11/12 Summer Amps 299, Increased lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Summers Mom

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone and Happy Sunday Funday!! Summer read 299 this morning so i decided to increase her from 1.75 to 2 units 2 x daily of lantus. She had some blue numbers yesterday more than she ever had BUT went right back up to pink numbers on the +3 after the PMPS. When would be the best time for me to actually be testing Summer other than the AMPS and PMPS?? I know i am over testing on alot of the days but have been trying to catch her nadir. Any advice and tips are always welcome!!
 
You're doing a good job testing and increasing safely. The +2 is usually a good indicator of how the cycle might go per the chart below which is found in the
The Basics New To the Group Sticky . I don't think you're over testing but every hour is not necessary unless she is in low numbers. Nadirs to move around quite a bit and that is normal.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
You're doing a good job testing and increasing safely. The +2 is usually a good indicator of how the cycle might go per the chart below which is found in the
The Basics New To the Group Sticky . I don't think you're over testing but every hour is not necessary unless she is in low numbers. Nadirs to move around quite a bit and that is normal.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3
- Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

Thank you for the encouraging words! I still have so much to learn and i am so greatful for the FDMB and for such caring and helpful people. Thanks again!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top