11/12 Clare AMPS 317; PMPS 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good evening, Lantus Land neighbors!

We're sending out lots of healing wishes and hugs to the kitties and beans who need them this evening.

Clare's Vacation Condo

Today's News:

AMPS 317
+2 401

PMPS 279
+2 327
+3.5 403

We're home from being away five days, and Clare's numbers are returning to their former higher range. Until the insulin builds up again we expect that will continue -- hopefully not too long.

I think that the way we've been testing may contribute to her stress, so we're trying a new technique (well-lit countertop instead of couch) and will try to test her a bit less.
We're also starting to feed her LC at PS and +2, then free-feeding her after that, in order to keep her from diving too much right at the beginning. Maybe we won't have to add the MC if we do it this way.

Clare's looking good, although I noticed that she had a little bit of dandruff starting when we got home. So I think she may have gotten somewhat dehydrated while we were gone. We're adding some more water to her food.

Have a good evening, everyone!

Georgette and Clare
 
HI Georgette! I've been looking for a condo from you guys today and not seen one, so i'm going to bump up yesterday's thread.

When I look at Clare's ss following the 0.25u dose and the 49 on 11/11, I think the high numbers following are from two causes. One is the skipped shot on that night, combined with a bounce from hitting the 49. Personally, I'm not looking at that and thinking she needed more insulin. the 0.25u got her into the 40's. If she were mine, I'd have held the 0.25u and waited for her to have 6 consecutive cycles at that dose after the skipped shot 11/11 pm before deciding she needed an increase.

Just wanted to pass that on to you.
 
Hi Julie,

Thanks so much for the dosing advice. My thinking on raising her dose upon homecoming was that if her numbers went up again and she was eating well, she'd be back to her earlier pattern that didn't produce any regular lower numbers at a dose of 0.25. It's why I was so confused that she hit those consistent lows while we were gone - she'd never done that before at that dose. If she went low, she'd normally bounce for a few cycles. The comments others made led me to think that it was probably a change in her eating that made her go so low so often, without bouncing in her usual way.

I'm concerned now that I may be giving her too much insulin. Should I go back to the 0.25 dose now? I will do as you suggest.

You'd think I would understand her patterns by now; but what happened while we were gone -- going so low over a few days on 0.25 when we were getting fewer and fewer greens and lots of bounces with a 0.5 dose before we left -- has me confused. I wish I understood better how lantus works, at least for Clare. :oops:

Thanks,

Georgette
 
if she were mine, i'd probably go back to 0.25u and wait as I described above.

Her good numbers on the 0.25u might have been from eating less while you were gone - that's very possible. but i'd have given her a chance to see if she'd continue with them after you were home, and after the bounce from the 49 had cleared and the depot had rebuilt from the skipped shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top