11/11 Sooty PMPS 239 +6 216(IGF1 is +!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Yesterday...

#1 today: try and get those IGF-1 results!ETA: Results IN - IGF1 = 285

Sooty still VERY very hungry, driving Cathy crazy and eating >21oz FF / day the last couple of days. Does this mean something? But what? Also his BGs seem to be rising at the early and late parts of the cycle...

Anyhow this is 3rd cycle at 5.5u so let's see what the rest of the day brings...

Wishing everyone a good Veterans' Day (esp. those who have served to protect us),
Perry & Cathy
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295

I agree, this might be the cycle where you see some action .. and I hope you get those test results today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295

fingers crossed for good numbers AND for test results today!

It's funny to put so much emphasis on those tests, when really they don't change a ton about how you treat Sooty. I felt the same way when I was waiting for Jazzy's results, though. You still just give him the amount of insulin he needs, whatever that amount may be.

The test results CAN give you a clue as to how far away from that dose he might be. A positive test would also take the handcuffs off and give you some more flexibility in how you work toward his breakthrough dose (and more importantly, how you work back down the dosing ladder when it's time to do that).

We've definitely seen higher doses here that were not acro kitties, so his results could go either way. Still, it will be good to know.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Just wanted to address the appetite issue - All my animals have increased appetites lately too. I'm attributing it to the weather cooling down and them thinking they need to build extra fat for warmth or something. I'm assuming it will subside in a while. Don't know if this is the case for Sooty, or even if my assumptions are correct, but it's ALL my kitties AND the drooler, so I just wanted to put it out there.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Pat Devon Libby - THANKS!

So - straight to business: His IGF-1 number is 285.

Very, definitely, positive.

So - Veterans' Day, 2011 - turns out to be the day that we found out, Sooty may be an Acrocat!

As you say Libby, this doesn't quite turn the world upside down - and we are trying to remain calm and understand the import of it all - but at least, it helps to explain what's been going on all this time since initial FD Dx.

Indeed we may have to rethink things a bit - maybe now, as you say we may be able to get a tad more aggressive on the dosing...

...as regards possibility of tumor on the pituitary and the long term prognosis for Sooty (he's only ~7 1/2), we'll have to see about that...

Anyhow please let me THANK YOU ALL - for helping us to get through this crazy long wait, we had for this news, you have been terrific!
I'll try and come back here often today, as we try and come to terms with this..
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

I'm sorry guys. Not a great diagnosis, but at least you know how to proceed. Sooty has a working pancreas and an evil tumor working against it.

Dr. Lunn @ CSU is currently running a drug trial. This drug is not a long-term solution because it's too expensive, but it would be great to participate in the trial right now and consider SRT for the future.

Let me know if I can help. Boo was successfully treated. Libby, Lorna, Gayle, Nina, Carolyn, Carolynn, Phoebe, Pattie, and others (don't mean to leave anybody out) are all doing (or have done) a great job at managing their babies. Most of the active acros hang out and help each other on Facebook.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

I am sorry that it turned out this way for you guys...BUT...there is help available to you and knowledge is Power, right?
It does explain things, doesn't it?
You are so patient Perry....our very own Job! :razz: I am glad you finally got the results...and so happy that there are so many others who will be able to give you support. At least you know...scritches to Sooty....
Sending hugs to you and Cathy...and Sooty.... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

((((Perry)))) take a day or two to get used to the idea. Even when you're expecting this news, it still knocks you off your feet for a little while. I remember that feeling very well.

I will tell you that I am very impressed by your instinct about this. Most people would not have thought to test yet, let alone insist on it, like you did. Instinct plays a big role in managing your acro cat, so you are well on your way. In a lot of ways, I find Jazzy's acro *easier* to manage than Lucy's diabetes was. Her numbers are flat and predictable and easy, though there are certainly times when I have to talk myself into raising the dose yet again. You do have to be on the lookout for things to change quickly and be ready to respond with dose changes that may not make sense to other people (or even to yourself!). That comes with time, though.

The tumor thing, well, usually it is not cancerous so that is good news. You have some options and eventually you'll have time to think about those. You have probably already read the stickies on the high dose ISG here and there is a ton of info there.

People say that diabetic cats are special and that is true, but the acro cats are even more special.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Heather, It's so good to know we have someone there, who's been where we are (and made it through, too!)
Pat, You are too kind - but I'm certainly no Job (ask Cathy!) LOL... ! And yes this sure does help explain things, that's for sure... finally it all makes sense.
Libby, I hear you and appeciate all that you say. Thanks about the instinct thing... but it's just the way my brain works I guess (I have to figure stuff out with my job, that other people haven't been able to diagnose, so maybe that helped out here!??) I am touched by that last line you wrote...

Actually, I am touched by what you all have said. There, I said it!

Anyhow - as to the Acromegaly, I think we owe it to our Vet to go in and talk to her about it, I'm sure you'd agree. She has been very supportive of us so far and although the early days after Dx were not untypical (as we now understand..!), since we found FDMB, started hometesting, etc etc, she's been totally great and has been nothing but positive about what we've been doing here (the rest of course, you know!)

She has just faxed me the DCPAH Lab report - would it help if I post the details / here?
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Did you guys buy an acro calendar? It would be great to have one for you and one for your vet. It has lots of good information and tidbits.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Boo said:
Did you guys buy an acro calendar? It would be great to have one for you and one for your vet. It has lots of good information and tidbits.

Didn't know we might need one until an hour ago! Man, you acro folks are pushy! (hehehehehe!)
Actually - I didn't even know there is such a thing - can you post any details?
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

((( Perry ))) Sorry about the diagnosis, but at least you have an explanation for needing the higher dosing. The biggest change I can think to mention is to aim for blues, rather than greens, in case you suddenly need to reduce. You'll do fine, you're already doing a great job with Perry.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Perry --

Like Libby, I'm impressed by your instincts. I honestly thought you were being premature in getting Sooty tested. You know your cat and those instincts will pay off in dividends.

Gayle/Shadoe/Oliver and Susan/Lanky post here with some regularity. Lanky has been through the sterotactic procedure with Dr. Lunn not all that long ago and would be a great resource if that's a consideration.

Like with everything else, please let us know how we can help. One initial suggestion is to print out whatever information you find helpful and share it with your vet. Most vets are unfamiliar with treating acromegaly so it may be that you and your vet will learn together.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

awww, perry & cathy... i'm sorry for the diagnosis, but i'm glad you know why he's been resistant. your instincts were right on target. you have to be feeling a little shell-shocked at the moment. like libby said, take a day or two to let this sink in. sooty doesn't give a flying flip what his numbers are. all he wants is the same love and attention you've already been giving him. he is so lucky to have you.

your fdmb family has just become larger. you'll find a tremendous support system both here and from the moms in the high dose group.
all our kitties are special. our high dose kitties even more so.

(((hugs)))
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Nina and KB said:
((( Perry ))) Sorry about the diagnosis, but at least you have an explanation for needing the higher dosing. The biggest change I can think to mention is to aim for blues, rather than greens, in case you suddenly need to reduce. You'll do fine, you're already doing a great job with Perry.

Thank you Nina. I thought I was prepared for this but now it's here, maybe not so much!
I know good advice when I hear it, and understood! (yep, right now, blue really would be a sight for sore eyes!!)
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Perry --

Like Libby, I'm impressed by your instincts. I honestly thought you were being premature in getting Sooty tested. You know your cat and those instincts will pay off in dividends.

Gayle/Shadoe/Oliver and Susan/Lanky post here with some regularity. Lanky has been through the sterotactic procedure with Dr. Lunn not all that long ago and would be a great resource if that's a consideration.

Like with everything else, please let us know how we can help. One initial suggestion is to print out whatever information you find helpful and share it with your vet. Most vets are unfamiliar with treating acromegaly so it may be that you and your vet will learn together.

You've been terrific Sienne, I can't imagine where we'd be with Sooty without you (and everyone else here who has helped us get our arms around all this and set me straight when I needed it!)
As suggested we will try and ease into tis new phase over a few days - but will indeed do as you suggest - hope we have plenty of ink in th eprinter!

We are quite fortunate in that our Vet is so supportive - and she'll make a good ally with whatever is to come, I am confident. As you say, she's probably not been down this road before, either..!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Hi Sooty and Sooty's servant!

OK I am just hearing the news now ... I am at work, so I am just stopping by to say this:

Nothing really changes, honestly.

Sooty is still your special cat.
You are still the loyal bean.
Sooty will still get insulin... ok, so more than others at times but that's OK.

What has changed is that now you know you have a functioning pancreas, so you are not aiming for those greens.... have lots of HC on hand because it won't work the same for your acro fella... there will be none of that 'feeding a tsp of HC' when you hit a green number .... slap down a bowl of that HC please and aim to get over that 100 mark.

Oliver used to eat around 30oz of food a day... little oinker. Now that he is regulated pretty well, around 17u or so, he is eating less than half that amount.
Shadoe used to be around 24oz or so, but if she eats 6oz it's a good day.

Don't worry, there are quite a few of us around, acro beans, so if you have questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Sorry, I have not looked at Sooty's ss, but will later after work. You can take a look at Shadoe's and Oliver's ss to see that they are pretty different, yet both acro: one high and one low dose.
To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back or maybe walking alongside you.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Jill & Alex said:
awww, perry & cathy... i'm sorry for the diagnosis, but i'm glad you know why he's been resistant. your instincts were right on target. you have to be feeling a little shell-shocked at the moment. like libby said, take a day or two to let this sink in. sooty doesn't give a flying flip what his numbers are. all he wants is the same love and attention you've already been giving him. he is so lucky to have you.

your fdmb family has just become larger. you'll find a tremendous support system both here and from the moms in the high dose group.
all our kitties are special. our high dose kitties even more so.

(((hugs)))

Thanks Jill - Yes, you are so right on. Thanks - !! It is hard to overstate how much this litle group of people helps each other - and especially at moments like this one...
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Hi Sooty and Sooty's servant!

OK I am just hearing the news now ... I am at work, so I am just stopping by to say this:

Nothing really changes, honestly.

Sooty is still your special cat.
You are still the loyal bean.
Sooty will still get insulin... ok, so more than others at times but that's OK.

What has changed is that now you know you have a functioning pancreas, so you are not aiming for those greens.... have lots of HC on hand because it won't work the same for your acro fella... there will be none of that 'feeding a tsp of HC' when you hit a green number .... slap down a bowl of that HC please and aim to get over that 100 mark.

Oliver used to eat around 30oz of food a day... little oinker. Now that he is regulated pretty well, around 17u or so, he is eating less than half that amount.
Shadoe used to be around 24oz or so, but if she eats 6oz it's a good day.

Don't worry, there are quite a few of us around, acro beans, so if you have questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Sorry, I have not looked at Sooty's ss, but will later after work. You can take a look at Shadoe's and Oliver's ss to see that they are pretty different, yet both acro: one high and one low dose.
To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back or maybe walking alongside you.

Good points you make - and well taken - THANKS!

I guess the huge need for food is not so unusual then for an acro? Sooty sure is getting through it like it's going out of fashion...!

Oliver's on 17units BID? That's a lot of insulin (will I still think so, months from now, I wonder!!) - do you inject it all in one go, each time? Yikes!

So what to expect now, I suppose, is one of the next questions... what can happen and what to be prepared for... what signs to watch for, etc.. I suppose when you're on such high doses, the biggest worry is that it might all, suddenly, somehow, kick in...??!

BTW I'm also at tbp and I cant access SS from here so I will go look at your SS's later once I'm home. Thanks again and i really lIked your last line there, too. very true....!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Jen and Oreo said:
Sorry for the DX, but at least you know what you are dealing with now! :YMHUG:
Yes - true... and thanks, am quite overwhelmed with the wonderful support...!!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 & IGF RESULT IS IN!!

Anne&Muffin said:
Just wanted to address the appetite issue - All my animals have increased appetites lately too. I'm attributing it to the weather cooling down and them thinking they need to build extra fat for warmth or something. I'm assuming it will subside in a while. Don't know if this is the case for Sooty, or even if my assumptions are correct, but it's ALL my kitties AND the drooler, so I just wanted to put it out there.

Hmmm... that IS interesting - hadn't even thought about that!!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 +4 235 +6 266 +8 243 (IGF1 i

No advice or info, but lots of support and (((Hugs))) for you and Sooty. You always knew Sooty was special, now its been confirmed!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 +4 235 +6 266 +8 243 (IGF1 i

Hi Perry & Sooty - my Norton was an acrocat but didn't do a lot of bouncing around dose-wise.

Gayle can certainly advise on what to look for with the sudden ups and downs.

Most acrocats are on Levemir instead of Lantus -- because Lantus has a reputation for stinging according to a human diabetic. So as the dose creeps up, at some point you may want to consider changing. Not urgent - but if you find Sooty starting to flinch away from the shots -- time to switch.

Also - at the higher doses, several acrocats have had better absorption of the insulin if the shot is injected in two or even 3 different spots -- (for example - if dose is 20u -- put 10u on the left side and 10 on the right side using the same syringe -- draw up the entire amount - just poke twice.)
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 +4 235 +6 266 +8 243 (IGF1 i

Ele & Blackie said:
No advice or info, but lots of support and (((Hugs))) for you and Sooty. You always knew Sooty was special, now its been confirmed!
Thanks Ele, it means a lot. Really!!!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 +4 235 +6 266 +8 243 (IGF1 i

Phoebe_Rusty_Tiggy_Norton said:
Hi Perry & Sooty - my Norton was an acrocat but didn't do a lot of bouncing around dose-wise.

Gayle can certainly advise on what to look for with the sudden ups and downs.

Most acrocats are on Levemir instead of Lantus -- because Lantus has a reputation for stinging according to a human diabetic. So as the dose creeps up, at some point you may want to consider changing. Not urgent - but if you find Sooty starting to flinch away from the shots -- time to switch.

Also - at the higher doses, several acrocats have had better absorption of the insulin if the shot is injected in two or even 3 different spots -- (for example - if dose is 20u -- put 10u on the left side and 10 on the right side using the same syringe -- draw up the entire amount - just poke twice.)

Hi Phoebe - thanks so much, for stopping by! Yes, I get that about Lantus and Levemir, that Lantus, as a solution, is quite acidic as injected, where Lev isn't. Will certainly bear this in mind, depending on where the dosing goes...

And you must have read my mind, I also was (already!) wondering, about how to shoot such high doses! I was thinking that maybe, all in one go, at one site, might at some point, be a bit too much! Nice tip that I shall certainly remember!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 +4 235 +6 266 +8 243 (IGF1 i

Just stopping by to say sorry about the dx and to offer A BIG HUG :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
I know Sooty will be well & now get the care needed--We are always here to give support!
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty AMPS 295 +2 222 +4 235 +6 266 +8 243 (IGF1 i

Roni and Moonie said:
Just stopping by to say sorry about the dx and to offer A BIG HUG :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
I know Sooty will be well & now get the care needed--We are always here to give support!
Thanks Roni! HUgs are ALWAYS very welcome around here! Yes it is still a bit of a shock... but at last we know what we are up against, so it's also a bit of a relief too.

Thanks for the support - as we all know around here, none of us could really get through this on our own. What on earth did people do, before the internet and such super, genuinely caring people, getting together on sites like this? I shudder to think...
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty PMPS 239 (IGF1 is +!)

Evening summary: AMPS 295 +2 222 +4 235 +6 266 +8 243 PMPS 239.

Does anyone disagree with increasing Sooty's dose tomorrow AM, up by 0.5u, from 5.5u to 6.0u?
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty PMPS 239 (IGF1 is +!) DOSE 2morrow???

get a PM spot check some time this evening, if you can, since this is a bit lower than he usually is at PMPS. But yes, I agree with an 0.5 increase in the morning unless he surprises you tonight.

Just think, all of a sudden now Sooty's numbers are almost where you want them! Most of the acro beans aim to be below renal threshhold (usually around 230) all the time. You don't have to aim for the pancreas healing range because his pancreas doesn't need to be healed. My goal for Jazzy is to be blue 24/7, though we're not there yet.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty PMPS 239 (IGF1 is +!) DOSE 2morrow???

Libby and Lucy said:
get a PM spot check some time this evening, if you can, since this is a bit lower than he usually is at PMPS. But yes, I agree with an 0.5 increase in the morning unless he surprises you tonight.

Just think, all of a sudden now Sooty's numbers are almost where you want them! Most of the acro beans aim to be below renal threshhold (usually around 230) all the time. You don't have to aim for the pancreas healing range because his pancreas doesn't need to be healed. My goal for Jazzy is to be blue 24/7, though we're not there yet.

yes will do - will aim for a test at +3 or 4 tonite.

and please pardon my "French" but - "bloody hell!" OMG - NOW I see what you mean!!! Yikes I hadn't really grasped that yet - but now I do... I think!??!?!?!?

All of a sudden...
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty PMPS 239 (IGF1 is +!) DOSE 2morrow???

Perry

We're so sorry for the diagnosis but I think like many things, if you take a few days to absorb it AND since you may have already really been mulling
it around, then you get your arms around. I know you will have a plan and there's so many people here who can help you. We wish you and
Sooty the absolute most luck in dealing with this new challenge. I know you will do great.
 
Re: 11/11 Sooty PMPS 239 (IGF1 is +!) DOSE 2morrow???

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Perry

We're so sorry for the diagnosis but I think like many things, if you take a few days to absorb it AND since you may have already really been mulling
it around, then you get your arms around. I know you will have a plan and there's so many people here who can help you. We wish you and
Sooty the absolute most luck in dealing with this new challenge. I know you will do great.

Thank you Marjorie, that is very kind of you to say - the support has been just terrific and I just hope Sooty knows just how the people here in LL are wishing him well!!
 
Perry you have wonderful instincts and good for you sticking to your suspicions and getting the testing. I'm sorry that you and Sooty are on this new journey but I know he couldn't be in better hands. You are devoted to him and an awesome advocate. You are a special person. I am reminded of your supportive post the other day when I was so discouraged when you were waiting for your test results and all that it meant. Thank you for your caring:YMHUG: I will keep Sooty in my prayers and I wish the best for you both.
 
Kathy&Powder said:
Perry you have wonderful instincts and good for you sticking to your suspicions and getting the testing. I'm sorry that you and Sooty are on this new journey but I know he couldn't be in better hands. You are devoted to him and an awesome advocate. You are a special person. I am reminded of your supportive post the other day when I was so discouraged when you were waiting for your test results and all that it meant. Thank you for your caring:YMHUG: I will keep Sooty in my prayers and I wish the best for you both.
Thanks Kathy! You are too kind, really...!! :oops: !!!
 
Miriam and Putty said:
No great words of wisdom here......just some (((hugs))) and support.
Thank you Miriam! none needed (words of wisdom, I mean) but I can take any amount of hugs and support, all day long !!! LOL!
 
sorry about the diagnosis guys. i'm no help on the info side, but i want to address the area I DO know about.

Your instinct, diligence, deep love, and great humor in the face of adversity make Sooty one lucky fellow, and increase his prognosis for a happy, good quality life with you exponentially!

support and admiration coming to you in waves from us.

celi & binks
 
mybuddybinks said:
sorry about the diagnosis guys. i'm no help on the info side, but i want to address the area I DO know about.

Your instinct, diligence, deep love, and great humor in the face of adversity make Sooty one lucky fellow, and increase his prognosis for a happy, good quality life with you exponentially!

support and admiration coming to you in waves from us.

celi & binks
:oops: again! What can I say. You are just toooo kind - but believe me, if I didn't have you guys rallying around, it would be a very different story indeed... It is very humbling.
 
hi Perry and Sooty,
Sorry for he very belated welcome to the acro club (I'm a little behind on my in-box :oops: )
I noticed you are also from HOTlanta-- hoo hooo ! we're in Marietta.

Welcome! :-D :cool:
 
Nancy and Cody said:
hi Perry and Sooty,
Sorry for he very belated welcome to the acro club (I'm a little behind on my in-box :oops: )
I noticed you are also from HOTlanta-- hoo hooo ! we're in Marietta.

Welcome! :-D :cool:
Hi Nancy, great to hear from you! My vet has UGA connections and use of radiation therapy and it may be, some experience of Acro, apparently. She said something about maybe looking into possible use of radiation sources / therapy at UGA - but I'm not at all sure yet, what might or might not, be possible here in the ATL area... I'll let you know whatever we may find out, just in case it might turn out that we might have any as yet, maybe unknown-about, possibiities, locally...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top