11/13 Mary Grace AMPS 264 +2 264

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys .. well talk about a flat morning for sure! I hope you can squeeze in that extra spot check you are trying for .. have a great day guys!
 
From the "New to the Group" sticky, here's an

Example of an active Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

the nadir isn't necessarily at +6, and it can change around some, but when you see a +2 that is the same as your preshot, that makes me think of this example. punkin's +2 was often just about the same and his nadir was usually about +5.5.

Hope you have a good day at work!
 
Nice to see Mary Grace in yellow. Also, when the +2 is the same as the preshot you can look for lower numbers during the day.
 
Thanks for the info! I was just comparing what her "usual" +2 has been. I couldn't get home at lunch : ( My mind is so preoccupied with Mary Grace that I can't concentrate at work, I am forgetting things (like to order my own diabetic supplies). I just want her to feel better. I have tried unsuccessfully to load a picture for the avatar. But she is a pretty black kitty with yellow eyes. I will browse the tech forum for any ideas as to what I am doing wrong (says size is too big) --its just a picture I emailed myself from my phone! Oh well, just wanted everyone to see my sugar babe!
 
Yep, these kitties do like to keep us guessing (and distracted) sometimes! Flat one day, all over the map the next, perfect curve on another day. Mary Grace sounds beautiful...hopefully you can get her avatar going so we can all see her!

Have a great evening!!
 
absolutely'! we'd love to see what she looks like. I have the sudden urge to peel back the eyelids on my tuxedo kitty (who is sleeping on me at the moment) to see what color his eyes are. I think green - and i should know because he looks at me with this incredible love all the time! but when you said yellow, i thought maybe his are kinda yellow too! :lol:

there is a site where you can upload your photo and it will shrink it to avatar size. Here ya go: http://www.shrinkpictures.com/create-avatar/

by the way, Mary Grace has fellow cats new to FD - Frank and Portia both started within a couple of days of you. Just thinking you all might want to be reading each other's condos. Every cat's situation is different, but some of the info people are teaching will apply to all of you.

eta - maybe you could get a test when you walk in the door after work today. those spot checks help to fill out what's going on with miss mary grace and help us!
 
Hi everyone thanks for the replies!Julie thanks- the avatar link was a success!!! :-D Love having her picture on here!
Also great tip to follow Frank & Portia.
And her PMPS is right when I come home, 5:45. So I have such a huge block from +2 of the AMPS up until the PMPS that is not being known except on the weekends and a maybe 1 or 2 chance that I can get out of the office for a +6 or 7.

She has been on 2.5 for 6 cycles, it looks like Mary Grace is ready for a dose increase. Any thoughts?
 
can you get a before bed test tonight? we really need to know how low the dose is taking her in order to evaluate the dose. if she's getting nadirs under 100 then we would want to hold at least 10 cycles, if not longer.

it's just impossible to make a recommendation without having a little more info on the nadirs to go on. if we have to wait til the weekend to get nadirs, then maybe that would be the best plan. none of us would want to recommend a dose increase without seeing some nadirs on the current dose.

take a look at Gabby's ss from yesterday. I posted it for someone else as an example last night. She's Sienne's cat. her morning preshot was in the 300's, evening preshot was 200's and by +4 i think she was in the 70's. i'm going by memory and don't have it open to refer to, but you'll get the point. by Sienne catching the pm+4, she could see that the dose was just right for Gabby. if she'd only had the other numbers, she might have raised the dose. she knows Gabby's patterns well and probably predicted that was coming. But it helps illustrate the importance of seeing the nadir to be able to make a decision on dosing.
 
I just got her +4 184. I also fed her an additional 1/3 can at about 2 hours after PMPS.
I will try and get another reading before the morning. Is there a more helpful +time to check if I got up? Her shot is at 5:45 am. Thanks Julie- I appreciate the input very much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top