11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132, +6 118, + 7 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56232

Gonna try to get a full curve done today. Although Mr. Pissy fussed at getting poked this morning so today could be a very long day...poor kitty!
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291, +2 305, +4 281, +6 246, +8 283,

Tiki has been an angel all day and has been nothing but cooperative. I wish his BG #'s were as cooperative...
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291, +2 305, +4 281, +6 246, +8 283,

Nice job getting a curve in, but I wouldn't be too discouraged by the lack of movement in the numbers yet. This is only the third cycle on this dose....it can take up to 6 cycles to see the effect of a dose increase. If you look at Tiki's SS, he just started to respond on the sixth cycle of 0.75u. It will get better, hang in there! :smile:
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291, +2 305, +4 281, +6 246, +8 283,

I like Tiki's name, and I love his avatar. He is a very handsome boy.
Good job with getting the curve today, both of you
cat.gif
.
Maybe, you'll even see some blue tonight, who knows. :-D If not tonight, it will be soon.
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291, +2 305, +4 281, +6 246, +8 283,

Crossing all fingers, toes and eyes (at least until I have to read those tiny lines on the syringe) that we start to see the blues....

Tiki says thanks for the compliments! Meow Meow Meoooooow!!!
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

WAHOO!

when you increase a dose the shed has to "catch up" and then you start seeing what the dose can do.

you're doing a great job - awesome catching all those tests today. i hope tiki got pokey treats - but hope you gave yourself one too!
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

There you are! I've been watching tikis ss toady and wanted to tell you to be on alert - that was the 4th 3rd cycle of your new dose and a flat yellow cycle.
A flat yellow cycle sometimes means the next cycle will be active. . . ;-)
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

+4 137

That's the lowest ever...so far anyway!!! He is acting kinda wierd - like a rag doll, bothered by very little, way more mellow than normal. Is he just reacting to the lower numbers or am I over reacting?
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

many of us have noticed that anytime our cats get into a range that's lower than they are used to they can get lethargic. i think of it like the days i don't get my caffeine - it might be "normal" not to have caffeine, but i am very used to it and it feels yucky and i'm dead without it.

i think when our kitties are used to the high levels of sugar and it goes away, they feel wiped out too. they do get re-used to it as the range changes, but it takes a little time.

that is a lot of action tonight, tonya. when you have a preshot of 273 and a +2 of 166 and a +4 of 137 - that's a lotta action and it points towards more. keep monitoring tonight. the preshot and the +2 should be about the same. a big drop like that tells you to keep monitoring.

you haven't done the low numbers dance yet. it's not hard, but i wonder if you would like someone to be with you. what time will your +4 be? and what time zone?
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

+5 132

He has also eaten most of his dinner through all of these lower(ing) numbers.
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

ok, that's good. so tiki may be surfing now - this might be as low as he's going tonight. i can't really tell from his ss when his nadir is, but 2 hours without much of a drop might mean that this is it. i'm not sure.

you're probably wanting to head to bed . . . what do you want to do? if you want me to check in with you again tonight, i will. just let me know. i'm on the west coast so am still up for another hour-ish. i could be up later if you want to check in a couple of hours.

what do you think?
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

I rarely go to bed before 2a-3a so I had already planned on taking another reading...I am watching week's worth (and I mean WEEKS) of DVR'd tv shows so I am ok to stay up for a while.

He's definitely acting off....not odd, but off. Right now he is staring off into space (altho most cats do that all the time) but he is really focused on eternity - LOL
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

i think you don't have to worry about that, other than it being a little quirky! eh tiki? if he were under 35 and staring off in space we'd be worried about his little brain, but this is probably because he's used to much higher numbers.

when you have a FD cat, it helps to be a night owl! i'll watch your subject line for the next test before i go to bed. he's probably ok, and all this testing is really great for filling info into his spreadsheet. but it's good to gather the data and just to be sure he's safe.
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

I am out of room on my subject line - how best do I modify it?
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

The back side of being a night owl is getting up at 8a for that morning shot just about kills me.
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

oh yeah, i hear ya. i stay up late and then shoot punkin at 7am. today i fell asleep at 4pm! it's a crazy phase of life.

you can use your backspace or delete key to clear out the old data that you don't want in your subject line. i like to leave some of the info in, but a lot of people delete all the am data when they post their pmps. whatever you want.

but i'm also just watching for you to post, so no worries! psych is on and i'm half watching it and half looking on here. :-D
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 291,+2 305,+4 281,+6 246,+8 283,+10 273, +2 1

Well thanks for hanging out with me. I wasn't sure what I was allowed to delete or modify and still be doing it correctly. I had thought about doing just a new one for the PMPS numbers but wasn't sure that was cool or not.

What do you think I should test at tomorrow - still every 2 hrs or back it off to every 3? And I should stay at 1 unit, right?
 
Re: 11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132,

It's funny, when his numbers drop I immediately think I screwed up his injection and gave him too much.
 
Re: 11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132,

you're doing great - no screw-ups!

you don't reduce the dose unless he goes below 50. until then stay with the same dose, or if he goes higher then after 6 shots on the same dose we may increase by .25. for now, he's doing great.

the ideal way that lantus works is that you gradually see the numbers lowering. often the morning preshot number is the last one to come down. the overall numbers come down and the curve flattens out. the bouncing also lessens. so you are right on track! tiki is doing fabulous.

when you see other cat's preshots at below 100, those cats are likely on their way off of insulin.
 
Re: 11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132,

What happens when they go OTJ? Do you keep testing? That is my hope - so I can sleep again! lol I'm also afraid of totally messing up his ears sticking him like a pin cushion all the time.
 
Re: 11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132,

oh - forgot your Q about tomorrow. i would test at +2 and compare it to the preshot #. post then and ask for advice.

tonight my guess would be that you could test every 2-3 hours until you see that tiki's past his nadir in the am cycle. it depends on how low you start at. you test, then make a decision on when the next test should be. if it's plenty high you can probably go 3 hours. if the +2 shows a drop, you'll need to test in an hour or two, depending on what that starting number is.

your goal is always to keep them safe - so if they go under 50 you are there to "catch" them and give them a tiny bit of high carb food gravy to pull them up.

in general I test every 3 hours until punkin's past his nadir, but punkin is not a zoomer even a tiny bit. so i basically never worry about punkin moving quickly. every cat is different and in this, a lot of decisions get made a little at the last minute.
 
Re: 11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132,

if they go off of insulin, we have people test 2x a day for 2 weeks before we officially "call" it. then they test once a week, i believe, to make sure their BG stays good. if a cat goes OTJ they are still a diabetic cat, they are simply diet-controlled. so they remain on a low-carb canned food diet.

if a cat develops an illness or infection they might need insulin until they recover. that's one reason you keep testing occasionally, but it's definitely not in the middle of the night! :lol:
 
Re: 11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132, +6 118

if you're up for it, it's good data to have, but i think he's really kinda surfing and you probably don't need to worry about his safety at this point.

i'm off to bed - have a good night! see you tomorrow!
 
Re: 11/12 TIKI PMPS 273, +2 166, +4 137, +5 132, +6 118

:-D

just paying it back - others did it for me too. laurie (& mr tinkles) who is celebrating going OTJ today - she was one of the first people to help me. it's a great site of giving/teaching people.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top