11/12 Nico amps- 434,+4- 334, pmps- 446:(

Tyleete

Member Since 2025
Little pain in the butt
1000017878.jpg
 
446.
I don't think it's going to matter how many patient pants I borrow. What's wrong with my little man he can't seem to get this?😞
 
Lantus is a good insulin, but it's often slow to get those higher numbers down. He'll get there.
By the way, he's adorable!!
In the meantime...
1762995187350.png
 
Let's just say that he's slow. 🤣 He hasn't reached a dose that brings him to good numbers yet. But he is getting better. If you look at the SS from afar, you'll see a lot more pinks, whereas not long ago it was almost red/black.That's progress!

What is your ability to monitor the next few days?
 
@Wendy&Neko my life is my cats.😅
I'll be here and can watch over him closely. Since this started, I've been staying in the same area for at least the first 4hrs with him. Just in case. And that is true I suppose. Is there such a thing as going too fast with him? I really don't know what's a (haha) typical for dosing? Is there a high amount in units that's bad or 'too' high?
And I so saved that image Mary! Thanks! 🤣
 
Last edited:
If you get a before bed test today, and you don't see yellows up to AMPS tomorrow morning, you can increase by 0.5 units. TR allows you to increase by 0.5 units if you aren't seeing anything under 300.

Is there a high amount in units that's bad or 'too' high?
Every cat is different, and has different reasons why they need the amount of insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the size of dose.
 
If you get a before bed test today, and you don't see yellows up to AMPS tomorrow morning, you can increase by 0.5 units. TR allows you to increase by 0.5 units if you aren't seeing anything under 300.


Every cat is different, and has different reasons why they need the amount of insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the size of dose.
Little scary, but ok. So he's to go up to 3.5 units? And then make sure to test around 3 & 6, or different? I'm about to test him in a few minutes
 
Yes, up to 3.5 units. A +2 or +3 to start is a good one. Based on whether that shows a drop from AMPS, the second test would be good. Maybe post and ask a question about time of next test if you get a big drop from AMPS.
 
If you get a before bed test today, and you don't see yellows up to AMPS tomorrow morning, you can increase by 0.5 units. TR allows you to increase by 0.5 units if you aren't seeing anything under 300.


Every cat is different, and has different reasons why they need the amount of insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the size of dose.
+4- 444 pet/335 Relion.
My poor baby. Does this mean his chances of having Acromegalic are high?:(
Someone in an earlier thread I think, said if it gets to 5u, have him tested for that and something else. And I think I read your baby had that, no? It just scares me all the more to think something on top of diabetes. And a growing tumor inside his brain.
So half a unit raised will be ok? I'm not going too fast in my impatience, am I? I just want weekdays best for my little guy.
Thanks
 
One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, not all have high doses. We recommend that when a cat gets to 6 units, that they get tested for acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). That's because at six units, most other reasons for insulin resistance don't get to that high a dose. 3.5 units is still quite a ways away from 6 units and doses up to 5 units not that uncommon. Keep plugging away, doing increases when you safely can. You WILL get there. :bighug:

I'm not going too fast in my impatience, am I?
No, this is what is allowed by TR. I too am impatient to see him get to blues and eventually greens.
 
One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, not all have high doses. We recommend that when a cat gets to 6 units, that they get tested for acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). That's because at six units, most other reasons for insulin resistance don't get to that high a dose. 3.5 units is still quite a ways away from 6 units and doses up to 5 units not that uncommon. Keep plugging away, doing increases when you safely can. You WILL get there. :bighug:


No, this is what is allowed by TR. I too am impatient to see him get to blues and eventually greens.
That's a frightening statistic. 1 in 4? Can surgery fix that? I'm try not to think on it, but once said, kind of hard to forget it. Here's to hoping my little guy only has 3 things (diabetes, asthma, & damaged immune system from his early months) wrong with him and not more.
Thanks! I couldn't do this without you. I can't express how grateful I am, but I hope you know.
 
There are several possible ways to treat acromegaly. Surgery is one such option, but I think there are only 2 (?) places in the US that do it. Neko had stereotactic radiation therapy. Fortunately there is now a medical option many people chose because it is cheaper and you don't have to travel, like you do for the other options.

FWIW, that sweet picture of Nico above doesn't scream acro to me.
 
Back
Top