11/12 Josie AMPS 331 +4.5 270 +8 286 PMPS 268

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/12 Josie AMPS 331 +4.5 270

Angela:

I'm glad you are getting some spot checks in during the day and night.

IMHO, I'd increase her dose at least .25u; normally I would suggest .5u for where she is but you would definitely have to monitor her in order to increase by that much. It might be a good idea to also get other opinions so you might want to add "dose ??" in your subject line.
 
Re: 11/12 Josie AMPS 331 +4.5 270 dose?

Hi Angela,

I have not been on the board much lately, so I'm not up to speed with Josie. I notice that you are following the "Start low, go slow" protocol, and the protocol most of us use here is in the TR stickie above. I'm not saying that you should only follow that protocol, but it's the one I am familiar with. I do not feel comfortable making suggestions based on a different protocol.

I would not go up by more than 0.25u, and I would not hold the doses as long as you have been. Smaller, more frequent increases are a safer way to work your way up so you don't miss the right dose. The TR protocol suggests a 0.25u increase for nadirs between 200 and 300.

Increasing the dose:

•Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 11/12 Josie AMPS 331 +4.5 270 +8 286 dose?

I dont do TR because it requires frequent testing which I am not able to do. I am her only caregiver and I cant be home all day and awake all night to get readings.
 
Re: 11/12 Josie AMPS 331 +4.5 270 +8 286 dose?

I know a lot of us test a lot, but you can follow the TR protocol if you can get at least 4 tests a day....AMPS and PMPS, then one mid cycle test in each cycle. Some people only can get a mid cycle during one cycle per day....they get more tests on days off. You don't need to test a lot every day. A lot of the additional testing is when their kitty is low. (Don't go by our SS, I'm a testaholic!)

It's fine if you don't want to try for tight regulation...some people can't do it, and there's nothing wrong with that! :smile:

I would increase by 0.25u to 2.75u.
 
Re: 11/12 Josie AMPS 331 +4.5 270 +8 286 dose?

Ok, I will do 2.75 or as close to it as I can, but even the .5 lines are very hard for me to dose, so it wont be accurate.
 
Re: 11/12 Josie AMPS 331 +4.5 270 +8 286 dose?

Good luck with the dosecrease. Do you have a lighted magnifying glass?? They really, really help.
 
i dont have any kind of magnifying glass. I just try to get the dose between the lines, higher than what it has been. it may not be exactly 2.75 but it is higher than before and i will just try to keep it the same each time til next dose change.
which i am sure will be soon since she doesnt seem to want to regulate!
 
Glad you increased - and only by 0.25u. It was time.

Don't get too hung up on if it is really exactly 2.75u - as long as you can duplicate it for consistency -
 
Yes, consistency is the most important thing, not necessarily exactly 2.75u. I used reading glasses AND a lighted magnifier to measure doses....it is hard without magnification! Good luck with the increase. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top