11/12 Tiny Solè +8:98, +11:88, AMPS:110, +4:113, +8:100, +9:152, PMPS:132

Good Morning, Joanne and Tiny! Looks like she is continuing to nadir very late......and looks like you shaved off a bit from the 1.25 dose. With following SLGS, the guidelines are to reduce at 90. However, and I will catch some heck from the rigid SLGS peeps, I probably would have held the 1.25 dose after that 74 at PM +11 on 11/9 because, it was the end of the cycle and she is only going up from there , but mainly because you are testing enough for TR and her cycles are mostly blue.

JMHO.
 
That's why I reduced it just a spec. I'm thinking I should go back to 1.25...

Should I go back up tonight, @Bobbie And Bubba ?
I would take her back up to 1.25 Her greens at night are still nice safe numbers. With the AT2 meter, the take action number is 68 and with her nadirs being so late and sometimes at the end of the cycle like the 74 was, I would be okay with not reducing.
 
I would take her back up to 1.25 Her greens at night are still nice safe numbers. With the AT2 meter, the take action number is 68 and with her nadirs being so late and sometimes at the end of the cycle like the 74 was, I would be okay with not reducing.

Back up she goes! 1.25 U tonight it is! Thank you!!! ❤

Come on Tiny! Let's do this!!!
 
I would take her back up to 1.25 Her greens at night are still nice safe numbers. With the AT2 meter, the take action number is 68 and with her nadirs being so late and sometimes at the end of the cycle like the 74 was, I would be okay with not reducing.

Bobbie, do you think I could get a little more sleep through the night and test around +9 through +11, or is that too risky yet?
 
Looking at your SS, is seems like most of her nadirs are around +8 ish +9ish, so I think you might be able to do that. Is she the type of kitty that comes and wakes you asking for food when she starts going lower?
 
Is she the type of kitty that comes and wakes you asking for food when she starts going lower?

On Sunday, at 6 AM, I heard her pacing around the bed, and got up, tested her and she was at 74, so the answer is yes, I think. She's not overly affectionate - who am I kidding! - she's not affectionate at all, so isn't the type to jump on the bed and bug me, but I'm a light sleeper (cursed) and heard the pacing.

This morning, 6 AM at BG of 88, she was meowing , something I've never heard her do! She's Siamese so only ever complains instead of meows! :rolleyes::joyful::joyful:
 
I'd appreciate getting some examples of how you've helped your kitty surf...

At what number do you begin to give them a small LC snack? 90or below?

Foe instance, im about to test Tiny, and my guess is that she is somewhere below 100. I always test her at 4:30 PM, because she gets insulin between 7:15 and 7:30 AM/PM.

I want to be sure she's got a snack around the +9, since she usually starts to nadir at the +9 to +11 and the +9 is a safe time to give her a snack that won't influence her pre-shot numbers. But I'm wondering if I'm giving her a snack too often throughout the day. ...she eats a decent meal (2 full Tbs) just prior to her AM + PM doses, then a small snack (1-2 tsp) between 11 AM and 1 PM, then the same snack around 4:30 to 5 PM, before bed at 9:30 or 10:30PM, then 3 AM. Its always LC FF, unless her numbers are below 80. Too much snacking?

Your thoughts?
 
Last edited:
Also, I don't know for how long Tiny went undiagnosed / unregulated. For all I know, she's been diabetic for a long time before getting insulin. Will that hurt her chances of possibly getting OTJ?
 
Looks like she is continuing to nadir very late......and looks like you shaved off a bit from the 1.25 dose. With following SLGS, the guidelines are to reduce at 90. However, and I will catch some heck from the rigid SLGS peeps, I probably would have held the 1.25 dose after that 74 at PM +11 on 11/9 because, it was the end of the cycle and she is only going up from there , but mainly because you are testing enough for TR and her cycles are mostly blue.
Yup, you will hear from someone on this.;) It's not just the frequency of testing that is the issue. It is that there is kibble in the picture. TR is a safe but aggressive method of dosing. One of the checks and balances that makes TR safe is the premise of an all low carb wet or raw food diet. We don't have that in this situation. Kibble processes in the system at a different rate. Also, Joanne is using the AT, so that 74 is pretty close to the hairy edge of 68 followed by those doing TR. That's why I suggested she lower the dose to 1.0 units. Safety first.

You might want to read this post on TR Myths Debunked and Combining/Merging protocols. Here is the post on SLGS/TR by Libby. Actually, the entire post is a good read. One of the most important statements made is that if you want to deviate from the dosing methods as stated, it should be your decision Joanne, as it's your cat. It's not something another member should suggest you do.
 
It's not something another member

I understand. I'm still very new to all of this and seeking knowledge to help me make decisions. The only people with knowledge are those here with experience who have done, and know, more than me.

I understand that ECID, but there must be data based on patterns of responses. I'm not trying to ruffle feathers, im collecting information that I believe will help me make the best decisions for my cat.

I'm not going to get into why I continue with the Young Again low-carb dry food, but that's my call too, and based on the needs of my cats and the household. All four of our little darlings are eating LC moist food predominantly. Tiny has psychological issues and I'm not taking away the tablespoon she eats daily only to cause her more stress.

I'm trying to figure this out and IMHO I have a good Team Tiny supporting me here, and im grateful to hear out all thoughts and opinions to help me make the good decisions I need to.

I hope no one gets overly dominant on my post or tries to thwart the people helping me. I'm a woman who works full time, with a diabetic cat and very little sleep who is on the verge of a physical breakdown, so work with me please.
 
Last edited:
One of the most important statements made is that if you want to deviate from the dosing methods as stated, it should be your decision Joanne, as it's your cat. It's not something another member should suggest you do.

Also on that statement, I am mature enough to understand consequences of asking for opinions to carefully weigh out. The FDMB is an "enter at your own risk" place; I understand that too. I would never hold anyone responsible for a decision I would ultimately make. But why ask a question if we are not supposed to consider multiple answers? That makes no sense to me.

What good are any of us if we aren't here to help one another? My cat. My decisions. I get it.

And to be even more clear, I understand all positions and am not upset. I want to be understood too: knowledge is power. I'm asking for info not asking for others to make any decisions for me.

Thanks for hearing me out.
 
No worries on the dry food, you gotta do what you gotta do.:bighug:

And yes, the FDMB is an open peer reviewed board. You will get differing opinions, and hopefully people will put their reasonings behind what they say so you can decide what you think is best for your cat. I also state what I state expecting that there are others reading or lurkers on your condo. I don't want some lurker with a newly diagnosed cat feeding dry food think it's OK to bend the dosing guidelines that were put in place for safety.
 
I probably would have held the 1.25 dose after that 74 at PM +11 on 11/9 because, it was the end of the cycle and she is only going up from there , but mainly because you are testing enough for TR and her cycles are mostly blue.

Thank you for giving me your opinion, Bobbie. Moving forward, I will only ask for you opinions regarding scenarios specific to Tiny. I won't ask a 'What should I do?' Question again to avoid putting you or anyone on the spot.
 
I don't want some lurker with a newly diagnosed cat feeding dry food think it's OK to bend the dosing guidelines that were put in place for safety.
That is a good point and well received.
Also, Joanne is using the AT, so that 74 is pretty close to the hairy edge of 68 followed by those doing TR. That's why I suggested she lower the dose to 1.0 units. Safety first.
Had that 74 not been at the end of the cycle when Tiny goes upward from there, I would agree with your statement. If Joanne did not test a lot (as much as the TR folks) my advice would be different.
I understand.

DISCLAIMER! Do not follow my dosing regimen! ECID!!
You can add that to your signature like I and others have.
 
it should be your decision Joanne, as it's your cat. It's not something another member should suggest you do.
I just need to respond to that statement. Joanne ask in a PM a dosage question. To be true to the spirit of this peer reviewed board I told her I would remark on her thread today my feelings about the dose which is what I did today.

ETA: My opinion about the dose was not unsolicited.
 
I just need to respond to that statement. Joanne ask in a PM a dosage question. To be true to the spirit of this peer reviewed board I told her I would remark on her thread today my feelings about the dose which is what I did today.

ETA: My opinion about the dose was not unsolicited.

That is correct. I asked privately and Bobbie said it was best to keep these types of questions and discussions visible on the open board. I was happy to agree to the protocol.

I asked privately because I didn't want the thread to get incredibly lengthy .
 
Back
Top