Every cat is different, and has different reasons why they need the amount of insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the size of dose.Is there a high amount in units that's bad or 'too' high?
Little scary, but ok. So he's to go up to 3.5 units? And then make sure to test around 3 & 6, or different? I'm about to test him in a few minutesIf you get a before bed test today, and you don't see yellows up to AMPS tomorrow morning, you can increase by 0.5 units. TR allows you to increase by 0.5 units if you aren't seeing anything under 300.
Every cat is different, and has different reasons why they need the amount of insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the size of dose.
+4- 444 pet/335 Relion.If you get a before bed test today, and you don't see yellows up to AMPS tomorrow morning, you can increase by 0.5 units. TR allows you to increase by 0.5 units if you aren't seeing anything under 300.
Every cat is different, and has different reasons why they need the amount of insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the size of dose.

No, this is what is allowed by TR. I too am impatient to see him get to blues and eventually greens.I'm not going too fast in my impatience, am I?
That's a frightening statistic. 1 in 4? Can surgery fix that? I'm try not to think on it, but once said, kind of hard to forget it. Here's to hoping my little guy only has 3 things (diabetes, asthma, & damaged immune system from his early months) wrong with him and not more.One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, not all have high doses. We recommend that when a cat gets to 6 units, that they get tested for acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). That's because at six units, most other reasons for insulin resistance don't get to that high a dose. 3.5 units is still quite a ways away from 6 units and doses up to 5 units not that uncommon. Keep plugging away, doing increases when you safely can. You WILL get there.
No, this is what is allowed by TR. I too am impatient to see him get to blues and eventually greens.