11/13 Checkers AMPS 232, +5 230

Hi, Chris. Good luck with the switch to TR and the increase. You are doing a pretty good job with the testing. When Checkers numbers start coming down you will need to test a tad more. Wishing you the best. Do you mind if I ask where you live? Are you in the US?
 
Let's see if we can get you some good help. @tiffmaxee @FrostD @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom I would say that other than the AMPS and PMPS test that you absolutely need to do - you should also always try to get a +2 if you can. The +1 will be food influenced but the +2 will show you the trend of where you kitty is going. If it is about the same, or lower than the preshot, then you need to be available to test because kitty might be going lower than the preshot. If the +2 is higher than the preshot then you might not need to be so concerned but let me tell you something. Every cat is different (ECID). You will know when you need to be more attentive. You will be getting the lower blues or greens.
 
Since lantus usually onsets between +2-3 that’s a good time to test as it can give you an idea as to whether it will be an active cycle where you want to test more to catch the nadir. It would be good to see whether a =2 or +3 is a good indicator for Checkers. For Max it was around +2.5.
 
If you don’t have a timed autofeeder for the days you are at work, I would look into maybe getting one. Then you can leave food out that will
open at the appropriate time for him. If the BGs are a little low you can put some higher carb food in the feeder if you are concerned.
 
Back
Top