11/13 Max AMPS 355 +2 292 +5 183 +7 193 +9 184

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Previous https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-12-max-amps-341-2-318-5-195-7-192.255369/#post-2876180
I’ve fed Max small amounts every 2-3 hrs to try to keep him surfing in the blues. I will be gone all day tomorrow. Will be traveling to see family 3 hours away and will be gone all day. I will give Max his insulin before I leave and I should be back in time for his pm dose. I was wondering though, since he’s finally coming down, how to keep him stable while I’m gone tomorrow? He will not be monitored at all tomorrow. I hope he will be okay. I’m not usually gone that long and haven’t been anywhere for long periods of time since his SRT 4 weeks ago. What do most people do when they are gone all day, just leave out low carb food in the auto feeder?
 
Last edited:
You are seeing some nice blues. Let's see if we can't get you some good advice. @tiffmaxee @Wendy & Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @FrostD
I hope you have a lovely day away. I would think the determination of what you leave in the feeder will be based on his numbers in the morning. After AMPS, will you be able to get a +2 or +3 before you leave. If I were you, with the blues you are getting, I would leave a little medium carb in his auto feeder. He may go up too high but at least you shouldn't worry about him with you being gone all day.
 
Yes I’m so happy to see these lovely blues but Max will surprise me when I least expect it so I kind of worry about leaving him unmonitored that long but I really don’t have a choice. I will be able to get a +2 just before I leave. Just you watch, something crazy will happen…..I just don’t want to be worried about him all day.
 
It's a little hard to say before seeing the rest of the cycle, tonight, and AMPS. I probably won't be around for AMPS, but if it's lower than usual I'd consider a BCS (1/2 to 2/3 of normal dose), but that does reset the cycle count for increases. As for food, whenever I thought there was a chance he may go low and I wouldn't be home, I always left MC (sometimes HC if we were really fighting greens, but I don't think he'll be that low).
 
You're on the 6th cycle at this dose, so it should start showing it's colors soon here if it hasn't already. His blues are high enough that Id probably give full dose but leave a bit of MC in autofeeder after +4 as a safety net, even though I don't think he needs it.
 
He hasn’t dropped into green yet on this dose. If he’s around tge same as he’s been tonight and tomorrow morning I would shoot the full dose. I would jus add some mc to the feeder for the times it opens until nadir.
 
Yes I don’t want to be worried about him all day either. He may be higher tomorrow but I’d rather give him a bunch of food and be too high than for him to get to low while I’m gone. I am going to feed him really well in the morning then set the feeder to feed him again at 11:00 and at 2:00 some medium carbs or maybe high carb depending on what he is in the morning. My sister said she could come check on him at 3:00 pm but she won’t check his BG. I will get back home at about 5-5:30 pm and his insulin will be due at 6 pm.
 
Yes I don’t want to be worried about him all day either. He may be higher tomorrow but I’d rather give him a bunch of food and be too high than for him to get to low while I’m gone. I am going to feed him really well in the morning then set the feeder to feed him again at 11:00 and at 2:00 some medium carbs or maybe high carb depending on what he is in the morning. My sister said she could come check on him at 3:00 pm but she won’t check his BG. I will get back home at about 5-5:30 pm and his insulin will be due at 6 pm.
I think this plan is perfect!! It is what I would do… with the added bonus of a sweet sister coming in to look in on him. ❤️ Enjoy that grandbaby!
 
Well he’s back in the red this morning. His asthma was bothering him early this morning. Had to give him a puff of his albuterol inhaler. I will give him his Flovent and maybe another puff of albuterol before we leave. I think I will low carb in the feeder for two meals and my sister will feed him another meal instead of leaving medium carb since he’s so high the is morning.
 
Well he’s back in the red this morning. His asthma was bothering him early this morning. Had to give him a puff of his albuterol inhaler. I will give him his Flovent and maybe another puff of albuterol before we leave. I think I will low carb in the feeder for two meals and my sister will feed him another meal instead of leaving medium carb since he’s so high the is morning.
Good plan. Sorry about the asthma. My doctor gave me an albuterol inhaler, but I could almost never get it to puff out any medicine- the thing just doesn’t spray. I even took it back to the pharmacy and they exchanged it for a new one - also doesn’t work. I gave up on it. Fortunately it was just for so me bronchitis that seems to have cleared up on its own.

How do you give the albuterol to Max? With my inhaler, I was supposed to put it in my mouth and inhale. Since you can’t do that with a cat, how do you do it? Just puff a little in front of their nose?
 
He came down to 378 with +2 so that makes me think it’s going to be an active cycle. With his inhalers I use a chamber that hooks to it with a mask on it and I just put it over his nose and he breathes in the medication. It’s called an Aerocat. It works well. We are leaving in about 45 minutes. I really hate leaving him now but praying he will be alright.
 
He came down to 378 with +2 so that makes me think it’s going to be an active cycle. With his inhalers I use a chamber that hooks to it with a mask on it and I just put it over his nose and he breathes in the medication. It’s called an Aerocat. It works well. We are leaving in about 45 minutes. I really hate leaving him now but praying he will be alright.
Oh, I have seen those Aerocat things on Amazon. I’m glad to know they work well. Thank you!
 
Back
Top