11/12 - Leo - what to do if he doesn't eat

Susan Shropshire

Member Since 2021
Leo vomited a few minutes ago and now won't look at food. I have given him 1/4 of a cerenia but it's getting close to his dosing time. Should I wait and see if he will eat in an hour or so? What if he won't eat, how should I cut his dose?
 
Hi - we ask that you only do one thread per day so things don't overlap or get confusing. You can just add a new post and edit your title for any new info or questions.

Is this a one time thing or has he been overall inappetent for a bit? I see pancreatitis from July. His numbers are high enough that I would shoot full dose if he were my cat and I was around to keep an eye on him. That said, if you're concerned you could shoot a reduced dose - BUT that would restart your cycle count.
 
Hi - we ask that you only do one thread per day so things don't overlap or get confusing. You can just add a new post and edit your title for any new info or questions.

Is this a one time thing or has he been overall inappetent for a bit? I see pancreatitis from July. His numbers are high enough that I would shoot full dose if he were my cat and I was around to keep an eye on him. That said, if you're concerned you could shoot a reduced dose - BUT that would restart your cycle count.
He just vomited today. I think it’s due to the introduction of a new food. I gave him a little rabbit and when I gave it awhile back I noticed a little upset but didn’t connect the two but now I think it’s something he is sensitive to.
 
His PMPS was 398 so I went ahead with normal dose. He still doesn’t want to eat. I will call the vet in the morning if he still isn’t feeling well.
 
Hi Susan I hope Leo hate for you and that he feels better, if you call the vet please let us know what he says, Leo's such a handsome boy :bighug::cat:
Thank you! He seems more himself this morning. He ate at 5:30 and drank water. This morning is almost playing with the kitten again.
I am thinking it was a little bit of food upset. I didn’t connect it until last night, but we gave him rabbit one time and after eating it a day or so he threw up. I have given him rabbit mixed in over the last day or so, and now I wonder if it’s not a sensitivity to rabbit. That wasn’t on his sensitivity test since it’s not a common food.
I did talk with the vet this morning and we’re going to do Cerenia for a couple of days.
He also ate normal this morning before his pre-shot and his numbers were good. He was at 247 which is good for him. His blood sugar actually went up or basically stayed the same during the night Instead of down. I am assuming the stress of feeling sick.
 
Just to give an update. He is still not feeling 100% but not as bad as last night. I did test his ketones and that isn't an issue. He has eaten some but his glucose levels are some of the lowest we have seen so I guess that is good. Other than the 94 we got once, 140 today is the lowest. Hopefully the cerenia will help him feel better. The vet said to give it a minimum of 5 days and I have enough for 8 days. They had told me before that cerenia not only helps with nausea but also has an anti-inflammatory property as well as helping some with pain. If it is pancreatitis this was how we treated it last time other than he did get fluids in the vet for a couple of days. He was worse off that time so I am hoping whatever it is, this helps.
 
Back
Top