11/13 Leo AMPS 238, +3 284, +7 256, PMPS 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Last Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56182

Good Morning LL, (though not a good morning for me)

It seems we have lost regulation with Leo, and i (and my dad) am majorly stressing out about the whole situation. Leo has been on the rise for the last few days and grandpa increased his dose yesterday, but he's still rising. We haven't experienced NDW in a looooong time and i'm not sure if that's what we're seeing at the moment. I did open a new pen on Nov 4, and this new pen seems like the last, lots of pressure in it, to the point where you stick the needle into the pen and pull the plunger and almost immediately it gets sucked back in from the pressure. I am grasping at straws at this point as well, so who knows. I just spoke to my dad and he said Leo is doing fine, feeling good as far as he can tell, told me that Leo was racing around the house last night playing. My dad did say that Leo seems like a lonely cat this week, so i said to him "give him some love, hugs and cuddles then" my dad told me they were hugging this morning just before i called. He was just going to take Leo for a walk too, he told me that Leo needs the exercise. Leo has started drinking water again at this point, which neither of us has seen him do in months.

So, i guess at this point it will be eliminating everything that could be wrong, Leo feels good and has a great appetite at the moment, so it can't be illness. So next will be to replace the insulin, my dad will pick up a vial tomorrow if Leo's numbers continue to rise. I did buy a package of 5 pens at the end of August, but they are sitting in the fridge at my place, and my father has been complaining about drawing insulin from this pen and the wonky pressure, so we try a vial! If none of those work, then it has to be the cat and FD and then we plug along and increase as needed. Both my dad and I have a feeling it could be the pen, but like i said before we are grasping at straws here.

Recap from yesterday:
AMPS 202
+3 166
+8 144
PMPS 216
+3 288

By the way, is it just me or does this seem to be happening quite a bit around here lately? Kitties losing regulation for no reason whatsoever :?:
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

(((Tracy)))....I'm so sorry, and I know EXACTLY how you feel! What is going on around here these days??? I hope the insulin switch works for you. In fact, I'd be very curious. I just started a new pen for Trix last week in hopes that would fix the problem, but it didn't. She's now on the highest dose she's ever been on, and still not making progress! So now, we're moving on to trying new foods.

Have a great day...

Amy
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

morning guys! ah Leo... what's up dude? tracy, I can sympathize with all you wrote. It has been that way with Mannie for a while now too. We had such good regulation and then one day *poof* and it was gone. I think for us I can attribute that too a dental we did, messing with the dose because of it, and Mannie has not been the same since, number wise, The cat though feels great! as it sounds like Leo does. So we are now in the process of upping the dose, looking for what one was. One keeps eliminating the variables - as it sounds like you are. Maybe the new vial will make the difference. Paws crossed! For us I have come to the conclusion that it is the cat, and FD. Things can just change, for no apparent reason. One has to love the sugar dance. hang in there - I am sure you will get Leo back to where he was. We all just keep pluggin' along. :-D

Leo - dude!! You wanna hang out today? we are just chillaxin' an stuff... See you! ~ ~Mannie
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

I knew my LL gals would understand my frustration. I woke up and the first thing I did was check Leo's numbers from last night and saw that 288 and just about started crying. Leo has been through so much lately and I so want him to get off this merry-go-round of crap. Not a great way to wake up, then have to go to work and try to concentrate on work. I keep telling myself my dad is doing everything like he should and me being there wouldn't change a thing. My poor father checked Leo the other night and saw a yellow number (higher than Leo's PMPS) and reshot another .5 units at Leo's +3, not good I know but it didn't do a darn thing....luckily.
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

Tracy, we know EXACTLY how you feel! Ugh. We're going through the same thing with Zener. Seems to feel fine but his numbers are all over the place. Some days we handle it better than others. :smile: We are just glad we have LL for advice and sympathy.
Liz
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

(((Tracy)))) it does seem like a lot of kitties are losing regulation. Rusty did out of nowhere. Jill told Ella to take the dose up...she said it happens. Ella did and now Rusty is coming back down. I wish there was an answer. It scares the carpus out of me to see kitties like Leo and Trixie lose regulation. Is it possible the vet missed a root, a tooth piece, or anything in his mouth? I guess if he's eating fine, that's probably not the issue.

Thinking of you and your DPs. They are so awesome. Please send them LL love from us all. Hope it's just the stooppid pen.
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

Tracy I can only imagine your frustration. To reach a point of regulation and then lose it :? We are still trying to get Weezer regulated. It seems so close, but stays just out of reach.
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

I just hope it doesn't go back to Leo being back in reds, but we will keep plugging away and hope for the best.

Marje, i dont think its tooth roots, the vet took before and after xrays and she showed them to me, there was nothing left where his teeth were pulled.

I am thankful that my dad hasn't filled out his SS today so I haven't been compulsively checking it, I tried my best to concentrate on work, but I'm done work now so let the OCD SS checking BEGIN!
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

Hi Tracy, yes, we've also lost some regulation, too, for no rhyme or reason, except maybe me. I even bought a new vial, and Maggie's numbers were looking good one day and then the next up in the yellows! Very frustration, huh! But it's good to hear Leo is feeling good and having fun with his DGP's! Have fun Leo with your DGP's.
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

wow...you folks have voiced what I've been wondering...
why all the random high numbers round LL lately??

it's understandable when a bean allows something like I did with binks,
but it's frustrating to see it happen without a clear reason...
 
Re: 11/13 Leo AMPS 238

Tray, it happens. Tess was sooooo close to OTJ, once and poof. As has been said it is the Sugar Dance. She has remained on a very low dose but sheis happy and active . That's what I cherish! Hang in there! leo, may just be having an off week.
 
Just spoke to my dad, he was having SS problems all day. I just got today's numbers and no curve or dip whatsoever, so insulin vial it is tomorrow. Fingers crossed that crappy insulin is the problem.
 
Good luck with the new insulin. Oddly, that is the same exact thing that is happening with Trix...virtually no movement, despite new insulin and increases.

Fingers crossed for all of us...we'll hit the next break through soon. We have to!!
 
I know with a lot of our kitties, there was an event that caused them to lose regulation. With Champ, he got sick with what I think was an attack of pancreatitis, Leo with the same thing, Mannie with the dental. Champ hasn't been the same since he was sick. His numbers have never been this hard to control or to figure out, but he's never felt better (as far as I can tell). He was so close to going OTJ and then got sick and, poof, his numbers went to hell in a handbasket!! I try not to worry about it because he DOES act like he feels so well, but it is frustrating!!

ETA: I just took a look at Leo's SS. His numbers are still pretty good, only getting yellows for the last couple days. I know they aren't as good as they used to be, though. I would caution you, however, on increasing the dose too quickly. You really need to go six cycles (three days) on a dose before increasing again, yet you only went three cycles before increasing to his current 1 u. His shed needs time to fill and then time to get rid of any NDW so holding the dose for six cycles is really important. The only exception would be if his numbers were exceptionally high (red/black) and then you could increase after 4 cycles, but Leo's not even close to that, thank goodness!
 
tracy, i'm totally betting on the pen being bad. i had a pen like that with so much pressure it pulled the insulin back into the pen. that would contaminate the lantus. perhaps this is what he'd be without insulin. hopefully that new vial will be just the thing. you might warn your dad that he might need to really be on top of checking just in case the insulin is uber-effective.

i did a little video how-to thing on the "care of lantus" sticky and showed the bad pen pulling the insulin back into the pen. tell your dad he has my sympathy - that pen was making me totally crazy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top