11/11 Milo+12/69 pmps75+1/76+2/64+3/62+4/59+5/57+6.5/67

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
Good morning, I was wondering what am I looking for to justify a dose decrease? Milo's numbers have been mostly in the green, some low and at times to me it seems like he feels better when they r in the high 90's to low 100's. At first when he was in the green he seemed to not have an appetite, but lately he seems so hungry, and somewhat manic about it.
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

Hi guys .. I don't have any dosing advice for you, but others will be along soon to help I'm sure .. Milo's SS is looking very nice, lots of blues and greens, just what we like to see! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

no dose advice from me either but thats how Do Lou is as well he does not feel well in 50s and lets you know it
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

Milo is looking very good! The guidelines for dose reductions are in the Tight Regulation Protocol Stickie.

Reducing the dose:
•If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
•If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
•Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely

There are 2 ways to earn dose reductions. The first is by dropping below the appropriate cutoff in the quote above. When was Milo diagnosed? A newly diagnosed kitty is defined as diagnosed less than one year ago. The second way is by staying in normal numbers for a week. Normal range is 50-120 for human meters, and 80-150 for pet meters.

It's very normal for kitties to not feel so great when their BG is in a range that they are not used to...either high or low. As they spend more time in the new range, they typically begin to get used to it and feel better.

As for the hunger.....that could be a sign of being in low numbers, and could even be an indication of mild hypoglycemia. When he is manic for food, I strongly suggest that you get a test. Mr Tinkles would always start looking for food when his numbers were low (30s), so that was a cue to get a test immediately. Milo has been seing some nice numbers, but if I were you, I would be monitoring more closely when you see low numbers, and especially when you see a significant drop from PS to +2....that is an indication of an active cycle ahead, and you need to keep testing. I suspect that you missed a dose reduction yesterday.

Are you around to test more today? That's a low AMPS, and Milo could be looking for a reduction today.
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

Hi there!

I can't see Milos ss at the moment (here at tbp) .

I want to add one more method to the fabulous info Laurie provided.
That is the method of waiting until kitty hits a number between 40-50, 3 times on 3 separate days.
This may be best for some long term diabetic kitties that have difficulty holding reductions.
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

I am home now, and I wil test more thru out the weekend, his amps have been low lately and I also agree that He has dipped below the 50's and I didn't catch it. He was diagnosed in June of this year so it hasn't been that long, (5 almost 6 months) ...do you think Im shooting when he is too low??
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

Yes
he is at 69 right now, but I havebeen shooting low, and have felt comfortable doing so but his amps are getting lower so I am questioning myself..
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

He's looking great. Don't question yourself. I suggest you post a +11.5 and see where he is. Right now, I'm not seeing that he's quite earned a reduction although there are a few gaps in the data.

His SS is looking amazing. YOU CAN DO THIS!!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

I agree with Laure - you may have missed a reduction last night.

milo said:
...do you think Im shooting when he is too low??
No. you are in the "shoot low to stay low" zone :mrgreen:

milo said:
his amps have been low lately
That's great, the AMPS is usually the last number to come down (I'm not sure why).
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

4158469515_ab_fab_xlarge_xlarge.jpeg
 
Re: 11/11 Milo PMPS 69, gonna stall

The shoot low to stay low makes sense, so I wont get freaked about it then ..I wasnt worried about it until I started second guessing myself...I am gonna stall tonight for 15 just to make sure since he is at 69 right now...
 
Re: 11/11 Milo PMPS 69, gonna stall

Oh my, look at those nice flat green numbers.
Keep surfing Milo
0d8782518a23f00b3639be88d7283f1b.gif
 
Re: 11/11 Milo PMPS 69, gonna stall

Yes lol, I am very well stocked, and stalled for .50 shot his full dose at 7:30 PM Eastern with his number at 75. He is now happily eating his supper!
 
Re: 11/11 Milo +12/69 pmps 75 Shot full dose

Nice Hooting! Keep surfing real nice, Milo :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/11 Milo +12/69 pmps 75 Shot full dose

Perfect!!!! He is doing awesome and so are you! What a super nice surf for him.

Be sure you get a +1 and +2 to see where your night is headed. If Laurie is correct that he might be thinking about a reduction, you want to be sure a keep an eye on his numbers.

Glad it's Friday....you don't have to work tomorrow right? ;-)
 
Re: 11/11 Milo +12/69 pmps 75 Shot full dose

nope...no work tomorrow thank God!!! and I will test him more tomorrow and get and +1 & +2 tonight for sure!!!
 
Re: 11/11 Milo +12/69 pmps 75 Shot full dose

HI! BTW I just want to congratulate you on shooting low to stay low..We usually give the
honorary BOS award for that, so if now one did, Congrats!! (B*lls of Steel) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
We reserve it for the first time one shoots low, but got to tell you, Milo is doing really well!!
Lots O' Green! Good job!
 
Re: 11/11 Milo AMPS/73 Dose questions?

milo said:
I am home now, and I wil test more thru out the weekend, his amps have been low lately and I also agree that He has dipped below the 50's and I didn't catch it. He was diagnosed in June of this year so it hasn't been that long, (5 almost 6 months) ...do you think Im shooting when he is too low??

No, I don't think you are shooting when he's too low, you are doing great with that! Nice hooting tonight! :-D

You just need to monitor a bit more closely at times. The data on his SS suggests to me that you might be missing some low numbers mid cycle.

A few examples...on 11/9, PMPS of 73 and a +1 of 70.....no food spike, that could signal an active cycle, and I would keep testing. In that case, try to get another test before bed, and if it's lower, you might want to stay up or set an alarm to keep testing. On 11/10, AMPS was 146 (which might be a small bounce from low numbers during the 11/9 PM cycle I mentioned before) and the +2 was 69....that's a BIG drop, a signal to keep testing! There was a lot of downward momentum, so it's pretty likely that he continued to drop after that, and may have gotten pretty low. I'm a big fan of +2 tests....it should be similar to the PS test, and often will give you a good idea of how active the cycle will be.

As odd as it may sound, I used to watch more closely when the PS was in the mid-blues, because Tinkles had more room to drop, so he would sometimes go much lower from there than from shooting a 70. When you shoot lower numbers, they tend to surf and stay flat, although not always. I would watch him pretty closely even when you shoot low now, because I really think he's looking for a reduction.

I'm not trying to make you nervous, just trying to give you a heads up to monitor a bit more so you catch the dose reductions. Milo is looking awesome, and you are doing great!
 
Re: 11/11 Milo +12/69 pmps 75 +1/76 Shot full dose

I appreciate that, and thanks to all for the kudos! I will keep better data on him and look for that reduction!! thanks all :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top