Lisa & Leo
Member Since 2012
Yesterday's NDW Condo
Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 480
+2 476
+5.25 504
+11 435
PMPS 449
+2 402
+6 335
+10 279
AMPS 212
Good Morning LL!
Looks like Leo is working his way down from New Dose Wonkiland. I wonder what the day holds - I have errands to run. Hmmm.
A pure black cat bearing MORE than a striking resemblance to his Little Fartness has been making appearances for the last couple weeks. Leo just does that low roar howl - so funny! The cat looks like Leo, same face and ears, some body type, and similar movements. We're pretty sure they are brothers. The black cat will come all the way to the back steps and stand there, moving slowly, warily, while Leo makes that warning sound. DH is making noises about putting food out in the house again, but I'm against it. I don't want another cat becoming reliant on us if we can't bring it in. And if genetics plays any role in diabetes, I can't do another cat like I am Leo. Breaks my heart.
---
From my condo last night after I went to sleep -
HI Ella - thanks for reposting the links on measuring with calipers. I am measuring like Marje does in her pictures. I use Terumo's with 1 unit markings. My numbers agree with Marje's numbers in the second post ... she checked a box of Terumos and got 1.52mm = 1u. I only played with 2 syringes and got 1.50mm - 1u. I also measured from 1 unit to 10 units and found it consistent too (e.g., 2 units was 3.0mm). I will play more but it's nice to see a confirmation from her very thorough work. I am using the same calipers. You're skinny 1.75u of 2.44 makes sense too ... with my translation, 1.75 is 2.63 and you're shooting a bit less than that. Thanks for posting your numbers - it makes me feel more confident that I'm on the right track. I'm still looking at the lines just to see how far off a particular syringe is, and then eyeball to make sure I'm not doing something really stupid with the dose (like off by half a unit or something in a zoned state). But for measuring, I am not using them anymore (as of yesterday!)
Sienne - I will. I didn't realize how long we went on that dose. With the new travel, the new baby, the hurricane, etc., he was just all over the place. I think you are telling me I should have raised his dose before now, right?
HI Karen - yup - give Leo hell! :lol: I had a great afternoon - watching movies and reading OUTSIDE!!! Good luck on the new vet - bad breath - whew.
HI Michelle - Leo's coming down a bit (I'm writing this at +10 so today should be better). We had nearly 70 yesterday afternoon too!!!
HI Melanie - it looks like today will be better. I don't have great history on raising his dose after a long period on a lower dose, so this is not a surprise from what I read. He better take warning! :lol:
Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 480
+2 476
+5.25 504
+11 435
PMPS 449
+2 402
+6 335
+10 279
AMPS 212
Good Morning LL!
Looks like Leo is working his way down from New Dose Wonkiland. I wonder what the day holds - I have errands to run. Hmmm.
A pure black cat bearing MORE than a striking resemblance to his Little Fartness has been making appearances for the last couple weeks. Leo just does that low roar howl - so funny! The cat looks like Leo, same face and ears, some body type, and similar movements. We're pretty sure they are brothers. The black cat will come all the way to the back steps and stand there, moving slowly, warily, while Leo makes that warning sound. DH is making noises about putting food out in the house again, but I'm against it. I don't want another cat becoming reliant on us if we can't bring it in. And if genetics plays any role in diabetes, I can't do another cat like I am Leo. Breaks my heart.
---
From my condo last night after I went to sleep -
HI Ella - thanks for reposting the links on measuring with calipers. I am measuring like Marje does in her pictures. I use Terumo's with 1 unit markings. My numbers agree with Marje's numbers in the second post ... she checked a box of Terumos and got 1.52mm = 1u. I only played with 2 syringes and got 1.50mm - 1u. I also measured from 1 unit to 10 units and found it consistent too (e.g., 2 units was 3.0mm). I will play more but it's nice to see a confirmation from her very thorough work. I am using the same calipers. You're skinny 1.75u of 2.44 makes sense too ... with my translation, 1.75 is 2.63 and you're shooting a bit less than that. Thanks for posting your numbers - it makes me feel more confident that I'm on the right track. I'm still looking at the lines just to see how far off a particular syringe is, and then eyeball to make sure I'm not doing something really stupid with the dose (like off by half a unit or something in a zoned state). But for measuring, I am not using them anymore (as of yesterday!)
Sienne - I will. I didn't realize how long we went on that dose. With the new travel, the new baby, the hurricane, etc., he was just all over the place. I think you are telling me I should have raised his dose before now, right?
HI Karen - yup - give Leo hell! :lol: I had a great afternoon - watching movies and reading OUTSIDE!!! Good luck on the new vet - bad breath - whew.
HI Michelle - Leo's coming down a bit (I'm writing this at +10 so today should be better). We had nearly 70 yesterday afternoon too!!!
HI Melanie - it looks like today will be better. I don't have great history on raising his dose after a long period on a lower dose, so this is not a surprise from what I read. He better take warning! :lol: