11/11 Morris +9 234; +10 254; PMPS 461; +2 385

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56183

Well this is a much better start to the day! I will do my best to keep an eye on the clock & get some spot checks in....especially around the +6 mark if possible!

Since dh, the kids & I all have a nice long weekend this weekend, we are going to attempt to get a few projects around the house accomplished. My daughter & I are going to hopefully get her room painted finally! Changing it from a toddler-theme to a tee-theme (she will be 13 in Jan)!
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203

Beautiful morning for Morris!

I think painting is on the agenda for my DGD this weekend, for the same reason. She turns 11 Sunday and it's just time for the cute animals on the walls to go. Have fun!
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203

Hi guys .. nice start to the day morris! I WISH painting was on my agenda for this weekend .. been in the process of find just the right paint color for over a YEAR now ohmygod_smile I think at this point any color would work .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203; +4 76

He has eaten 1/4 of his food so far today. After testing, I took him over to his food bowl in an effort to get to him to eat some more. He started dipping his paw into his food & licking it off!!! I have never seen a cat eat like that before! LMAO! :lol:
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203; +4 76; +5 LO

I have never received a LO reading before! I quickly grabbed a can of MC Fancy Feast from storage & mixed about 3/4 of the can in with the other food he has not eaten yet. He dug right in! I will check his number again shortly! I think this means he has earned a dosecrease tonight! Should I go to the awkward 1.25 or the easier 1.00 dose?
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203; +4 76; +5 LO

Please check his BG in 15 mins and post back.
Don't let him eat too much - it's still early in the cycle and you may have to guide it more.

A Tbsp of HC gravy w/ some karo would be best.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203; +4 76; +5 LO; +5.5 31

After his last test & adding the MC to his dish, I came up to post. When I went back downstairs to check him (would have been 15mins later), he was still eating & I didn't want to interrupt him! He finally took a break & I was able to test again - at least he is registering now! Should I still give him some HC gravy food? Can't find the corn syrup right now....will keep looking! Will also test again very soon.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203; +4 76; +5 LO; +5.5 31

feed 1 tsp HC (18% or greater) gravy only and re-test in another 15 mins.
you need to get him to 50 or higher.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203; +4 76; +5 LO; +5.5 31; +5.45 40

Just after posting 15 mins ago.....my power went out! Good thing I have a charged lap top & Telus internet stick for it!

Testing BG in the dark really sucks! Will now give 1 tsp gravy only & retest shortly.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris AMPS 203; +4 76; +5 LO; +5.5 31

Sienne and Gabby said:
HC please and retest in no more than 20 min. Repeat until numbers don't just rise but until they stabilize.

How to Handle Low Numbers
Thanks for the link Sienne! I have reviewed the symptom list & Morris is not displaying any of them. He has gone hypo like this before & the only way I knew was because of his numbers - he has never shown syptoms!
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +5 LO; +5.5 31; +5.45 40; +6 40

No change this time :sad: I will give more HC gravy & a bit of honey now, then retest & post in 15 mins
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +5 LO; +5.5 31; +5.45 40; +6 40; +6.25 58

OK....we made it back to a safer range now! Will hold off on any more HC/MC or honey & see how he does. Will retest & post in another 15 mins.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +5 LO; +5.5 31; +5.45 40; +6 40; +6.25 58

holycarp-1.jpg
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +5.45 40; +6 40; +6.25 58; +6.5 115

Coming up nicely now! Will give him a break - I will test again in 30 mins

Any thoughts on tonight's dosecrease?
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +5.45 40; +6 40; +6.25 58; +6.5 115

Much better!
Yes, retest in 30 mins. The number could still wobble once the HC wears off so you will need to be vigilant for a while yet.

I'm at tbp right now and can't see ss to comment. I'll check it out once I'm home.
Most definitely a decrease is in order.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +5.45 40; +6 40; +6.25 58; +6.5 115; +7 202

Really coming up nicely now! Unfortunately, power still hasn't come back on & laptop battery won't last forever! I will continue checking him every 30 mins, but might not get back on to post every time.

What does everyone think his new dose should be? With his dental coming up hopefully this week & the talk about low BG levels & anesthesia, should I drop him down to 1.00 rather than 1.25 for the next few days? I will be home to monitor him Sat & Sun, but return to work on Monday. I know I will really need to monitor his BG next weekend if his dental does proceed on Thursday.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +6.5 115; +7 202; +7.5 225

A nice slow & steady increase! YAY!

It is 3pm here now & our hydro company website they are estimating our power to return by 10pm tonight! ICK!
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +6.5 115; +7 202; +7.5 225; +8 202

Isn't it odd for him to be dropping again so soon? He hasn't really eaten any more since just after +6 when I gave him his 2nd dose of HC gravy and only dose of honey. After seeing his number, I did take him and set him beside his food bowl again - hopefully he will decide to eat a bit more.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +6.5 115; +7 202; +7.5 225; +8 202

Could have killed my son! Now that the power is back on, the phone rang & caller ID said it was my vet calling! Instead of answering the phone like a normal person, my son decided to bring the phone to me without answering it! Needless to say, the call had gone to voicemail before I could answer it! The vet office is closed today, so I can't call her back! With what Morris has been going through today, it would have been nice to have been able to speak with her!!!!!

She did leave me a brief message about some of Morris' lab results from yesterday. His urine culture is still pending, his fructosamine is 450 (good/fair control according to Vetsulin website (http://www.vetsulin.com/vet/Cats_Monito ... cated.aspx), and she was saying something about his kidney results & he could be experiencing marginal kidney problems?!?!? She is in the office again on Monday & will call me then with more details. She didn't say anything about his ECG, so I'm guessing those results aren't back yet.

Now I'm really worried about his kidneys! I know cats are very susceptable to kidney issues.......how/what do you do to treat that?!?!? I am still pretty worried about his ECG results as well!!!! Poor little guy!!!!! Now I'm beginning to think......is it really worth spending a whole lot of money on a dental if he has heart & kidney issues?!?!? I know his teeth are really bothering him though!!!! Perhaps it's time to start thinking about his quality of life........is it worth it to put him through all of this agony, or would it be more humane to ease his pain permanently?
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +6.5 115; +7 202; +7.5 225; +8 202

He's holding steady at very safe numbers - don't feed too much and don't feed after +10. Lets see where he ends up at PMPS time. I suspect a hard bounce is coming after that LO.

Definitely reduce to 1.25u.

Regarding the dental that is a separate one day issue- the vet will advise you on what to do before the surgery date.
With BK I did not shoot AM or PM the day of his first dental. The day of his 2nd dental (5 months later) I did not shoot that morning however that evening gave him a reduced dose since he was in the 300s.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +7 202; +7.5 225; +8 202 vet news!; +9 234

Climbing again. I will remember to remove any uneaten food in an hour when I test him again.

Still incredibly upset with vet info.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +7 202; +7.5 225; +8 202 vet news!; +9 234

Try to relax and breath. I'm sorry you missed the phone call. Keep thinking possitive, or else try thinking not at all about the vet issues, until the time comes when you can talk to the vet.

Good catch on that LO number. Hope the dosecrease works out well.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +7 202; +7.5 225; +8 202 vet news!; +9 234

marginal kidney problems are not something to put a cat to sleep over. i don't think you need to worry too much about the test results that you've heard so far.

it's really good that you tested midcycle today - it looks like yesterday's highs were a clear, high bounce and then a plummet down to that LO today. if you hadn't caught that with a test, gwen . . . :shock: i'm just really glad you decided to test today.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris +7 202; +7.5 225; +8 202 vet news!; +9 234

((Gwen)) don't drive yourself crazy with worry before you even get a chance to talk to the vet Monday. You've had an incredibly stressful day. Please try to relax a little. Maybe things aren't as bad as they feel right now.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris 8 202 vet news!; +9 234; +10 254

I have taken his food bowl away. Might give him a testing break now & wait until PMPS time. Dh is taking me out to dinner in hopes of getting my mind off everything!
 
Re: 11/11 Morris 8 202 vet news!; +9 234; +10 254

Gwen, Please take a deep breath & relax about the vet news...Many FD kitties have marginal kidney numbers & slight problems, many kitties have heart & other problems, but they are all manageable.
With numbers like today, I think it would be a 0.25U dose reduction--I would go with the 1.25U as Sandy suggested. Morris is doing very very well, you are doing a good job.
Soon you will see Morris getting better & doing his old behaviors, and you will know it's working.
We all have ailments, we just treat them, as we all do with our beloved kitties.
Hope tomorrow will be better!
 
Re: 11/11 Morris 8 202 vet news!; +9 234; +10 254

Great idea your DH has to go out to dinner, Gwen. Morris is safe in yellow and you need to decompress. I certainly would not worry about "marginal" kidney issues. Wait until Monday and hear what the vet has to say.
Sending you lots of "think positively" vines and healing vines for Morris,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/11 Morris 8 202 vet news!; +9 234; +10 254; PMPS 461

Found the bounce!

Thanks all for the encouraging words today. Was just having difficulites for awhile adding diabetes, pancreatitis, heart issues & now kidney issues all together. I know what dh's response will be - don't let him suffer! Also, dh will be wanting to weigh the pro's & con's of this expensive dental vs the quality of life ahead for Morris. You are all correct - can't really make any decisions until I have more information from the vet. I may drive by the office tomorrow to see if it's open - I could at least get a copy of the lab results that are in now if it's open. Will still have to wait for ECG results though.

I will check on Morris again in 2 hours & then go to bed.
 
Re: 11/11 Morris 8 202 vet news!; +9 234; +10 254; PMPS 461

MY GOODNESS!!! WHAT A DAY YOU'VE HAD!!!

lovely numbers...and hope the vet info is easily manageable
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top