11/13 Jade AMPS 254+2=320+4=188 PMPS 328

Hi Jill. What a pretty kitty. Nice blue today. I'm so sorry to hear your Jade is out of remission but it is not the end of the world. We can can get him/her back. I can't give dosing advice but want you to know I will check in with you and Jade whenever I can.
 
I know how important support is. Even if it can't be in the form of dosing advice from me. I will watch for you and Jade on the daily post and we will get you support when you need it. @Bandit's Mom I hope you will keep an eye on this pretty kitty during the early mornings. Hope others will, too.
 
SLGS and looks like Jade needs more juice. You can go up to 1.25U.

Jill, do you think you can follow TR? A kitty that falls out of remission could use the aggressive dosing that TR provides for.
I would but my work schedule is too hectic. TR is very intimidating to me and I don’t feel confident enough at this point to do it comfortably. Do you think I should go to 1.25 or 1.50 after her curve? Keep in mind that my vet will surely say to go to 2U.
 
Last edited:
With nadirs under 200, you increase by 0.25U. With SLGS, increases are by 0.25U.
My vet is going to be really unhappy with that if she says go to 2U. I regret sending her a link to Jades SS even though I’m quite sure she hasn’t looked at it. She says the #’s aren’t as relevant as jades behavior is and that the only time I should test her is for her curve.
I did go from .5 to 1U after her last curve. I’m not sure what I’m going to do. I’ll wait to see her curve results and get some more input ( thank you for yours!!)and decide then.
 
SLGS and looks like Jade needs more juice. You can go up to 1.25U.

Jill, do you think you can follow TR? A kitty that falls out of remission could use the aggressive dosing that TR provides for.
Exactly what I was going to say. She almost enough testing to follow TR - but some of those required nighttime tests are lacking. And it looks like Jade needs some more insulin. Hope the increase helps! I see what you said about your work schedule though with regard to TR.
 
Last edited:
the only time I should test her is for her curve
This is extremely dangerous advice from your vet. You’ve seen some blue numbers and you need to be careful and test with increases, as I feel confident you will do because I can tell how much you love Jade. Doses need to be based on nadirs, as you know. I tell you what, reading the last few days about what happened to a member’s cat named Sassy who seized for 8 hours in a hypo event after being diabetic for 9 years and now having brain injury and not being able to see or hear (praying for Sassy’s recovery) has given me a renewed sense of caution. It just really bothers me when vets tell their clients to not test. I never even discussed testing with my vet. I just did it. Later I would print out my spreadsheet to show her on vet visits (so there would not be a suggestion of wasting my money on a fructosamine test.) Of course how the cat is acting is important, but so are the numbers- especially when they’re over the kidney threshold and under 50!
 
If it wasnt for this group I'd still only be giving 1 u of lantus and his numbers are still very high. I cannot even imagine what they would be if I had listened to my vet. She also was the no test only at home curves.

I even called about 2 weeks ago to let her know I had started testing and he was in 3 and 400s. Wanted to keep her in loop and let her know I thought we should increase. Shared ss link with them vet tech said she would talk with dr but her advice not to raise dose as of now. No one has called me back yet! I'm pretty sure dr is angry I started testing and if she looked at ss link it shows I've increased as well. Her fructosamine test that she wanted to do next week will be useless with my numbers and pretty sure she knows it.

Just dont understand vets so unwilling to bend and realize we arent stupid. If they would just give us the support and advice our babies and us would be better off. At least there is FDMB <3

So like others here told me...dont listen to bad advice from a vet that doesnt know your baby. She doesnt spend 24/7 in your shoes. I'm actually gonna make some calls to other vet clinics to find one willing to allow me the freedom to do what's right.
 
This is extremely dangerous advice from your vet. You’ve seen some blue numbers and you need to be careful and test with increases, as I feel confident you will do because I can tell how much you love Jade. Doses need to be based on nadirs, as you know. I tell you what, reading the last few days about what happened to a member’s cat named Sassy who seized for 8 hours in a hypo event after being diabetic for 9 years and now having brain injury and not being able to see or hear (praying for Sassy’s recovery) has given me a renewed sense of caution. It just really bothers me when vets tell their clients to not test. I never even discussed testing with my vet. I just did it. Later I would print out my spreadsheet to show her on vet visits (so there would not be a suggestion of wasting my money on a fructosamine test.) Of course how the cat is acting is important, but so are the numbers- especially when they’re over the kidney threshold and under 50!
I followed Sassy's story and am not being dramatic when I tell you that I have had nightmares ever since. It made me sick to my stomach and it breaks my heart. My situation is a bit complicated with my vet. She's one of a very few here in Chicago that makes house calls which is necessary for Jade as she FREAKS out even getting into a carrier let alone getting in the car and going to the vets office. When we do have to, I give her half a gabapentin and it messes her up for days. Also, over the last 2 years I have built a casual friendship with her. I have the luxury of texting her or messaging her on Facebook and she's pretty good at responding. So, it's a slippery slope with her. I will ALWAYS do what is best for Jade. I will ALWAYS test her before giving her insulin and throughout the day when I can, always. When Jade was initially diagnosed (different vet) they treated me very much the same as @Rainbow Conti described. Had I followed their advice instead of the advice I received here (THANK GOD) Jade would have certainly hypo'd and possibly died. I feel like TR is too complicated for us at this time but certainly agree that she needs a bit more juice. I am doing her curve on Wednesday. I hope I don't jinx it, but I am happy to have gone from the reds to the pinks in the last few day!
 
Last edited:
I have been so worried about Sassy, too. Every morning I wake up and the first thing I do on my computer is see if there is an update. I'm afraid to look at them. Certainly puts a new light on not letting kitties slip too low but that is just my opinion. I am praying for that little girl and her bean. Sounds like you have a good relationship with your vet. Nobody does house calls anymore so you are very fortunate. Maybe you can just explain that you have found this wonderful site that is helping you and has had great success with helping diabetic cats - especially with getting so many into remission. Explain the importance of home testing. I cannot imagine any vet would be against doing that. I do hope she will be understanding.

You are fine with SLGS. You need to follow a protocol that you are comfortable with, Jill. I am not qualified to give dosing advice so can't say whether Jade is ready for an increase after getting that blue yesterday. @Bandit's Mom - if you are still around, what do you think about a .25 increase for Jade? She has been on the dose long enough but with that blue yesterday I am not sure.
 
Oh, I've tried explaining all of those things. She does not agree with any of it. Not the testing and definitely not the quarter dosing. She said last week that she nor any other vet (or client) she's ever know has ever quarter dosed.
Our relationship has shifted a bit since Jade has fallen out of remission. I definitely think jade is ready. I believe that my vet will recommend going up to 2U and I'm not ok with that. My struggle will be to go to 1.25 or 1.50 and how angry my vet will be about it. I am worried that if I don't follow her direction, she will drop me as a client. Such an unfortunate added stress to an already stressful situation.
 
@Jill & Jade I am saying prayers and sending positive your way that the vet will not drop you! Maybe it will just become a more passive aggressive relationship...you dont approve of her nor she you but you both want what's best for jade.

I agree with @Summer and Susie (GA) you follow protocol that is best for you and jade. Plenty of ppl here that can help in either situation;)

Will be looking for updates:cat:
 
I wish there was something I could say or suggest to make your relationship with your vet an agreeable one. I agree with what @Rainbow Conti said. Try to explain that you do not agree with her and she doesn't agree with you but what is important is what is best for Jade. Besides, a lower increase is a safer increase. You can always go up again later. How could she argue with that?
 
I wish there was something I could say or suggest to make your relationship with your vet an agreeable one. I agree with what @Rainbow Conti said. Try to explain that you do not agree with her and she doesn't agree with you but what is important is what is best for Jade. Besides, a lower increase is a safer increase. You can always go up again later. How could she argue with that?
I will most likely go to 1.5 if she suggests 2.0 and if Jade dips too low, I’ll decrease to 1.25
 
I followed Sassy's story and am not being dramatic when I tell you that I have had nightmares ever since. It made me sick to my stomach and it breaks my heart. My situation is a bit complicated with my vet. She's one of a very few here in Chicago that makes house calls which is necessary for Jade as she FREAKS out even getting into a carrier let alone getting in the car and going to the vets office. When we do have to, I give her half a gabapentin and it messes her up for days. Also, over the last 2 years I have built a casual friendship with her. I have the luxury of texting her or messaging her on Facebook and she's pretty good at responding. So, it's a slippery slope with her. I will ALWAYS do what is best for Jade. I will ALWAYS test her before giving her insulin and throughout the day when I can, always. When Jade was initially diagnosed (different vet) they treated me very much the same as @Rainbow Conti described. Had I followed their advice instead of the advice I received here (THANK GOD) Jade would have certainly hypo'd and possibly died. I feel like TR is too complicated for us at this time but certainly agree that she needs a bit more juice. I am doing her curve on Wednesday. I hope I don't jinx it, but I am happy to have gone from the reds to the pinks in the last few day!
I know what you mean about Sassy. That is very upsetting. I have thought about it constantly.

I remember what you said about your vet now. I know you will do what is best for Jade! I think you are doing amazingly well especially cons your work schedule. Don’t you work nights?
 
I know what you mean about Sassy. That is very upsetting. I have thought about it constantly.

I remember what you said about your vet now. I know you will do what is best for Jade! I think you are doing amazingly well especially cons your work schedule. Don’t you work nights?
I do. I just started a new job at a restaurant the same week that Jade relapsed. They have been amazing in working with me regarding all of it. They schedule me in a bit later so that I can test her late in the afternoon and know that i get anxious when I’m there later than I expected to be. I’m lucky.
 
I do. I just started a new job at a restaurant the same week that Jade relapsed. They have been amazing in working with me regarding all of it. They schedule me in a bit later so that I can test her late in the afternoon and know that i get anxious when I’m there later than I expected to be. I’m lucky.
Nice people!
 
This dose brought Jade down to 108 last week. I would seriously consider only an 0.25 unit increase. And I wouldn't wait for a curve, you test enough to know how low the dose takes her. I'd increase now. You've held this dose longer than a week. You don't want to hold doses too long.

I only talked to my vet about dosing if she asked. I never volunteered or asked her about dosing once I'd been posting here a couple weeks. Plus I was finding responses were taking longer than I needed. I could get an answer here fairly quickly.
 
This dose brought Jade down to 108 last week. I would seriously consider only an 0.25 unit increase. And I wouldn't wait for a curve, you test enough to know how low the dose takes her. I'd increase now. You've held this dose longer than a week. You don't want to hold doses too long.

I only talked to my vet about dosing if she asked. I never volunteered or asked her about dosing once I'd been posting here a couple weeks. Plus I was finding responses were taking longer than I needed. I could get an answer here fairly quickly.
I will only increase .25, thank you!perhaps I will go to 1.25 tomorrow a.m.
I’m still going to do the curve on Wednesday just to be able to report to my Vet. It’s what she wants me to do. But, I will rely on you guys for dosing measurements. Thank you again!
 
This dose brought Jade down to 108 last week. I would seriously consider only an 0.25 unit increase. And I wouldn't wait for a curve, you test enough to know how low the dose takes her. I'd increase now. You've held this dose longer than a week. You don't want to hold doses too long.

I only talked to my vet about dosing if she asked. I never volunteered or asked her about dosing once I'd been posting here a couple weeks. Plus I was finding responses were taking longer than I needed. I could get an answer here fairly quickly.
Jill relies on her vet to come to her home because Jade is not a cat that can travel well or handle a carrier. This is the important part for Jill. To have her vet come to her home. It is a little more difficult to brush off the advice of a vet who takes the time to go to your home when your cat cannot handle the travel or the carrier. What do you think, Wendy? Can we make it work with her vet since she cannot take her cat into the clinic? Any words of wisdom to share with Jill regarding keeping her "house call" vet and yet abiding by what this site recommends?
 
@Summer and Susie (GA) Jill also works a job where she is home at longer stretches and cannot test. In this case, safety is first. A larger increase would not be a good idea. 108 isn't that far from the reduction point for SLGS (90), and in fact per SLGS you would hold the dose with nadirs in the 90-149 range. If it becomes a choice of doing the safe thing or following the vet's suggestion, I always did the safe thing.

Jill - you can always tell your vet you don't feel comfortable with such a large increase at once. You can tell her you that Jade may need that high a dose, but you'd prefer to go there in slower steps. In other words, you are telling her she may be right, but you want to be cautious. That should be an OK message. Client comfort should be important to your vet. My vet always asked me what I though about her suggestions.
 
@Summer and Susie (GA) Jill also works a job where she is home at longer stretches and cannot test. In this case, safety is first. A larger increase would not be a good idea. 108 isn't that far from the reduction point for SLGS (90), and in fact per SLGS you would hold the dose with nadirs in the 90-149 range. If it becomes a choice of doing the safe thing or following the vet's suggestion, I always did the safe thing.

Jill - you can always tell your vet you don't feel comfortable with such a large increase at once. You can tell her you that Jade may need that high a dose, but you'd prefer to go there in slower steps. In other words, you are telling her she may be right, but you want to be cautious. That should be an OK message. Client comfort should be important to your vet. My vet always asked me what I though about her suggestions.
I’m going to say yes to whatever she says and then follow the advice I get here. If there comes a time when I need to explain why, then I will. What else can I do?
 
Yeah. What else is there to do. In your situation I would probably do the
@Summer and Susie (GA) Jill also works a job where she is home at longer stretches and cannot test. In this case, safety is first. A larger increase would not be a good idea. 108 isn't that far from the reduction point for SLGS (90), and in fact per SLGS you would hold the dose with nadirs in the 90-149 range. If it becomes a choice of doing the safe thing or following the vet's suggestion, I always did the safe thing.

Jill - you can always tell your vet you don't feel comfortable with such a large increase at once. You can tell her you that Jade may need that high a dose, but you'd prefer to go there in slower steps. In other words, you are telling her she may be right, but you want to be cautious. That should be an OK message. Client comfort should be important to your vet. My vet always asked me what I though about her suggestions.
There are no U-100 syringes that have .25 unit lines, correct?
 
Back
Top