11/11 Shylo AMPS 336 +2 293 +6 71 +7 74 +8 129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128219

I finally just bit the bullet and decided to go back up to .75u today. I'm not sure if it's the medication he's currently on or some other thing, but seeing all this pink makes me a sad mama bean. ): So up we go. Appetite is still great, at least.

We went to the vet for his recheck today, they took some blood and sent it out so I won't know until tomorrow probably if his liver is all back to normal. Dr. Cooper is usually pretty good about his diet being raw but today for some reason she was insistent on me switching him off of it. I told her that when he came home from the vet I did try to get him onto canned food, but he was only licking the juice + water and leaving most of the food itself there and had just opted to try a different brand of frozen raw for the time being. She was saying that given he was eating kibble before his surgery that I should put him onto a prescription kibble instead of feeding raw, which I refused. An all-kibble diet is what gave him gallstones in the first place and there's literally no way I'm going to shell out that much money for crap food.

Ughh. Hoping that his liver is completely back to normal so that I can confirm it has nothing to do with his diet. She even had said herself that the reaction was more typical of a toxin than something like salmonella seeing as there were no white blood cells, but whatever. I mentioned the neosporin thing again to her but she didn't seem to think it would have anything to do with it, despite the fact that since I stopped using it when he came home but continued his diet, there hasn't been any puking at all. So frustrating!
 
Re: 11/11 Shylo AMPS 336 +2 293 +6 71 (back from vet recheck

Well, looks like Shylo is enjoying that increased dose. P: Right down into the lagoon today.
 
Re: 11/11 Shylo AMPS 336 +2 293 +6 71 +7 74 (back from vet)

do you know the saying "the proof is in the pudding!"? It means that if shylo was sick when he was on the neosporin and fine when you took him off, that might suggest it wast he neosporin. the way to know for sure is to restart the neosporin. Not sure if you want to do that.

How are his ears holding up without it?

I'd think if it was the Neosporin, it would've been from eating it. You might be able to put it on, leave it 20 minutes while you're keeping him from licking it off, and then wipe it off so there's nothing for him to wash off and ingest. On those days where you have to test 20 times in a day, it can be a lifesaver.
 
Re: 11/11 Shylo AMPS 336 +2 293 +6 71 +7 74 (back from vet)

Right? That's what I think too, Julie. His ears actually look ok right now but using a little and wiping it off before he has a chance to clean it off and eat it is a really good idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top