? 11/13 Lincoln AMPS 425, +3 340, +8 315 PMPS 261, +2 257, +6 236 CARB CALCULATING VS CARB CHARTS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Darn it just saw your link @Doodles & Karen cod sole and shrimp... whitefish and tuna... not acceptable

Yeah i fed both those a couple times over the last days... back to no ff for him... he doesn't really like it was surprised he even ate it with everyone else the last couple days... he just gets so picky and stops eating if i try to feed the same thing... so i am trying to have a big selection of LC for him... i thought those made the list... i was wrong ....
 
At this point I might start thinking about getting him tested for IAA and Acro for piece of mind. It could be that you just haven't found the break through dose but with him eating LC wet only (even with the new FF) once you get to around 5u we start suggesting to get the tests done. You would need to talk to your vet and below is the information. With shipping of the blood sample etc. here in the US both tests cost me about $200. My Doodles was tightly regulated on 1u and one day we lost it all and ended up at 12 units of Lantus. I finally got the tests done and sure enough he's IAA with HCM & CHF. My intent is not to scare you but rather rule out any possible reasons for the continued high numbers with a few blues here and there.

IAA - https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog.exe?Action=Test&PAGE=11&Id=1494
Acro - https://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog.exe?Action=Test&PAGE=11&Id=1401
 
Thank you Karen... will think about it and talk to DH and my vet and see how much they want to charge for it... frustrated and disappointment thought we were making some headway finally
 
Switching to TR like you have may help get that break-through. Once over 5u the increases are made in 1/2 unit increments. You're doing a great job with him and we're here to help. Hang in there and remember Lincoln is more than his numbers. As long as he's feeling good that's most important :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Having the tests done does not change the treatment much. It just gives you more information.
 
@Doodles & Karen that article you posted talked about a formula to figure out carbs in food... there is an app that looks like it used the same formula... are we using that formula more then the sites with the posted amounts? Cause if we are then i have been really messing up with his food... stuff i was told was under 5 is saying 15 with that formula and that isnt low carb then

He seems to respond on the .5 increases... and doesn't budge much on the .25... but maybe that is just me seeing movement every 6 days
 
Thats the other one i use! Authority chicken is rated as good on both... confused again lol

Ok added the ? and maybe we will get some more insight... Lincoln eats pretty good as long as i keep a variety in rotation... take away all but one flavor and on day 3 he won't even take a lick
 
Folks have had pretty big unexpected BG spikes on the new FF, hoping that's what happened to Lincoln....and that he comes back down soon:bighug::bighug::bighug:it took awhile for the FF effects to clear so hang in there:bighug::bighug:
 
I'm not good with the calculators however I can tell you that there didn't seem to be a reason why Boomer's levels all of a sudden went up but I was feeding four types of Fancy Feast and there have been so many rumours that Fancy Feast has changed its formula I think I finally hit on a case which had some old formula and some new.
I am now feeding Nature's Variety Instinct and Hound and Gatos which I see you already feed. I would steer clear of the Fancy Feast.
@Wendy&Neko is in Canada as well
 
Ok went on the hunt... petland , petsmart, walmart, and global pet foods. Came home with hound and gatos (chicken, salmon), authority (chicken), wellness (chicken), friskies (chef dinner), merrick (suf n turf), weruva (mack and jack, meow luau, paw lickin' chicken)

Now if the sites that list them as low are right i should have all of that plus the natures instinct salmon, chicken, rabbit, lamb, duck plus the BFF flavors (5) -- if this isn't enough variety for him i think nothing will be lol..... will track what is fed every day just in case
 
Ok so far today we have eaten authority chicken, wellness chicken, and merrick surf n turf... and we have been coming down all day and tonights PMPS is 261 and in the yellow -- much better then the red i saw this morning
 
Came home with hound and gatos (chicken, salmon), authority (chicken), wellness (chicken), friskies (chef dinner), merrick (suf n turf), weruva (mack and jack, meow luau, paw lickin' chicken)

Helpfully Weruva lists the carb content of all their foods on their website. Leda likes the Mack and Jack and Paw Lickin Chicken (he hasn't tried the Meow Luau, he'd probably like it too, he's liked all of their foods we've tried so far), and Wellness is one of our go to LC cans.
Hope Lincoln enjoys the variety and it helps with bringing his numbers down.
 
Hey Amber, I am so glad that others questioned you about the foods you are feeding as earlier tonight I was looking at your SS and was just scratching my head as to why there is very little movement in his numbers. And I was wondering about the carb count for the food you were feeding. ( not familiar with the foods in CA) The only thing that popped out to me was that you increased his dose today on cycle 6 after he popped some nice blues 6 cycles ago. With TR, a bounce can take 6 cycles to clear so be vigilant tonight since he popped you that yellow number tonight. He could be clearing that bounce.
 
So i should have waited to increase? did i screw up bad? i was sure i was feeding the LC but then those reds showed so i went looking for even more LC... fancy feast messed me up for sure thought i had an alternative in the house already
 
So i should have waited to increase? did i screw up bad? i was sure i was feeding the LC but then those reds showed so i went looking for even more LC... fancy feast messed me up for sure thought i had an alternative in the house already
I get when you saw red that it made you want to increase. Just be vigilant tonight as you always are as he could be breaking the bounce and drop for you tonight. I know with Bubba, sometimes he would jump up before he was going to start earning a reduction.

The FF formula change had a lot of us scrabbling. :eek:
 
I will test him on the +2 and bought another 100 strips today so i guess i gotta if i need them tonight. Here is hoping for some flat lines
 
You were fine to increase tonight, given how much you test. Today was cycle six after his blue streak so he could be coming down from the bounce. Sometimes when they are breaking a bounce, there is extra downward momentum, which added to an increase can mean a more active cycle. Your testing plan sounds good.

I hope you find a food winner!
ETA: I was feeding Neko raw until her latest series of medical issues. Now she gets whatever food she will eat. But Fancy Feast will never cross the threshold.
 
I am just wanting to know the food isn't a factor into his numbers... trying to eliminate causes that i cause lol.... I also have a 17 year old that sadly now has CKD and thyroid... My Benson... we have his thyroid balanced at the moment but the CKD as you all know is not something i can fix... biggest thing for me is keeping him fed... once he dropped a bunch of weight i promised him no matter what he wasn't going to starve to death... cause of the mirtazipine i was able to get almost 2 lbs back on him... the fancy feast is in the house only cause somedays that is all he will eat for me... anything he will eats he gets now just to make sure he is eating... i was trying to balance that with Lincoln needing low carb... i have enough meds i have to give out that i just wanted to simplify one thing with a menu everyone could eat and would eat... if anyone can understand all this i know its all of you... the surf n turf was a hit with all so that was one that was a success lol

I also emailed Merrick trying to get carb values on all their flavors... not sure if i will get a response but hoping
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top