11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307, PMPS 242 PICS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Last Condo (from way too long ago!!)

I keep telling myself I'm going to get back to normal and post a condo for Champ every day....then life gets in the way, or I'm just not in the mood, or blah blah blah...

But we're here now!!! :-D

Champ has been doing great physically. He's on the pain-in-the-rear rollercoaster of good cycle, bounce cycle, good cycle, bounce cycle. After talking it over with Marje, I'm going to hold him at this dose of 2u and, hopefully, let his liver get with the program and his cycles stabilize.

I spent a looong time last night making a month's worth of homemade cat food (10 pounds of meat!!). Champ just loves this food so much!!! He never left my side, gouging my leg if I didn't give him some chicken liver or chicken every once in a while. He's been doing so well on it, too. I feed him a completely raw diet...no partially cooking the meat. He's eating a bit more on some days, but has lost a bit of weight so it hasn't concerned me. He actually has changed his own eating pattern. I used to do the PS, +1, +2, and +3. Now, as soon as he eats his 1 oz at PS, he just cries and cries for more food. I've started feeding him 1 oz at PS, another 1 oz about 15 minutes later, and 0.5 oz (which is only a spoonful) at about +2 or +3. He then sleeps most of the day. If he wakes up and asks for food before +5, he gets another 0.5 oz. Otherwise, he has to wait until PS again. There are days where he doesn't sleep as much and asks for food more often and I'll give him a spoonful periodically. Another thing I've noticed since he's starting eating homemade is his energy and strength. He's not taking any B12 or Dasuquin anymore, hasn't since starting the homemade diet, and he's been running around the room and jumping on furniture, just being much more mobile than he has in a long while. It may be a coincidence that he's starting to act better since the new diet, but I doubt it!!!

I'm attaching two pictures of Champ. In the first one, he is so laid out and takes up his entire bed (which is a dog bed, btw). In the second one, he's curled up and looks like a much smaller kitty. He looks like the amazing shrinking cat!! Notice his bad a$$ bed fabric!!
 

Attachments

  • 1110011049.jpg
    1110011049.jpg
    421.4 KB · Views: 560
  • downsized_1112011039.jpg
    downsized_1112011039.jpg
    232.8 KB · Views: 561
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

Oh so cute the pics! I love the big kitty one with his one leg up. I love the 2nd one, too. That's amazing the change since feeding the raw. You are such a good Bean. I am so impressed with making the raw fuds.
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

I just love that belly fur :-D
J.D. only fits into dog beds. I go shopping for cat furniture, and I'm like, there's no way my cat will fit on that..
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

Champ is a handsome big boy! With results like that it's totally worth the time to make the food! I've made a couple of batches, but don't have the nerve to go completely raw. We have been partially cooking. Even still I feel like I'm on perpetual "raw chicken" alert :?
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

Hi patty! So nice to have a champ condo - I am glad that he is doing so well. The pics are great - the new diet obviously suits him very well. Kudos to you for going down that road. I think it is great.
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

Where did he hide his belly for the 2nd picture? :lol: He has the same 'athletic physique' Gus' civvie buddy Jake. BIGGGG kitty :shock:
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Champ... we LOVE how you look!!!!

Binks was a hefty boy back when...he was 18 lbs...
and now is a svelte 10 pounder...

but the heft and the loss were ALL due to the FD and not anything we did right :oops:
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

Good to see you back, I hope all the computer problems are over. I'm so happy that Champ is liking the raw diet. I've got to get started w/ Tess again now that I've got all the ingredients. Isn't it amazing how they can suck it all in to look half the size. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

It's great to see a Champ condo - we've certainly missed you guys around here! LOVE the pics...I sooo want to get Champs belly!
 
Re: 11/12 Champ AMPS 179, +3 307 PICS

heehee i try to suck it all in too! feeling for ya champ, well, not really so much because you got the mama bean making the really GUD FUDS for you!

that's awesome patty - and my fav is definitely the first one. his belly fur . . . well who could possibly resist that belly. felix (ga) was such a moose and his belly looked like that. he's a keeper - and yay on feeling better.

good to see you! we miss you when you're not here.
 
Good evening, guys... Love the pics!!! I always find it so heartwarming when Willie really digs into a bowl of homemade food, and when he seems to feel so much better for it!! I feed raw as well, though if I'm using liver in the recipe, I do sautee it lightly in butter or olive oil and cook it all the way through. Dr. Lisa strongly suggested it... even with organic liver, the organ's purpose is to clear toxins from the body, so whatever toxins are in the liver at the time of the steer/chicken/etc. death may still be there, and cooking significantly reduces the risk of any possible illness. I whiz it in the food processor or mini chopper, let it cool to room temp, then mix it in with the raw meat.

Hope you're having a great weekend!
 
I seriously never thought of that, Christie!!! I'll cook the liver from now on. How did I miss that when I was reading Dr. Lisa's page?!!! Crapola!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top