11.13.13 Shadow AMBG 61, PMBG 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steven & Shadow

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Shadow is staying low this morning so I decided I cannot justify the risk of giving him even a drop of insulin. This looks a lot like his pattern 10 days ago on 11/3. He is alert and content like always.
 
Re: 11.13.13 Shadow AMBG 61

Hi guys ... that's a nice start to the day! I hope that without the shot shadow does not sky rocket for you, but always better safe then sorry .. have a great day guys!
 
shadow is riding low today! Steve, have you looked at Monet or Clyde's ss? When you shoot a lower number with just a tiny dose, it flattens out the cycle. their spreadsheets might help you see this process in action. Monet is being tested with an AlphaTrak meter, so his numbers would be about 25-30 points less with a human meter.

If you're not home to monitor, then i understand why you felt you needed to skip in order to keep him safe. That's your first priority. With a 295 a couple of days ago after skipped shots, it doesn't look like he's ready to go OTJ yet, but he's clearly trying to get done. I think if you could shoot low and consistently some of those lower numbers he might be able to be more ready after a bit. The "Shooting Low" sticky at the top of the page has some discussion on shooting low numbers that might be helpful. It might be that you need an even smaller dose so that you can give a shot every 12 hrs and suppport his pancreas for just a little bit longer. some cats need just a drop - as goofy as that sounds - i've seen it. to measure an even smaller dose, you draw up something you can measure (your 0.1u or 0.5u), then twist the plunger to slide out drops one at a time. count how many drops are in that dose. figure out how many drops were in your 0.1u and see if you can get a smaller number of drops.

then to give the dose, you draw up that measurable amount and twist out the drops.

one very small dose is just what one could almost call an "inhale." people squeeze the plunger tightly closed, put the needle into the insulin and then release the plunger. it will "inhale" a very small amount. i don't know how that compares to your 0.1u, but it gives you another option for measurement.

and maybe he's going to do it this time - i don't know. if you're not already doing it, give him frequent small meals to make it easy on his pancreas. as long as he stays under 120, they are good numbers. let's see what he does.

Are there any questions you have that we could answer?

eta - what does it mean on his ss with "LO" with the 71 yesterday?
 
Yeah, I am not here 24/7 to look after the beast so I am not going to shoot low numbers. If he stays low I will test your inhale technique on the weekend. The "LO" on the Relion Micro indicates that either his BG level is below 20 OR there is not enough blood on the strip to get a good reading. An immediate retest yielded a 71 which was a more accurate measurement of his BG level. Usually not enough blood yields an error code so this was a new one. The evidence suggests Shadows BG level is uber sensitive to what he eats. Since I started home testing he has broken into some "low carb" dry treats and another time I fed him "prescription diet DM dry food" when I was out of town and both times his BG elevated big time but also dropped quickly with small amounts of Lantus and low carb wet food. If he stays on the low carb wet food he seems to stay on the green side of 100. We'll see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top