11/12 Herman amps 99 +4 49* +5.5 94 +7 76 pmps 97 +3 88

What a change in Herman's numbers.

In case you missed it, with TR, if a cat is in normal numbers for a week, you can reduce the dose. You're still getting a few higher numbers, especially at pre-shot so you'd want to continue doing what you're doing but I wanted to post a reminder given how pretty Herman's SS looks.

Thank you! I appreciate you looking in! Herman has thrown a little curveball at me - would love your input as you just looked at our ss.

2 days in a row around+4-6 in the am cycle Herman has tested low (49 today, 50 yesterday) both instances he was quite aggressive (which he does tend to do in low numbers or rapidly dropping numbers) so I could not retest…zero chance. Today I just fed him lots of 18% ( a few times ) and left him alone as he was quite distressed. He’s napping now and chill as can be and is up to 94 (1.5ish hours later)….now, because I couldn’t retest either of these lows I don’t know how to treat them. The tests were clean (ie good drop of blood - I wrote on yesterdays post the saga of “not enough blood” and how I just throw those strips out as they always test too low) and it seems suspect to me that they happened around the same time and both times he showed aggression. I’m inclined to think the tests were in fact correct.

Should I try 0.1 units? Or persevere with 0.25 and wait for a double confirmed “under 50” before reducing….(which seems scary to me because he is feral when he is like that). Or at this point do we want to reduce after a week of greens vs “too low” a number? Herman was a prolific bouncer and I still do believe he bounces (December 4th he went showed the most aggression I’ve ever seen so could not test at all, just gave him the highest carb I could for a couple hours I suspect he might have been low then, too). I do think Herman will be blue by end of day today in a bounce, maybe I could try a reduction in the morning? I so wish I could have confirmed those lows but I’m now worried for his safety..and my sanity!
 
It looks like Herman is within a year since diagnosis. That means he's a "new" diabetic. As such, with TR, if the numbers drop below 50, you reduce the dose. I would go to 0.1u.

I didn't mean to confuse you. The same rules apply with TR and when to reduce. However, it often happens that once a cat is spending as much time in green numbers as Herman, they have a flat curve and they can go for long periods without dropping below 50 (or below 40 if they are a long term diabetic). The week in normal numbers (50 -120 on a human meter) is the option that TR affords.
 
It looks like Herman is within a year since diagnosis. That means he's a "new" diabetic. As such, with TR, if the numbers drop below 50, you reduce the dose. I would go to 0.1u.

I didn't mean to confuse you. The same rules apply with TR and when to reduce. However, it often happens that once a cat is spending as much time in green numbers as Herman, they have a flat curve and they can go for long periods without dropping below 50 (or below 40 if they are a long term diabetic). The week in normal numbers (50 -120 on a human meter) is the option that TR affords.
Sounds good, all makes sense! Thanks. We will try 0.1 units. Fingers crossed. Go herm!
 
Back
Top