11/12 Texas Gizmo PMPS=147, +2=123, +4=99, +11=150

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
11/11

AMPS=199, +2=165. +4=98

I am going to try and hold this dose going into the work week. The lows he got (57) on 11/09 PM cycle has not repeated since. He is hitting (solid) greens about every-other cycle and I am ok with that while I am at work - so, unless he does something crazy tonight that is the plan.

Eating is good. Added the joint-purrfection back into the food yesterday PM cycle and so far so good. Giving about 4 potassa-chews/24hr period and that is also going well. Poo deposit this morning! Will be trying the Dave's food again this week. His numbers went up on it last time but I don't think that was due to the food - he was just being a cat.

Hopefully will get the emailed bw results tomorrow and I can get Marje's input once I have the SS updated.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday.
 
For anaemia, you worry about the HCT, not the RBC. Gizmo's HCT was pretty good on the last bloodwork. Is Gizmo getting B vitamins?

Both liver and heart can be rich, so should be given in moderation. Why aren't you supposed to be giving raw? Neko would kill for a piece of freeze dried chicken or especially quail hearts.

Vet was suppose to email me the lab report on Friday and did not. She verbally told me a few things and one was that the RBC was down - 5.xx (didn't catch the exact number but down more than it was in July-6.67). Potassium was at 3.1 and SDMA was in the NORMAL range! Other than that I don't have the numbers (and why I haven't asked for input yet). Creatinine and BUN still slightly elevated but not concerned about those since SDMA was normal (but didn't give me numbers).

Gizmo has never eaten raw. The only reason I don't/won't give it to him is because I don't have a good source. I do have a contact that raises quail (out in the hill country of Texas) but I would be willing to do the drive to get some. I did order the FD chicken hearts yesterday and they should be here Monday or Tuesday. I will tag you also once I get the labs and have updated the SS.

He is getting B-12 (Methylcobalamin) 1/32 teaspoon AM/PM mixed with food and I just increased the B-Complex (Jarrow) 1/64 teaspoon from AM only to AM/PM.

This is all out of my scope of knowledge so I really only know what vet (and you guys) tell me. I am going in blind - but I am really good at following directions :p
 
RBC was down - 5.xx
Good morning Lizzie,
I am no expert as you well know but since Ducia recovered nicely from her anemia I thought I'd share what I learnt, maybe it'll help.
I agree with Wendy that a thing to look at is Hematocrit, and Gizmo's is just fine 36.

However, if you look at HCT AND RBC together in Gizmo's latest BW one might suspect some blood loss.

When Ducia was anemic I started to feed her high quality Tiki Cat ~220/day,
switched to gauge 33 Delica One Touch lancets (the smallest ones) and Micro meter
and reduced the number of tests,

and - the most important - we do not go to vets... Every time they drew blood (however small amount) it is a loss and might take up to 3 month to recover... God forbid, I am not criticizing - you are fantastic cat mama!!!:bighug: I am just saying that most vets require BW for their understanding and might not keep the cat's long term best interests in mind when requiring test after test. Use it with caution, and see if minimizing blood losses +oral methyB12 (you are already giving it!)+iron and +heart or liver or lamb meals can help.

I am strongly convinced that Ducia had done well partially because I do not see vets...(I also avoid human MDs as much as possible and believe me I am stronger and healthier than most of my friends of the same age).
 
However, if you look at HCT AND RBC together in Gizmo's latest BW one might suspect some blood loss.
Thank you for your input however the latest labs are not on the SS yet because I don't have the complete report yet. The labs you are seeing are from 07/05 And he went back on 11/08 for follow up due to the low RBC on 07/05. I am hoping to get the email tomorrow. I don't know what the HCT # is for 11/08 (yet).

and reduced the number of tests,
:eek: (just joking):p :bighug: He will need BW to check the potassium level early next year since he is now getting the supplement. Hopefully that will be done in-house and require less blood drawn. I also have to be careful of heart/liver due to the high phosphorus.

Oh the dance - if it isn't one thing, it is another:confused:
 
As far as raw source goes.....as long as the protein source is under 100 mg of sodium and no sugar and no AB's added, you are good to go. I get my raw ground turkey from a butcher because a lot of the ground turkey at the grocery store has ABs and rosemary oil added. My chicken and pork is from local grocery stores and as long as they are under 100 mg sodium per 4 oz, it is good to go. Also no sugar!
 
as long as the protein source is under 100 mg of sodium and no sugar and no AB's added, you are good to go. I get my raw ground turkey from a butcher because a lot of the ground turkey at the grocery store has ABs and rosemary oil added.
How do you know if it has sodium, sugar, AB and/or RM oil added? I assume that non-ground wont have it added? We really don't have butcher shops around here.
 
How do you know if it has sodium, sugar, AB and/or RM oil added? I assume that non-ground wont have it added? We really don't have butcher shops around here.
You have to look at the packaging at the grocery store. It will have a caloric count per 4oz, a sodium, sugar , fat, etc. Keep the sodium under 100 mg. per 4 oz. NO sugar and then look at the ingredients. What does it say? It should just be the protein, maybe water, and sodium under 100 mg per 4 oz and that should be it.
 
Also, I forgot to add with the raw, freeze it first for at least 24 hours and that will kill stuff like toxoplasmosis. I bring it home and then portion in ziplock bags as to what the two cats could eat within 3 days and then when I thaw it I cut it up into portions and store.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top