11/11 Maverick PMPS 189

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8

Karrie, that was a beautiful cycle last night! You could have left food out and gone to bed once you saw him rising. If in doubt, post and ask for help! There's usually someone around, even overnight...we do have members from around the world.

Nice AMPS, looks like another nice cycle coming. :-D Take a nap!
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8

Oh I will be napping. Now have to figure out what the heck do I say to his vet if she calls again today.

Thank you for helping us along and everyone else. I tried multiple times to post an update last night but the page wouldn't allow me to do a reply - it just stayed on the original post and didn't load a reply to screen. So I knew he was rising so I was relieved. I did get some sleep - set my iphone alarms.
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8

Morning guys! Nice start to the day as well ... I hope you get some well deserved napping time today ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8

I would set your alarm and get a +3 so you can see where he's at then.

I would just tell her that he was so close to 200, you couldn't see skipping, and then today, he did so well with the last shot, you felt comfortable giving his shot. ;-)
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8

Maverick is looking GREAT!! I think that if i were in your shoes, I would probably just send an email to the vet...saying "thanks for your call and instructions! I will be testing every 4 hours as you said and will call your office if I have any other questions." That way, you won't have to deal with a phone call.
That was good practice last night! Welcome to the world of power naps! @-)
Hope you guys have a wonderful day!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8

Look at Maverick....And you, Kerrie. Awesome job. Lots of good advice for speaking/emailing your Vet.

Have a great day and hope you get in a nap or two or three.
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8 +3 199

He may be starting to bounce from seeing lower numbers than he is used to last night. It's nothing to worry about. Basically, his liver sees those lower numbers as too low and dumps glucose and hormones into the bloodstream to raise BG. The higher numbers can last up to 3 days. Bounces clear on their own, you just keep shooting your normal dose at the normal time.

Don't worry if his numbers continue to rise through this cycle...that's what a bounce looks like.
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8 +3 199

What a great job in a short time!! I had to change vets in the beginning as mine so intimidated me with the protocol, I couldnt stand it--Vets believe in the 200 is a great number...We know better, especially since so many cats can go into remission using our protocol, of course there are no guarantees..Like Moonie, who is a long timer here..But we never lose hope to keep our babies in the best numbers we can!
We brought the copy of the SS and a copy of the DR. Rand article & Tilly protocol to the new vets who actually read them!! They say I am their resident expert on FD, and they help us..They cannot believe the commitment we have to Moonie--Hey she's our baby!!~~~~
These are nice blue numbers..You are doing great! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8 +3 199

Great job last night Karrie...don't worry...soon you will think you can survive on 4 hours of sleep a night :lol: :lol:

Great blue this morning, too. You are doing super with Maverick!!
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8 +3 199

You guys really are great :) Never thought I'd be laughing and smiling on a diabetes forum. It is a great community you have here.

So +6.5 came in at 181.8. He's eaten about 2oz of Special Kitty Turkey and Giblet food. I can tell right away this has much less of an impact on his blood sugar than the presidents choice on binky's list and its supposed to be higher carbs. So since he's eating it this seems to be working. I'm going to supplement it with organic free range boiled chicken breast also to get the fat content of his diet down.
 
Re: 11/11 Maverick AMPS 190.8 +3 199 +6.5 181.8

the last 24 hours have been just beautiful. Let's hope Maverick likes it too, and does this again, and again, and again... :mrgreen:
 
Looking very good here. Since he likes that turkey and giblets I wonder if he'd like the Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblets.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top