11/11 Phoenix Need Dosing Advice AMPS in 30 minutes

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
I really need help. All day yesterday, I had to prop Phoenix up with fancy feast hc and honey. In all, he ate 2 cans of hc and about a tablespoon of honey.

At +11 last night, his BG was 99. I didn't want to give his full insulin dose of 9.5 units. I posted with a question mark 45 minutes before his shot was due. I received no answer. I changed the title on my post 3 times and even bumped it. I still didn't receive a response until 2 hours later.

In the meantime, I had posted on the feline health forum trying to get help. I finally gave Phoenix a half dose of 4.5 units.

Can you please advise me on how many units to give Phoenix this morning. I am thinking maybe 8.5 units but he is not due a decrease according to the guidelines. His BG has been dropping fast since his emergency visit to the vet on Saturday for asthma. I have been told it isn't the medication causing this.

This has been an awful week and I am exhausted. I have to run an errand to get Phoenix's oxygen tank filled and I can't if he drops like yesterday. I would really appreciate any advice.
 
The token dose last night would have drained his depot. That reduction per the protocol would be 9U, but you can try 8.5U and see if he holds it. You can always go back up n 3-5 days if the reduction doesn't work.
 
The token dose last night would have drained his depot. That reduction per the protocol would be 9U, but you can try 8.5U and see if he holds it. You can always go back up n 3-5 days if the reduction doesn't work.
Thank you, Bhooma, I am going to try 8.5 units.
 
FWIW it certainly will help us help you if you put the AMPS in your title. Days like yesterday since you were home I would not have fed hc. I would feed lc or mc and see if a reduction is earned. Just my two cents fwiw.
 
Back
Top