11/12 Frank PMPS 379/+2 439 +2.5 397 Vomited Dinner

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/12 Frank AMPS 357/+2 437

Be safe while your bean is away, ok Frank? Glad the blackies are starting to go away. Baby steps to the lagoon :thumbup
 
Re: 11/12 Frank AMPS 357/+2 437

Hi guys .. I don't think I've been to Franks condo before so welcome from us! It's hard leaving our babies but hopefully frank comes down, even just a little, and surfs safely for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/12 Frank PMPS 379/+2 439

Yeah, I hated leaving him today, but he made it through okay. I'll be here all day tomorrow.
 
We haven't had issues with vomit until the past few days. Every time he vomits, it is more, and just now it looked like everything he had for dinner. The only thing that has changed this whole time is the insulin. Perhaps he isn't tolerating it well? Or maybe we are still in the honeymoon period where he is getting used to it?
 
How fast is Frank eating? If he's eating fast, it's quite possible that this is a "scarf and barf." You might want to think about dividing up his AM and PM meals into a smaller amount and feed more often (e.g., take the AM portion and divide it into 4 parts and feed him at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3).

Are you feeding Frank any new flavors? Many cats are allergic to beef and fish. These flavors might cause Frank to vomit.

You might want to mention this to your vet. Pepsid (1/4 of a 10mg tablet of Pepsid AC) 30 min. before a meal may help.
 
Yeah, he barrels right through it. He has done that since we started caring for him, though. Maybe now that he is starting to have lower sugar levels, he is less tolerant to it. I'm going to try splitting his meals and call the vet in the morning. Usually when the vomit like he did tonight, we are told to hold food until the morning to give their bellies a rest. He had his shot/ate, then threw up 2.5 hours later. With insulin in his stomach, bordering +4, should we try to feed him?
 
i think at this point in the cycle, if he threw up most of what he ate earlier, i'd want him to eat. but not eat and vomit.

so i'd put out a tablespoon of food and wait 1/2 hr before giving him more. then repeat.

when cats have had anesthesia they can get sick from it afterwards. so we often recommend very small portions with a half hour in between to make sure they don't have too much volume in their stomachs at one time. see if that helps. if he's still vomiting tomorrow, i think a vet call or visit would be smart just in case he needs more help.
 
Okay. We gave him his first tablespoon. He ate it readily so at least he still has an appetite.

Thank you so much, again, for the support and information.
 
absolutely - you're welcome. where else can you learn this!?!

btw, i almost forgot to mention baby food. baby food is very bland and some cats really like it. it also can be easy on the tummy. if you want to try it, make sure you check ingredients and get only meat and meat broth. no onions, no thickeners. also try it in small amounts.

if he holds down the cat food, you might be ok just with that. don't forget to add a little water to it.
 
Marie

A few of us were studying Franks SS and we agree you should increase his dose by 0.25u.

The modified TR protocol states:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

I added the bold. You've switched him to canned food and we're still seeing some really high, flat curves. Ideally, you would raise tomorrow morning. Is that possible? What do you think?
 
Oops, cross post.

No ketone testing today. I've been gone all day and have not caught him in the box yet.

If I am going to change the dose, tomorrow would be best since I'll be home to watch/test all day.

On my spreadsheet, the gray areas are the hours I am at school. I won't be able to test/watch those days. I have someone to look in on him, though, who can call me if he gets flaky.
 
we'd just like to see him get out of those high numbers. get a ketone test when you can and keep up with the water and food.

we're cheering Frank on! can't wait to see what a little more insulin will do for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top