11/12 Zener PMPS 437;+2 415 ;+3 394; +5 379 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener had a great day yesterday and is starting off in yellow today. He is outside on yard patrol. :-D
Yesterday
11/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 264, 27th cycle @f0.75u
+2 272
+5 107
+6 135
+10 174
PMPS 330, 28th cycle @f0.75u
+2 269
+3.5 203, urine negative for ketones
+5 173

Today
11/12/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 215, 29th cycle @ f0.75u, 1.1oz 8%
+2 239, 0.55oz 8%

Both kitties are pretty restless this morning. We suspect our neighbor kitty may have been in THEIR yard. cat(2)_steam
Hope everyone has a calm and lovely Caturday in LL!
 
Re: 11/12 Zener AMPS 215;+2 239 A Trak

Lovely sunny day for Zener so far! Hope all turns out OK with his patrol duties :lol:
 
Re: 11/12 Zener AMPS 215;+2 239;+3 331 A Trak

Today
11/12/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 215, 29th cycle @ f0.75u, 1.1oz 8%
+2 239, 0.55oz 8%
+3 331, 0.3oz 8%

Harrumph. Thought we were heading for a nice yellow/blue day but Zener has other ideas. Doesn't he always? Not eating great but not terrible either. Backyard patrol completed and now it's nap time.
Liz
 
Re: 11/12 Zener AMPS 215;+2 239;+3 331;+6 412 ugh A Trak

Well, it's a wrong way cycle, darn it. Mr Liver is all a quiver once again. :roll:
Today
11/12/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 215, 29th cycle @ f0.75u, 1.1oz 8%
+2 239, 0.55oz 8%
+3 331, 0.3oz 8%
+6 412, 0.8oz 8%

Senior cat exam on Tillie, our civvie, was mixed, blood work mostly good. She is a bit borderline on elevated thyroid, so we will be watching for increased appetite and weight loss, no symptoms so far over the past 9 months. We weigh her weekly when we weigh Zener. Also, a little elevated BUN, but not out of range. All of her blood cells counts were low - our vet said there was a clot in the tube so we need to bring her back next week for a repeat CBC, no charge. Tillie expressed her displeasure with this news by puking. Tillie does not care about the no charge part. :roll:

Sending lots of healing snowflakes from our mountains to Jill's DH and all the LL kitties and beans who need them today.

Zener will get a poke break now until PMPS.
 
Re: 11/12 Zener AMPS 215;+2 239;+3 331;+6 412 ugh A Trak

Zener...down off that red floor big guy!!!

If the creat is normal, the BUN can be high even just based on a high protein meal or Tillie might have just been a wee bit dehydrated. Hoping the thyroid level stays stable. Poor girl (pukus)! Yuck on the redo...

Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/12 Zener AMPS 215;+2 239;+3 331;+6 412 ugh A Trak

Thanks Marje! We need all the support we can get during bounces. @-) Zener's cycle looks a lot like the one he had 3 days ago. We are trying the 3x below 80 before reducing, so he gets some action, then bounces. Since he's had such a hard time holding reductions at the low doses now, we are doing our best to stay this course and see if it helps. We need flannel lined patience pants now that our weather has changed. It sure is hard to stay the course when we see r*d numbers. nailbite_smile

Thank you for the explanation of the BUN. Her creatine was normal and our vet thought it was most likely due to the change in her diet to the higher protein wet food. Nothing yet for the thyroid other than to monitor. She puked shortly after the vet called. We weren't home so the Queen heard the verdict for the re-do on the answering machine and expressed her opinion! :lol:
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Numbers up, appy down, lost 3 ounces this week and now at 12 lbs. It's been a frustrating day for us all. :sad:
Today
11/12/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 215, 29th cycle @ f0.75u, 1.1oz 8%
+2 239, 0.55oz 8%
+3 331, 0.3oz 8%
+6 412, 0.8oz 8%
+9 4PP with 3mg Zobaline
PMPS 437, 30th cycle @f0.75u, 0.45oz 6%, 1.0oz 8%

We have been at this dose for 2 weeks now, had two cycles where he got below 80 and then rebounding to reds and pinks. Doesn't seem to be evening out across cycles, and we seem to be seeing more red and pink than in weeks, so wondering if we should be trying something different. Should we be nudging up in dose again? Or is this just typical bounce behavior? Would love some expert eyes and opinions on if we are following the right course, or should we be trying a different dose. :?
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

WRONG WAY, ZENER!!!!

Baby-Funny-Wallpaper-Calming.jpg
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Thanks Binksie and Celi, we could use that baby booze bottle! We are feeling pretty bummed tonight. :sad:
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

I'm not up to speed on Zener, so I'm trying to catch up. I'm looking at the SS...when did you open new insulin last?

I know the bouncing is frustrating...Mr T did a LOT of bouncing for a long time. :YMSIGH: The good news is that his liver is doing it's job.
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Looks like Zener could maybe use a little more on the dose, maybe try 1.00U, but Please ask the dosing helpers first...I try to do increases when I will be home to monitor--Yes Laurie is right, chec your insulin --could be that! Hugs from us!
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I'm not up to speed on Zener, so I'm trying to catch up. I'm looking at the SS...when did you open new insulin last?
Thanks, you've been having a party today - congratulations!
We opened this vial of insulin 9/24.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I know the bouncing is frustrating...Mr T did a LOT of bouncing for a long time. :YMSIGH: The good news is that his liver is doing it's job.
Yes, there is the good news about the liver. We try to focus on the good news when we get frustrated.
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Thanks Roni, we used the last vial of insulin for 2 months without any issues. It's getting close to 2 months on this vial. I'll keep the ? up and wait for the dosing experts.
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Hi Anne, Liz,

Wait for Laurie to get back to you. She always gives good advice.
Hope Tillie's anger is mellowing a bit!

Hang in there,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Yuck! Poor Zener and poor you guys! How frustrating. I hope you get some answers. confused_cat
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Hi there,

I was just looking at Zenners ss. Looks to me like his reductions have not been holding. Maybe go back up to s1.0 in the AM to try and get things moving again.
Once things get moving again, I agree with your giving the '70-80 on 3 separate days before reducing' method a try.

What do you think?
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Thanks Linda, Ella and Jaq! We have on our patience pants, though we frequently seem to misplace them and have to put them back on! ;-) We are repeating - it's one number among thousands; it's one cycle among thousands; it's a marathon, not a sprint and other mantras we have learned from the wise ones here at FDMB. We are patiently waiting for advice from Laurie and others. We always get such great help here.

Tillie has decided she forgives us and seems to be eating ok after her puke this morning. She will most likely withdraw her forgiveness when she finds out she has to go back again next week for repeat the CBC because of a problem with the tube the blood was in. :roll:
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hi there,

I was just looking at Zenners ss. Looks to me like his reductions have not been holding. Maybe go back up to s1.0 in the AM to try and get things moving again.
Once things get moving again, I agree with your giving the '70-80 on 3 separate days before reducing' method a try.

What do you think?

We have been thinking that it might be necessary to go back up and sk1.0 was the last really good dose where we saw nice numbers last for several cycles. You may be right that the reductions since then have not held and we should go back up, get things moving again and use the 3x 70-80 before reducing again. I'll see what others suggest too. We have until tomorrow am to decide. Thanks Sandy!
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

I agree with Sandy, I think you have room to increase...however, make sure this bounce has cleared before you go up. You don't want the increase to kick in at the same time the bounce clears, he drops fast sometimes when a bounce clears and that could make the numbers hard to control.

I have been looking at the food notes, I see you are using higher carb food to slow the drop at those times...that's a good idea. You might try a higher carb a little sooner next time, before he gets into the low blues/greens. Look at 11/8, PM cycle....he had a nearly 200 pt drop from PS to +2. Even though he was still in high blues, I would try a HC snack to slow him down....in fact, I would start checking him at +1 when you know a bounce is about to clear, so you can intervene sooner. He gets a lot of momentum going at times, and those huge drops set off a bounce. It isn't always how low they get that causes the bounce, but sometimes the speed of the drop. If you can control the drops, it might help you reduce the bouncing somewhat.

ETA: Thanks for the info on the age of the vial....I always consider that when numbers get inconsistant. It's probably fine, since it's been open less than 2 months.
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Glad you heard from Laurie and Sandy; I was going to recommend that you also increase a bit.

Good luck with the dosecrease...I hope it'll bring those numbers down a shade.
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I agree with Sandy, I think you have room to increase...however, make sure this bounce has cleared before you go up. You don't want the increase to kick in at the same time the bounce clears, he drops fast sometimes when a bounce clears and that could make the numbers hard to control.
Okay, I understand. It looks this AM cycle today was the bounce so we may be waiting until Wed am cycle to increase, unless the bounce breaks earlier? If he should go down below 80 on the AT during this time, should we still go up to sk1.0, or try the HC earlier in the cycle as you suggested and not go up?

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I have been looking at the food notes, I see you are using higher carb food to slow the drop at those times...that's a good idea. You might try a higher carb a little sooner next time, before he gets into the low blues/greens. Look at 11/8, PM cycle....he had a nearly 200 pt drop from PS to +2. Even though he was still in high blues, I would try a HC snack to slow him down....in fact, I would start checking him at +1 when you know a bounce is about to clear, so you can intervene sooner. He gets a lot of momentum going at times, and those huge drops set off a bounce. It isn't always how low they get that causes the bounce, but sometimes the speed of the drop. If you can control the drops, it might help you reduce the bouncing somewhat.
He does like to get on the express elevator even when the numbers are not so high. We routinely check at +2 so should we consider using MC if we see him drop, say more than 50? And go to the HC if the drop is more than 100? We have such a hard time telling if he is about to bust a bounce, but checking at +1 is not a problem, if we can catch it.

We have such a time with his appetite, we have about 3 foods to choose from that he will eat - one is 5% FF mixed with 11% pro plan, and then we have a 17% FF with gravy. We mix and match those and only recently have been getting him to eat below 11%.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
ETA: Thanks for the info on the age of the vial....I always consider that when numbers get inconsistant. It's probably fine, since it's been open less than 2 months.
The first vial of lantus we switched out after 1 month, then went almost 2 months on the 2nd one. This is our 3rd vial and we were going to try to go for 3 months. I see some differences of opinion on how long a vial lasts.

Thanks for your help. We shall hold the f0.75 until we see some bounce breaking behavior, then try the s1.0 and will start adding HC sooner if he gets on the express, despite the colors.
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437 dose? A Trak

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Glad you heard from Laurie and Sandy; I was going to recommend that you also increase a bit. .
We are advised by Laurie to wait until this bounce starts to break before going up a bit so we don't do a double whammy. We don't always catch the break right away, but will give it our best. I'll keep all informed when we put the dosecrease in place. Thanks Marje!
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437;+2 415 dose? A Trak

So, I'm pretty sure this is not bounce breaking behavior yet.
PMPS 437, 30th cycle @f0.75u, 0.45oz 6%, 1.0oz 8%
+2 415, 1oz 8%

I'm still a little confused about the timing of the dosecrease and bounce breaking numbers. :?
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437;+2 415 dose? A Trak

I'm hesitant to chime in with any advice as to the timing of a dosecrease... I'm blessed with a cat that has never been terribly bouncy. I just hope that Z clears it soon and you're able to get him back to better numbers pronto! Glad to hear Tillie's results all came back good... sorry that she didn't have a better reaction to "FREE LAB TESTS!!" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hope you guys are enjoying the three day weekend!
 
Re: 11/12 Zener PMPS 437;+2 415 ;+3 394 dose? A Trak

Christie - love the free lab tests angle, will try it on Tillie, though I'm sure she would only be happy about free mice or birds. ;-)
We are all enjoying our 3 day weekend, hope you are having a nice weekend too.
 
Thanks to all for the advice tonight. We will ride out this bounce before going back up to s1.0.
PMPS 437, 30th cycle @f0.75u, 0.45oz 6%, 1.0oz 8%
+2 415, 1oz 8%
+3 394, 0.65oz 9%
+5 379, 0.9oz 9%
It's been a difficult day with poor appy and poor numbers. Zener's appy picked up tonight thank goodness, and his numbers stopped going up so we're grateful for that. Off to bed, ni ni LL. See you all tomorrow. I-) I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top