11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453, +2 321, +3 339, +4 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Hello,
Yesterday I started to give cosequin again with your advice. Two days ago Julie(&pumpkin) asked me when did I give cosequin? I am not sure of the date Julie, but there was a general rise in the numbers, I can not be sure if it was because of cosequin. Let's see what will happen.
By the way, on the bottle of cranberry powder there are the ingredient as follows;

Per 100g
Energy Value: 309 Kcal/1306kj
Protein: 1.9g
Carbohydrates: 63.9g
Fat: Traces
Cranberry powder: 50.4g
Grape extract: 23.2g
Proanthoycyanidins: 3.6g

Is carbohydrates value high? What about the grape extract, I hope it is not a problem.
I will search for it now.
kisses
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366

Hello Isil,

I can't answer any of your questions, just wanted to say I hope the cosequin helps.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366

Oh Isil -

I'm terrible at math - however I'm thinking the carbs in the cranberry powder may be too high.

Please add "carb calc question" to your condo header for today to bring attention to this. I'm sure someone around here (who is not terrible with math) can help figure it out.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366

Hi Isil,
I believe that grapes are loaded with sugar, so the grape extract looks like it isn't the best thing to give Tifil. The carbs look high, too. How much are you giving? I may have missed something, so could you tell me why you are giving this to Tifil?

I hope Tifil's numbers begin to come back down again very soon. Sending healing vines,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366

Hello everyone,
Dear Ella, I am giving cranberry powder for Uti. I am not sure but correct me if I am wrong, I understood that cosequin helps the Urinary track Inflamation, am I right? I mean the UTI with no bacteria?
I have heard that cranberry helps the Urinary Track for not building Bacteria when there is high sugar levels.
Am I right with cosequin's benefits?
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366

Hi again, Isil,
I'm sorry, but I don't know anything about Cosequin. I believe that Ann (Tess) uses it. If she doesn't see your post today, you might PM her and ask about it.
As for cranberry extract powder, I have read that cranberries are good for urinary-tract health in humans (general health, not to cure an already present condition), but I have no idea what effect cranberries would have on cats. Also, you are dealing with an "extract" here, not fresh cranberries. I would think that the extract would be made from a concentrate and therefore be very high in whatever is in it. If I were you, I would be cautious about giving this to my kitty. Dr. Elizabeth M. Hodgkins, in her book "Your Cat" (New York, 2007) writes that a meat-based wet-food diet will maintain a cat's urinary-tract health. You are already feeding a good diet. If Tifil doesn't have a urinary tract infection, I wouldn't try home remedies!

Good luck with finding out what you need to know about Cosequin. I'm sure many people here use it or have used it. Why don't you put the "?" icon on your subject line so that more eyes will be directed to your questions.

Ella
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366,+7 461

Ok,
So I will stop giving cranberry and use it for myself :)
By the way, her numbers are really high now :(
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366,+7 461

When did you last feed her? I only ask because I feed mini meals throughout the day, when I am home.

Hoping for a better PMPS. Come on Tifil, you can do it.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366,+7 461

Hi Isil,

Sorry that Tifil is so high....this looks like a bounce to me. I hope she clears the bounce soon, it can take up to 72 hours.

I have no experience with cosequin or cranberry extract, but anytime I see carbohydrates on the label, I'm thinking it can't be good for diabetics. It's probably better to skip the cranberry extract. Hopefully those with experience with cosequin will weigh in.

I haven't been around much, and I have no experience with Humulin (that's what you are using, right? Is it Humulin R?) so I can't help you with that dosing but bounces can be caused by lower numbers that a kitty is used to, or fast drops. The other night, Tifil dropped from red down to low blue in the space of a few hours....that's a HUGE drop in a short time! I wouldn't use that much Humulin at one time, that's way too much of a drop...it will produce a bounce, and it could take her too low. I know you didn't ask about it, but I saw it on the SS, and it concerns me. :shock:
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366,+7 461

Dyana said:
When did you last feed her? I only ask because I feed mini meals throughout the day, when I am home.

Hoping for a better PMPS. Come on Tifil, you can do it.

I give mini meals every three hours. I have a auto feeder. she is always hungry though, but I try not to fall in to her charming looks and meows :)
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL AMPS 340, +3 366,+7 461

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Isil,

Sorry that Tifil is so high....this looks like a bounce to me. I hope she clears the bounce soon, it can take up to 72 hours.

I have no experience with cosequin or cranberry extract, but anytime I see carbohydrates on the label, I'm thinking it can't be good for diabetics. It's probably better to skip the cranberry extract. Hopefully those with experience with cosequin will weigh in.

I haven't been around much, and I have no experience with Humulin (that's what you are using, right? Is it Humulin R?) so I can't help you with that dosing but bounces can be caused by lower numbers that a kitty is used to, or fast drops. The other night, Tifil dropped from red down to low blue in the space of a few hours....that's a HUGE drop in a short time! I wouldn't use that much Humulin at one time, that's way too much of a drop...it will produce a bounce, and it could take her too low. I know you didn't ask about it, but I saw it on the SS, and it concerns me. :shock:

Hello,
Yes it is humulin R.
I am open to any any any any suggestion :) not much experianced like you so please tell me any thing you want :)
Kisses
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485 :(

What is the R scale Sandy gave you, yesterday?
Was it 0.5 if over 400?
We will get this more under control. Please be patient. Find the scale Sandy gave you yesterday, and give what she said to give, and no more than that. Hopefully, with the reduction in R, Tifil will bounce less. We don't want her to drop a lot in a short time period as it will only set up a new bounce.
Hopefully, Sandy will be by soon.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485 :(

I sent Libby an email, I hope she will have a chance to take a look and give you her thoughts on the R. There are other people who have experience with R and may be able to help as well....I'm just not one of them.

I just saw Dyana's post....I didn't know Sandy had given you an R scale. She will be able to help you if she's around...I'll send her a PM.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485 :(

Hello,
This is the scale which Sandy gave;
Only shoot R at shot time
--PS higher than 400 - .5u
--PS 350-400 - .25u
--PS under 350 - no R

So I shot 0.5

Thank you very much everyone, for your support and for making me calm down.

By the way, +1 453
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453 :(

Hello there,

Looks like tifil is coming down. As Laurie said, this may be a bounce from last night.

Please get a +2 and +3. Please try to get a late cycle test, like a +9 or +10 as well.
I was thinking about the cranberry powder - even though there is not added sugar, I think it is naturally high in carbs.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453 :(

The +1 is good. That's 32 points in an hour. Maybe, the next hour or two she'll go down 40 points an hour. You just don't want her to go down too fast, because that is what panics the liver, and it spills more glucose when it panics.
Nice and easy, Tifil.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453 :(

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hello there,

Looks like tifil is coming down. As Laurie said, this may be a bounce from last night.

Please get a +2 and +3. Please try to get a late cycle test, like a +9 or +10 as well.
I was thinking about the cranberry powder - even though there is not added sugar, I think it is naturally high in carbs.

Hello Sandy, after 10 minutes it's +2 time, I will test and write.
About the cranberry supplement, I have heard about it alot, that it is really good when there is sugar in the urine, it prevents the growth of bacteria. If I can find a pure cranberry powder can I give it? because the pure suplements are not high in carb
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453, +2 321

I found this when I Googled 100% Pure Cranberry Powder products:

The identity of the active
ingredients of cranberry has not yet been completely
described. It appears that two components of
cranberry inhibit bacterial adhesion: fructose, a sugar
typically found in fruit, and a yet to be identified
polymeric compound. Whole cranberries also
contain proanthocyanins and anthocyanins, two
bioflavonoids known for their antioxidant activity.
Other health benefits have been ascribed to the
presence of several organic acids including hippuric,
ellagic, shikimic, quinic, malic, benzoic, and citric
acids.

That's a big 132 point drop in 1 hour, Tifil.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453, +2 321

Yes a huge drop again :(
Tomorrow will she bounce again? :(

About cranberry, do you think I should forget about it?
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453, +2 321

Yes, that is a fast fall. Please get a +3. Keep a close eye on this cycle.
Looks like even 0.5u R is too strong for tifil.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453, +2 321

I was going to say you might want to halve the dose of R, next time, and keep halving it, or less, until you see nice slow drops. Look at J.D.'s ss on 06/28. I gave 0.10 of R and it was too much. Yes, he came down to a nice range by nadir time, but it was too fast, and he just went right back up because of it the next morning.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453, +2 321

tifil&isil said:
About cranberry, do you think I should forget about it?
It was the "fructose, a sugar typically found in fruit" that makes me think you should not give it.
 
Re: 11/12 TIFIL PMPS 485, +1 453, +2 321, +3 339

+3 339
I fed her at +2


Ok I will stop giving cranberry...
 
+4 is 321 again,
I tested the glucometre on myself, everything is fine...How I wish all of these were just because a wrong working glucometre!
 
At least she stopped the nose dive. If only she'd stay in these numbers the rest of the night. I'm afraid you will be seeing a higher number at AMPS because of the nose dive. Did you have a chance to look at my (J.D.'s) ss?
 
Dyana said:
At least she stopped the nose dive. If only she'd stay in these numbers the rest of the night. I'm afraid you will be seeing a higher number at AMPS because of the nose dive. Did you have a chance to look at my (J.D.'s) ss?

Yes,
I saw that 508 :(
The R is dangerus I guess, I never looked at it that way. so do you think tomorrow İf amps is over 350, what should I shoot?
 
Yes, R can be very dangerous. That's why we advise anyone trying it, to have someone experienced to be there to guide them.
I think, if she's under 400 tomorrow morning, you might be advised to skip the R. Let's see what Sandy says. She should be back on in a little while. If you go to bed before she gets back, be sure to look for any updates from Sandy in this condo, in the morning before shooting.
 
Ok,
It's 02.37 am here now, I will go to bed but I will check my condo in the morning and I will set my alarm and check at +8 and +10.
Thank you very much for helping and for being next to me :)
Kisses from me and meowssss from Tıfıl :)
 
If the +8 is high, you probably don't have to test at +10.

You're Welcome.
Have a good night and happy dreams.
 
tifil&isil said:
so do you think tomorrow İf amps is over 350, what should I shoot?
I'm glad Tifil surfed, I hope she won't' bounce too hard.

I'm thinking for the morning, if PS is over 400 give only 0.25 R.
If under 400, no R and see where the numbers go.

I think she needs to get off the "R roller coaster" and work on finding a Lantus dose that works for her.

Have you checked for ketones?

See you tomorrow!
 
Isil,

good thing you posted the grams on the cranberry powder. i think that may be the source of your high numbers with Tifil. i'd like to see someone else's opinion, but i think you should stop it - and i see earlier in today's conversation you said you will stop giving.

however, if you stop giving the powder and all the carbs in it - i would assume your dose of insulin is going to be too high. am i right on that sandy/laurie/dyana/ella? tifil was down to just a tiny dose before the UTI and the cranberry powder. would it be better to reduce the cranberry slowly so the insulin isn't shocking?

how much carbs she's getting in the cranberry powder depends on what the quantity of cranberry you're giving her. if you're giving her 100grams, then she's getting 64 grams of carbs. what that means is that the cranberry supplement is 64% carbs. (my husband is the math guy.) we try to keep our cat food at less than 10% carbs. so this is WAY too many carbs. how much she's getting exactly is going to be dependent on how much of the cranberry powder you're giving her, but the percentage is too high.

SO, i'm thinking if you stop the cranberry additive, we also have to consider the dose would have to change.

let's get some more input on this. we don't want to make a new problem. also, let's hold off on introducing the cosequin back in. we don't want to mess with too many variables at the same time - the cranberry powder and the insulin are enough to deal with right now.
 
Isil,

If you have stopped using the cranberry powder, do not use any R, even if PS is over 400.

You will need to monitor closely, and be prepared to guide the numbers with HC food if needed.
The numbers will guide the dose.

How much of the powder where you giving Tifil?

Thank you Julies DH for doing the math on that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top