11/11 Nelli PMPS 127 +3.5 74 +4.45 69 +5.5 77

Krystina, today will be a good day. You shouldn't try to skip it :)

You hear that Nelli? No sharks today!!:cat:

Just kidding. I know you are tired. Today is 11/11:)
 
Krystina. Scary for sure. So glad your intuition kicked in and you handled it well.

I find it concerning that I never saw your post. I was up and could have stayed with you. I always check threads before logging out and going to bed just in case someone needs support. But I didn't see any of your posts. But I never get tags either so I don't know what the issue(s) could be.

Anyway I'm glad you and Nelli are fine this morning.
 
From yesterday's thread:
Where did @Wendy&Neko go? All her post to my responses have disappeared?!?
@Jill & Alex (GA) ? Thanks :-\!
@Jill & Alex (GA) what happened to the convo between Wendy and I?
Her post #7, #9 and #11 disappeared? I was scared to death last night and found myself all alone after this “kink”?
From Nelli's spreadsheet:
VERY WEIRD... Wendy and Neko responded to my “?” on FDMB right around 11p last night asking me what my concern and question was, that I have “shot” Nelli when she was 66 before. I tested Nelli shortly after she posted- Nelli had dropped to 39! messaged back to Wendy, she responded ”good spyie eye...”. She responded back one more time then disappeared? ALL Wendy responses (#7, 9 & 11) disappeared?!? I was scared to death last night and found myself all alone after this “kink”?
I have no idea. I don't see any "kink". I see every one of Wendy's responses. They are all visible:
  • Post #7 - Sorry, but what is your concern/question? You have shot 66 a couple times before, with a higher dose. Could be a flat night tonight. Or not.:cat:
  • Post #9 - Good catch. Your spidey senses are working well. Time to come up Nelli!
  • Post #11 - For a number in the 30's, don't fill her up too much with her regular food. Go straight to the high carb, not sure what the % is for the Merrick. I used to add a drop of karo for Neko when she hit the 30's. Testing every 20-30 minutes is good.
  • Post #15 - I didn't go anywhere, except logged off for dinner. You have handled low numbers before. There are guidelines in the TR: Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sticky Note.

    From what I see in Dr. Lisa's list, the Backcountry Chicken is only 12% or a medium carb food. You should invest in a HC or something over 15% for times Nelli goes low. Or you can add a drop of honey or karo to her food and see if she'll eat it. Your original post said you'd also fed her some boiled chicken breast which is very low carb, if any.

If you can't see Wendy's responses check your Privacy settings. You may have inadvertently blocked/"Ignored" her.


Good job last night. Oftentimes (with Lantus), when the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number (which it was), you'll see an active cycle (which is what happened). In a case like that, you'll want to monitor closely so you aren't surprised by such a low number AND you'll want to continue testing until you see two rising test results over 50 which are not influenced by food. FWIW: It's easier to stay on top of BG numbers by testing often than letting them get ahead of you.

From the "The Basics: New to the LB&L Group? Start here!" sticky:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

The "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" sticky goes on to describe how to prepare for low preshot numbers, what to do when you get a low preshot number, and how to handle low numbers. That said, if you're having trouble bring BG numbers up, a couple drops of karo mixed in a bit of food usually does the trick.

If you're scared or if you panic, the best thing to do is rub some karo on kitty's gums and go to the nearest ER. They're well equipped to handled low numbers. Bring the syrup and your meter with you in case you need them along the way.

Good luck with the dose reduction!
 
you'll want to continue testing until you see two rising test results over 50 which are not influenced by food.
Thanks Jill!
I did see low, low numbers coming after the PS then +2. The reason I titled my post as I did was because I did see what might happen (happened) coming. I panicked when I couldn’t pull her back up within the time I thought I’d be able to.
Thank you so very very very much for the reminders :bighug: I guess I thought I knew... should have pulled out Sticky file, instead I panicked :woot:
I will not panic now if this ever happens again :D thanks for your time with Nelli and I :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I will not panic now if this ever happens again :D thanks for your time with Nelli and I.
You're welcome.

Something important that I forgot to mention earlier...

Your subject line on yesterday's thread reads:
11/10 Nelli AMPS 104 PMPS 61/80/62 WILL U PLZ LOOK AT SS? I am concerned. Thanks

There's nothing there to indicate you're having a problem past wondering about which preshot number to use. Anyone scanning the list before they go to bed to see if anyone is having a problem had no idea you were in trouble. Gong forward, please put Nellie's BG numbers in the subject line. It's the only way others can see what's going on.
I had just decreased Nelli dose yesterday morning. After yesterday two cycles and last night drop, Ive decreased her again.
Was this the right thing to do- I’m wondering now or should I have kept her at 4.25?
I'm not sure why you reduced the dose yesterday morning. I'm not seeing where she "earned" the reduction yesterday. When practicing TR, generally speaking, reductions are taken when kitty falls below 50. Last night's action is probably due to residual action from the insulin depot. Since the reductions were taken so close together, just remain aware that the dose reduction may not hold. Keep an eye on her numbers. If she begins to trend upwards, simply take the dose back up. Ask for advice if you're not sure.

 
I don’t understand what you mean by residual action from the insulin depot o_O
That means the higher depot is still talking. Just because a reduction is taken doesn't mean that the cycle will not see any further movement down because of the previous higher depot still affecting the numbers. It can take about 4 cycles for a depot to drain. Make sense?
 
When you reduce dose, that new dose isn't effective the same cycle you reduced. The depot of previous dose still active.
Think I got it...
Yesterday’s dose reduction has nothing to do with her low numbers this morning. Therefore I see now that I should not have reduced her again this morning o_O
Guns are loaded and I will take her back up to 4.25, if necessary :):cat:
 
I can't see Nelli's SS. It says I need to ask for permission.

I'm glad you were able to keep her safe last night. I hope she surfs safely today.
 
I don’t understand what you mean by residual action from the insulin depot o_O
When you reduce dose, that new dose isn't effective the same cycle you reduced. The depot of previous dose still active.
That means the higher depot is still talking. Just because a reduction is taken doesn't mean that the cycle will not see any further movement down because of the previous higher depot still affecting the numbers. It can take about 4 cycles for a depot to drain. Make sense?
Thanks for replying, ladies! Just wanted to add one thing... the length of time it takes the depot to drain can vary. It can be an ECID type thing. It's also generally believed the bigger the dose, the larger the depot. I think that holds true for many cats (but not all), especially cats receiving higher doses.
I can't see Nelli's SS. It says I need to ask for permission.
I can't see the SS either, permission needed
Same here. I can't see Nelli's ss either and the subject line of this thread has not been updated all day. :(
 
Hmm... ss, access denied.
No mid-cycle numbers in the subject line.
AMPS & PMPS numbers only in the subject line... despite the same practice biting you in the butt last night.

It appears you're making a statement, Krystina.
Got the message.
Dang... what did I do to cause SS, access denied? Can’t figure out o_O
Help!?!
I’ll post mid cycle... thanks
Not making (a?) statement?
 
Dang... what did I do to cause SS, access denied? Can’t figure out o_O
Help!?!
I’ll post mid cycle... thanks
Not making (a?) statement?
I'll try to remember how someone helped me fix mine once, go to the top right where it says share,click,go to bottom of that,advanced and click anyone can see it,click done, see if that works.
 
Back
Top