11/13, Gus, AMPS 238, +5 220, PMPS 259, +5.25 241

Gus the Furminator

Member Since 2021
Good morning!

One small question.

I read last night on FB that SLGS dosing increase could be done every 5-7 days. I know that you can’t believe everything on the FB page, although the mods, admins and some other notable folks are amazing - I just can’t remember who said it… but it wasn’t one of them so I’m double checking.

This whole time I was thinking that if nadirs and spot testing doesn’t say reduce or maintain that we would increase once a week.

Now I’m wondering why only 5 days and since I’ve been holding the dose too long so far, is this something I should be thinking about, say if he really doesn’t show much improvements by day 5?

Thanks for you help!
 
Last edited:
Good morning!

One small question.

I read last night on FB that SLGS dosing increase could be done every 5-7 days. I know that you can’t believe everything on the FB page

Nope, I wouldn't :) I am not on any FB pages so I can't comment further, other than to say I suspect it can happen that concepts that originated here on FDMB get manipulated over time on platforms such as FB sites.

Here is what the SLGS dosing guideline we follow says (excerpt from our Dosing Methods Sticky):

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
What our guideline also says about SLGS that I think is important:
"Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose."

Nice start for Gus this morning, hoping he'll have a nice little cycle today. Oh, and good morning! :coffee:
 
Back
Top