11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6 +4 77.4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning all,
hope you have a good day....

he did not eat much thru the night...but i guess that's cause he hasn't done #2!
AMPS 176.4
will keep a close eye on him today....will scream for help if he goes too low
gave full 1U

thank you Laurie...yes i gave the shot...

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29454
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket AMPS 176.4 +4.5 82.8

he did #2 soon after +2 165.6 which he then proceeded to eat his food (actually he pigged out)...now at +4.5 82.8
will test again in an hr or so....

even after eating a bit is it normal for his # at +4.5 to be low?
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket AMPS 176.4 +4.5 82.6

That +4.5 looks good! Nice number, not too low. If he ate 2 hours ago, that food spike is probably passed.
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket AMPS 176.4 +7 73.8=?

is it normal for Rocket to drop at +7 ?
Recap AMPS 176.4
+2 165.6
+4.5 82.8
+5 couldn't test as he wouldn't let me but headed straight to his food.....ate it all! :)
+7 73.8

need to head out for a couple of hrs....should i stay and continue monitoring him or will he be ok on his own?
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket AMPS 176.4 +4.5 82.6 +7 73.8=?

he's fine, I would give him a little snack and go on out and do what you need to do. He's not really dropping, it looks more like he's surfing (staying at around the same number for hours). Surfing is what Lantus does best. :smile:
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6 DOSE?????? help

Claudia, Rocket's numbers are perfect, so I would leave the dose the same. Remember that we dose by nadir mostly, and nadirs in the 70's are *exactly* what we want.

You don't want to reduce his dose too quickly. It's usually harder to get cats OTJ a second time around and if you reduce too soon you might make it harder on him. Support his pancreas with insulin so it can heal again. He is in a safe range right now and you're testing enough that you'll catch it if he starts to go lower than you want (but he's not, yet).
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6

thank you that's the reassurance i needed....i do want to help him and will monitor him closely tonight to test and see where he is at and will report later...
i gave 1U as usual...
thanks again
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6

you're welcome. I know it's hard to get back into the swing of things after all this time.

Rocket really reminds me of my civvie, Sammy. Does he have a goofy, funny personality like Sammy does?

 
Re: 11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6

he sure does indeed...his personality is something else!
so you think he won't go OTJ the second time around? that's too bad..i was hoping...
vet left me a message saying he does have pancreatitis...which i already knew but she is considering on buprenex but he already has such complex med intake...i don't see him in pain...right now i think he is 'adjusting' to the new #s as sometimes he is perky/feisty and other times he just sleeps...more than usual....is that normal?
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6

oh noooo, I didn't say he won't go OTJ again, just that sometimes it is harder. If he is having a pancreatitis flare right now, that could explain why his numbers went back up. It could also explain his increased interest in the water dish. It's possible that when the flare subsides that he might fly OTJ again.

Jojo used to say that the way to find out if pain meds are needed is to try them and see if they make a difference. You can always get the bupe and try one small dose and see if his numbers or his demeanor change. If there's improvement, great, if not, then maybe he is not in pain. It's so hard to tell when cats are hurting, they hide it from us so well. Obviously I'm not a vet and don't know how bupe would interact with his other medications, but if the vet is suggesting it then it is probably ok.
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6

what prompted me to take him to the vet was his increased in water intake and obviously what goes in must come out....as with his CRF i keep a diary of everything and the slightess change it's right in front of me...i took him to the vet on Nov 1 and they did bloodwork and saved enough blood for the fPLI test...so after a few days of his #s not coming down then Nov 6 at me insisting to the vet we started him on insulin....she wanted to wait a little longer but i pretty much said enough is enough....i didnt like the #s iwas seeing...and i was only testing him once a day...all this started Oct 28 when i noticed things were off a bit...he's had flare ups with pancreatitis in the past...last year actually but the BG then was never high...and then the ondansetron was Rx to him....

are the kitties here on buprenex? i need to read up on that med as well...don't know much about it...and yes you are right they hide the pain too well....but it puzzles me the way he sleeps does not indicate he is in pain at all....and he lets me handle him with no problem...well now except with the constant poking of the ears :)
 
Re: 11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6

I don't think there is anyone who uses bupe all the time, but there are some who keep it on hand to use when needed. I haven't used it, though.
 
11/11 Rocket PMPS 176.6 +4 77.4 +5 115.2

recap PMPS 176.4
+2.5 91.8..............he ate shortly after testing here
+4 77.4
will test again at +5 and see where he is at...

tomorrow I can't be here btwn +3 to +7...i have the feeling with how things are looking up he will be lower for his AMPS....in the event that he has lower #s in the AM how should i prepare for it if i will not be here between those hours? i know i'm getting ahead of myself here...but i always like to have plan B per se....sorry if i'm asking too many questions.

update: since he ate 1/2 hr before testing at +5 he is now 115.2
will stop testing for the night.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top