone! Yesterday, Ming pulled a 41 around PMPS time while I was at work and my mom took the lead. He earned a reduction which I hope he uses.
A couple different options for next time. When you see a good sized drop from +8 to +9, I would first give a couple tsp of LC to see if it would help him surf, then get a +10. You could still feed at +10 and have the couple hours clear of food before PMPS. You could have given him slightly higher carbs to keep him up enough for preshot.
Second option if you can't prevent the drop. When you see 40's at preshot I would wait 15-20 minutes and retest again, to see if he came up on his own. Neko always did. But next step is to then feed the 40's if he doesn't come up. I would have tried a small bit of lower carb first, as it's likely near nadir and insulin would be waning, so you don't need as big a bump. And without the HC, you don't have to wait for the HC to wear off before giving the shot. All assuming that he doesn't continue to drop of course. As is, the PMPS number was influenced by high carbs at +13.
I hope you have a quiet night.
Thank you, Wendy! I agree with everything you said and I'll be keeping this post in my notes when it happens again. I feel like I would've done similar to what you suggested if I was home so that makes me feel less like I'm living on the edge of danger. My instinct was to stall when we saw that 41 but my mom had already fed him HC before she told me. Oh well!
It wasn't in the notes last time, but my mom did feed him at +8 some LC FF so maybe next time, we'll have to give him MC and experiment. He did the same thing the day before and I fed him at +8 / +9 as well. (Or he's just being Ming and doing his cat things yesterday..)
No bones were eaten, he was just licking. And this morning, I was eating ham with my toast and he was sniffing it, then licked it. Wonder if he's growing a taste for "human" foods lol!
I also keep great notes of advice - excellent stuff