11/12/2010 Spitzer AMPS=331, +10 =352 PMPS=384

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

AMPS=341 (? I forgot the value between taking it and getting to work! Might've been 311!)

It did come down from yesteday using the lower dose of Lantus last night; IF it is reactive hyperglycemia, this makes sense.

He was window sitting this morning, watching birds. As always, in good spirits and behavior.
 
Last edited:
AMPS=331,
+10 =352
PMPS=384
Gave 1 unit again
If next AMPS is in the 400s I'll drop back down again.
 
Last edited:
i'm not sure how to say this without it coming out wrong. please don't take offense. have you thought at all about switching to pzi or prozinc? i think your thought processes regarding insulin would be a match made in heaven with pzi or prozinc.
 

if is the key word, but how can you know without more spotchecks?
especially in the nite time cycle.

do you work in the evenings? do you go to bed really early?
Please let us know what's up, so we don't keep asking for evening checks.
What about weekend and days offs? Any chance for mid cycle numbers?

Those missing numbers will tell you a lot about what Spitzer needs.
 
Jill & Alex said:
i'm not sure how to say this without it coming out wrong. please don't take offense. have you thought at all about switching to pzi or prozinc? i think your thought processes regarding insulin would be a match made in heaven with pzi or prozinc.

Yes.

But trying to make the Lantus work for now.
 
If I understand Jill's suggestion, the way you're working with Lantus won't yield the results you want. Lantus dosing isn't based on pre-shot BG values. Rather, it's based on nadir. Since doses work in a cumulative fashion, changing doses quickly does not produce a flat curve and instead, causes inconsistency in BG levels. The way you're collecting data, you don't have sufficient checks during the AM cycle and you aren't getting the data during the PM cycle. If your schedule won't permit collecting the data you need to have Lantus work effectively, switching to a different type of insulin that relies on pre-shot numbers for dosing and doesn't rely on mid-cycle numbers may better suit your needs. By all means, you can continue to try to work with Lantus but you need to factor in the way this particular type of insulin works along with your lifestyle needs.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
If I understand Jill's suggestion, the way you're working with Lantus won't yield the results you want. Lantus dosing isn't based on pre-shot BG values. Rather, it's based on nadir. Since doses work in a cumulative fashion, changing doses quickly does not produce a flat curve and instead, causes inconsistency in BG levels. The way you're collecting data, you don't have sufficient checks during the AM cycle and you aren't getting the data during the PM cycle. If your schedule won't permit collecting the data you need to have Lantus work effectively, switching to a different type of insulin that relies on pre-shot numbers for dosing and doesn't rely on mid-cycle numbers may better suit your needs. By all means, you can continue to try to work with Lantus but you need to factor in the way this particular type of insulin works along with your lifestyle needs.
thank you, laurie. that's exactly where i was going with the suggestion to switch to pzi or prozinc.
i hate to see you struggling so when another insulin may fit your needs and help spitzer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top