11/13 ChrisFarley AMPS 71 +2 70 +6.5 74 PMPS 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
I am finally done with continuing ed!! For this week any way.
Today I have an extra stray in the house to try to figure out how to get into the pounds. They pick up strays off the street, not "surrenders", but this guy was outside and it was going to get down to 0 or below last night so I wasn't going to leave him outside. Problem is I don't live under the same pound coverage as where he came from. Politics. SWEET boy.

Tomorrow will be Chris's 14th cycle on 0.25. Chris is looking fabulous and I am feeling much more comfortable approaching OTJ with these numbers (though I wish he'd quit with that peek at the 100s!) I know the forum recommends 0.1 before going off. I don't do that dose. My husband has a hard enough time trying to draw 0.25 and it does take team effort in this for us. So day after tomorrow we will start a trial with Chris :smile:

Last Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128274
 
some syringes are harder than others to do that dose. I tried with Donaleen's syringes to draw 0.1u and couldn't - the barrel was simply too fat and if you drew in anything, you had more than 0.1u. It is possible to draw it with thinner barrelled syringes like the Terumo's. If you can do it, it's ideal. There are photos of it on the New to the Group sticky.

If you can't, the dose that is smaller than that which you & your husband would definitely be able to do is a one drop dose. You draw it up by pressing the plunger in hard, putting the needle into the insulin and releasing the plunger. The suction will pull back in one small drop.

I think rather than going straight from 0.25u to OTJ, i'd at least give that drop dose a try. If he can't hold green with the one drop dose, then you'll know he's not quite ready for OTJ. We know that the longer a cat gets insulin support the better. Especially since you'll be adopting out Chris Farley and his next people might not be as good about testing him while OTJ, I'd try to give him that extra little time - provided he doesn't go below 50, of course.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top