11/13 Milo PMPS 372

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly and Milo

Member Since 2009
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29621

Tested again 10min later and Milo was at 76. Going to stall 15min to make sure his is on the rise. If he is not rising, what should I do? Just keep stalling? Feed him anything. No food given since last ight after +4 reading.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo +12 79, 76

Yes, I can be home all day. Gong to get another reading now. After another 15min ~~ 71?? Thoughts?
 
Re: 11/13 Milo +12 79, AMPS 78

After stalling a half hour, I decided to shoot on the 78 reading.

+12 79
+12.10 76
+12.25 71
AMPS 78

Not really a rising number, but I guess you could say Milo was holding steady. Will be testing again at +1 and +2. Milo is doing well this morning. Was happy to finally be fed. He just doesn't get this stalling stuff. He should be happy though because all the testing I will be doing today means lots of freeze dried salmon, his favorite!!!
 
Re: 11/13 Milo +12 79, AMPS 78

Way to go Milo...Ya got your freezed dried salmon today.

Nice shooting Kelly.....I peeked at your SS...he did the same thing yesterday morning. He really must love those treats.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo +12 79, AMPS 78, +1 67

So far so good. Milo is playing a round of chase my tail! Very active right now, so not as concerned about the +1 reading. Hopefully Milo can hear everyone telling him to surf the higher greens today!!! The long needles seem to be the ticket! Now what to do with the two boxed of shorts I just bought...??? Oh well, happy to finally see some progress.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo +12 79, AMPS 78, +2 50

Fed some LC food after the 50 reading. I will be testing again in 30min to make sure he doesn't drop any lower. I have HC on hand, but would like to not have to use it. I am wondering if I should reduce Milo's dose to 1unit tonight....
 
bump

nice greens

easy on the snacks, little bit at a time so he doesn't stuff himself, as you may need to offer more as the cycle goes.
gentle surfing ok Milo?

update when you can Kelly.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +2 50, +2.5 47

Usually with a cat that's been diabetic for a year, numbers need to drop below 40 to earn a decrease. Are you at Milo's one year date? If not, he's technically earned the reduction.

If you don't want to jump to HC, mix HC and LC for MC and feed that. You don't want Milo surfing in the 40s. Surfing in the 50s and 60s is safer.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +2 50, +2.5 47

fed some LC mixed with a little HC after the 47 reading. Not feeding very much, and Milo is inhaling it. getting ready to test again.

+3 reading is still 47. Gave him a little more LC/HC mix. Milo was first diagnosed on November 19, 2009, but was OTJ a month later (12/20/09), and remained OTJ till 9/20/10...so would his numbers call for a dose decease???
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +2.5 47, +3 47

Please bump him up out of the 40s. Feeding HC will not cause a bounce, if that's what you're concerned about. It's metabolized quickly.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +2.5 47, +3 47

trying to bump him. Have been feeding HC.

Readings:
11:45 36
11:27 34
10:54 47
10:29 47

Will be testing again in 15min. and feeding just HC
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +3.5 36

kelly, add a drop of karo to that hc, ok?
the hc alone isn't bringing milo up.
see you in 15 minutes...
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +3.5 36

Did just that, but now I am having problems with getting Milo to eat the HC food with the corn syrup. What a day!!! I am hoping that by walking away he will eat his food. Getting ready to go back and check on him and test again. I am still in my pj's... been waiting to get a shower until he is at least in the 50's..sure didn't think it would take this long...

He is still not eating. BG is at 42...
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +3.5 36

his activity level is down. He is sitting in the sun and acting like he is tired of me messing with him. I will try to rub the karo on his gums...should be interesting...I think I am going to have a fight on my hands... used a plunger and got more on his face than in his mouth. However, he is cleaning himself now, so hopefully more karo is getting in his system that way. I am going to give him a few minutes before testing again.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +3.5 36

Force feeding the karo seems to have worked, Milo's BG is 60. I think I have almost went through a half box of test strips today. A trip to walmart is in my near future!
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +4.5 60

very nice! good job!
the syrup will wear off, so you don't want to let your guard down. if it were me, i'd retest in another 30 minutes.
it would help if you can get him to eat. food will stick with him longer than karo...
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +4.5 60

I'm a close personal friend with Hocks!

Just out of curiosity, how much food were you giving Milo earlier? I'm wondering if you were over feeding and as a result, he wasn't hungry. Generally, you want to be giving a teaspoon or so of food to get numbers up.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +5 64

Just retested and got 64 @ +5. I will continue to keep a close eye on him and see if I can get him to eat. I don't think I was over feeding him. Really only gave him about a teaspoon earlier and for treats he only gets a small little piece of the salmon...but then again, maybe I should have fed even less earlier in the cycle. I have to fed his brother at the same time, and he is still willing to eat--had to finally put him in the basement to give Milo at least a shot at eating...so hard to say what is causing Milo's lack of interest in the food.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +5 64

I've been out and am just catching up - WOW! That's a dose reduction for sure. Any new numbers? You'll want to test again to be sure he is staying up once the syrup wears off.
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78, +3 47, +5 64

Got Milo to eat some more after his +6 reading. +5 64, +6 67, +7 122. I will continue to monitor. Should I be shooting 1unit tonight then?
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78,+5 64, +7 122

sounds like a plan for tonight Kelly.

if you can, I'd be curious of a +11.
you doing great today! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/13 Milo AMPS 78,+7 122, +10 311

Well I was afraid Milo would jump, and boy did he ever!! What a day, from 30 to 311?? Still only going to shoot 1unit and monitor tonight. Hopefully tonight is less eventful than today. Just some pretty blues would be a welcome sight!!!
 
looks like Milo is still on the rise...going to give his ears a rest and test again at +3. He is sleeping on the bed with his brother. Ate dinner without any issues, so obviously his appetite came back. He was actually pacing for food about 30min prior to normal feeding time. I think I may have given him more Karo then I intended. It was very hard to tell how much I was getting in him vs. on him. However, I wouldn't think it would continue to affect him like this.
 
Kelly, the high numbers you are seeing now are not related to the karo. Milo is bouncing from the low numbers he saw earlier today. It's very normal...the liver reacts to low numbers by dumping glucose and hormones to increase BG to protect him from hypoglycemia. The bounce could last up to 72 hours and will clear on its own. Just stick to the 1 unit dose unless he sees numbers below 50 again, ok? Nice job today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top