11/11 Tidus AMPS 279 +5/275 PMPS 287 +6/275

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279

Hi Jenn,

This is from the TIlly page:

However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

I underlined the part that I think applies to Tidus. Unless others feel .5u would be prudent. I think the jury is still out as far as whether the nadir is above or below 300 after 3 cycles.

How's the 5 P's?

Carl
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279

miso00 said:
yesterdays condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=82913

In LL I was increasing Tidus .25u every 6 cycles. Is it the same protocol here?

You have switched to a very similar insulin, but it seems that you have been told to start over at 1u dose. There is no reason for you to go slowly up to the proper dose for Tidus.

The protocol is to up .25u every 6cycles if you have nadirs that are between 200 and 300.

The same general rules/guidelines can be used for Lantus and Levemir:

"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.


Because you don't want to prolong the possibility of damages to kidneys, and you already know that a dose of close to 7u made no dent in Tidus' numbers, you could very easily go with every 2 days / every 4 shots at a dose. To take 12 days to increase from 1u to 2u, going by .25u increases would be harsh to the animal. To take another 60 days to reach the 7u dose again is just wrong.

Renal threshold is somewhere around 200-220, and you want to keep the cat's numbers under those numbers.

For a cat just starting on insulin, it's a very good idea to go as slow as above, but when a cat has already gone through the slow climb, switching to a very similar insulin does not require any sort of start over in the dosing. The majority of cats who switch insulin switch at about 70-75% but only for safety; the odd person switches at 50% but nobody should be advised to start over.

I was advised/pushed by many on the board to start over with my Oliver and I did, watching him suffer terribly. He was at 4u and I went down to a 1u dose. It was horrible to watch him get worse, so I would never advise another, especially one who has an insulin resistance issue, to start over.

A dose of 4u or 5u would have been fine for a switching dose, and I hope that you will consider fast track in the dosing so that you can lessen the suffering on the cat....

Watch close for ketones every day and be sure that Tidus eats well because 2 of the ingredients for DKA are not enough food, and not enough insulin.
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279

This is his second full day on LEV but the first shot was at 4.5u. followed by 3 shots at 1u. Should I increase to 1.25 tonight or wait until tomorrow morning?

Carl-His 5 P's are the same. He pees' and poops good amounts of both daily (less from when he first got here but still 3 times more than my other cats) His appetite is very good. He doesn't play much except for with a cat nip toy that he "talks" to and does little cleaning up after himself-there have been times after eating that food is all over his face!

The only thing I noticed is when he purr's he's starting to sound congested. Mikey has a similar sound and he has bronchitis. He did attempt to cough up a hairball (?) this morning. His coughing is a pretty horrific sound. My others are more like a gagging wheeze, Tidus sounds more like a hacking sound.
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279

Just my opinion, but I'd increase tonight. I think that what Marje said yesterday or the day before about Tidus' prior high doses is important. If the depot from those doses has been having an effect on his numbers (keeping them down some), that's going to eventually stop happening. I have no idea how much time that takes, but I think she's right in that his numbers will climb at that point if those shots are still having any effect. Raising the dose now instead of tomorrow might help counteract that?

Carl
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279 +5/275

I would take him up to 1.5U tonight. I agree with Laura's reasoning here (from yesterday's thread). I would plan on upping him .5U every 4th cycle for the time being.

You are around to test his BGs, blood ketones, and urine ketones frequently. That is good.

Go Tidus!! Breathe Jenn!!
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279 +5/275

Hi Jenn,

I agree with Carl about raising the dose tonight to (edited, was originally 1.25u, but revised to 1.5u - that's what I wanted to say in the first place!). He's had 3 cycles at 1u with no movement so it's highly unlikely he's going to drop low on you (a glass half empty/glass half full situation).

Does Tidus have any nasal or eye discharge to go with his hacking cough?
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279 +5/275

Increasing to 1.5 for PM shot.

No nasal discharge or any other symptoms. Just the wretching cough. It just sounds like it hurts. I'm pretty sure it's a hairball issue just makes me wonder if something is irritated his throat when he hacks. He never really spits up hairballs. Just a few strands with lots of white foam.

He seems fine though, nothing out of the ordinary since he's been here. I just always am thinking what could be the underlying cause for his BG's not moving.
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279 +5/275 PMPS 287

I shot 1.5u about 20 minutes later caught him peeing so I tested him with the ketostix. It showed "trace"-slight pink tint where mine (I tested myself to compare) was totally normal/beige. Tested on the ketone blood meter and we're still "LO"(none) so all's good. Heading to bed!
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279 +5/275 PMPS 287

Hi Jenn,
My crystal ball shows Tidus peeing on another stick in the morning:-)
Carl
 
Re: 11/11 Tidus AMPS 279 +5/275 PMPS 287

Your crystal ball is very wise, Carl :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'll catch him today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top