11/12 Coco AMPS 354 PMPS 397

So I have some news in case anyone is reading (it's a lot).

I talked with an vet endocrinologist, and honestly, I’m not sure how to feel. It was a video consultation that lasted nearly two and a half hours; she had already reviewed all the test results and Coco’s clinical case in general from all these past months, and she also went over Coco’s blood glucose logs. I mostly talked to her because I wanted to have like a confirmed vet or document with the correct guidelines so my dad would see that I'm not poking Coco just because (he said I was poking him too much. Too much = twice a day) and that he needs it.

There are some things she said that I didn’t like.
1. They adjust the dosage in 1-unit increments; they don’t use 0.25 or 0.5-unit increments, which I don’t think is ideal.
2. I mentioned the "bounce" I’d read about here; she said it’s called the "Somogyi effect"—or something like that—and that it only applies if the cat experiences hypoglycemia, so... in here it says the Somogyi effect is fake.
3. She said I should test AMPS and inject at a specific time, but wait an hour (or an hour and a half) before feeding Coco—which is when Lantus starts to take effect according to her—otherwise, his blood sugar would spike during that initial period. To be honest, I’m not going to follow this advice; it feels dangerous to me, in case Coco vomits later or decides not to eat. I’ll stick to checking his glucose then feeding him before administering the insulin.
4. She suggested keeping the dose the same for 3 days and then performing a glucose curve to evaluate and upping the dose in 1u. I’ve seen this approach in the TR protocol used here, but I’m not sure—doesn’t it take about 5–7 days for the Lantus depot to fully build up and start working? Especially if the cat is coming off a "bounce," right?

Things that I did like were about some meds and how she explained that those vets who gave him prednisolane knowing he was diabetic were in the wrong, that she didn't believe Coco was a "renal" patient like the new vet suggested (that's why he suggested to try the SDMA again), that we would need to test minimum 4 times a day, she also explained how she would like us to repeat the hemogram as soon as possible because Coco did seemed with a light anemia which the new vet never told us about. She told us to change his food from urinary back to diabetic one (like purina pro plan dm both wet food and dry food) and to manage his environment to avoid stress and manage the hydratation to avoid obstructions again + supplements for urinary issues, not sure about that but I'll see; and to repeat certain tests again. We just need some money 😵‍💫

So I guess I will start her new rules, she said to give him 3u every 12 hours starting tomorrow.
This is the guidelines that she sent:
  • Between 170-300 mg/dl Pre-insulin and 70-150 mg/dl 4 hours post-insulin: repeat the same dose applied (it is the correct one)
  • Greater than 300 mg/dl Pre-insulin and >150 mg/dl 4 hours post-insulin: INCREASE 1 TOTAL UNIT
  • Greater than 300 mg/dl Pre-insulin and <80 mg/dl 4 hours post-insulin: DECREASE 1 TOTAL UNIT
  • Between 130 and 170 mg/dl Pre-insulin: DECREASE 1 TOTAL UNIT and check blood glucose at 2 and 4 hrs.
  • Between 70-130 mg/dl Pre-insulin: DECREASE 2 TOTAL UNITS and check blood glucose at 2 and 4 hrs.
  • *Less than 70 mg/dl Pre-insulin: DO NOT APPLY. Feed and monitor blood glucose throughout the day.

We did talked about a lot but this is like a small summary.
 
Last edited:
And now Coco had diarrhea, I'm really worried. Is there a way I can see if he has like symptomps of ketones if I don't have a way of testing?

I sent a text to his vet but he will answer in the morning only. Coco does seems to be acting normal, he did drank water and peed normally. But I'm still worried.
 
Back
Top