11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22;+2.25=31;+2.75=79;+3.25=106

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good afternoon!!!

Yesterday's condo

11/10 AMPS=139; +2.25=155; +5.5=167; +10.25=162
11/10 PMPS=135; +1=117; +2=106; +4=113; +7.5=160

11/11 AMPS=146; +2=164; +5.5=144; +9=209
11/11 PMP196; +2=22; +2.25=31; +2.5=47; +2.75=79; +3.25=106; +3.75=122; +6=113

Lucy is doing fine.
She looks like she's feeling just OK - Not great, but not bad either.
She ate her breakfast well by finger-feeding.
She feels better when her number is a bit lower.

Once again, I am not seeing any improvement in her numbers since the dosecrease.
This AM cycle is only the 6th cycle, and I know I need to be patient, but I really want her to stay in a lower range where she feels better and perkier.
The few yellows I got on the last dose is from the skipped & delayed shot, so not seeing yellow on this dose does not qualify as an improvement.

Her numbers are still good, I know, but it worries me that I haven't seen green since 10/30 - longest we have gone without a single green!
I just want my Lucy to feel better.....
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144

Hi Mariko! Sorry I haven't visited in awhile, but I'm glad Lucy is feeling at least OK & her numbers aren't horrible. I know how you feel though, Tigger gets 'subdued' sometimes in the higher numbers. I hope you can figure out the perfect dose for Lucy that will keep her happy & perky & green - just not too green!
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144

I'm glad Lucy is doing good. I hope she'll start giving you some green soon on this dose.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144

Hi Mariko! I hope Lucy's numbers come down a bit so she will be feeling better. Have a nice evening!
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144 // VET VISIT

Well, believe it or not, I am in for another vet visit. :cry: .

Lucy is either in pain or nauseated, or both.
She was OK this morning, but she's been sort of withdrawn all day.
I just checked on her, and she doesn't seem comfortable.

You know how their body inflate and deflate as they breath?
This inflating/deflating motion looks uneven.
She still lets me pet her, but she can't purr... instead she makes funny noise.

I couldn't decide between cerenia and bupe, and the bupe I have on hand is about 6 months old, so I'm not sure if they are still good or not.
So I called the vet, and they got me in for 4:40pm appointment.
I will leave in an hour....

Poor girl.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144 // VET VISIT

Mariko, sending vetty vines and feel-better vines her way.
Feel better, Sweet Girl♥♥♥
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144 // VET VISIT

Lucy just vomited a small amount of digested food, so she is definitely nauseated.
I'll wait till the appointment in about an hour and they can give her a cerenia injection, which would work faster....
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

Sure enough, her BG's high for her too.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

I forgot to mention... I suspect pancreatitis flare is what's going on with her.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

Also sending good vet visit vines and hope you feel your normal self soon vines to Lucy.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

We are back from the vet.
She got sub-q fluids, a shot of Cerenia and the first dose of bupe at the vet.
The doctor thought my assessment was right about pain and nausea.
She is feeling a little dopey now.
She walked really funny when she first got out of the carrier, like a beginner ice skater, but she seems to be feeling better.
She also pooped (solid but yellowish) as soon as we got home.

The bupe dose from the vet is 0.25cc per 8-12 hours.
When I called them about the funny walking, they told me to give a little less next time.
I wonder how much everyone else gives.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

I don't have much bupe experience...but I am so sorry poor little Lucy isn't feeling well tonight. It's a good thing her MamaBean is so in tune with her signals. Sending tons and tons of feel better vines to sweet Lucy, and calming vines to you, Mariko....
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

Hi Mariko,
We are sending lots of feel-better vines to Lucy tonight. Pancreatitis can be very painful, so perhaps it is not surprising that she doesn't feel like eating. I hope the meds will help and that you can get some food into her.

And I hope your evening will see less stress all around.

Hugs & scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

You are such a good bean, Mariko. Sending tons of vines for Lucy. We have given 0.1 ml of bupe and some had evaporated so probably more like 0.08 ml. How much does Lucy weigh?
Liz
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

Paws crossed Lucy starts to feel better soon. Beginning skater is a very good description of that woozy walk.

Bupe comes in different strength solutions. I've seen it in .5 mg/ml and .2 mg/ml. There is a scale for dosing based by weight and different scales for the different concentrations. My civvie Theo once got a dose for .25ml of the stronger solution and it was way too much. His regular vet prescribed .2ml of the weaker solution and that worked better. But both amounts were in the range for his weight. Basically you have to experiment to see what works for Lucy.

I really hope that's it for vet visits for a while. You deserve a nice calm evening cuddling with the kitties.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy AMPS=146;+2=164;+5.5=144;+9=209 // VET VISIT

Mariko, so sorry to hear about Lucy :sad:
But hopefully you caught it early and she will be feeling better real soon ;-)
You are such a good Mamabean ♥
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

Thank you all for your kind words and vines.

Lucy weights a little over 5kg (= a little over 11lbs).

Wendy, Thank you very much for the detailed explanation about bupe.
I didn't know they come in 2 different concentrations.
Today, we got the weaker one, 0.2mg/ml. And they dosed her 0.25cc, which made her wobbly.
So I'll try 0.2 cc next. :?: Is this still too much? :?:

The meds have kicked in and Lucy is feeling much better, though quite sleepy.
I was able to feed the 1st dinner, which is about 1/2 of the entire dinner portion, so I gave her a full insulin dose.
I am so so relieved that she's eating.....
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

I am so glad to hear Lucy is feeling better now. I hope you're able to get yourself some rest, too, Mariko :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

Mariko, I hope Lucy continues feeling better.
I don't have any experience w/bupe; I hope you're able to find a good dose for her.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

So glad to hear Lucy is feeling better. Vines she keeps improving ♥
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

Mariko,
I didn't know Bupe came in two different concentrations either. Good info to know!

When I got Bupe for Bob last week, the vet gave me 6 syringes, with .2cc in each. I gave him the full dose once, but it made him Zombie. After that, I just shot "half" the dose twice per day, so .1cc every 12 hours. It seemed to relieve his pain. It still made him wobbly and wide-eyed, but he didn't seem to be hurting as badly.

He also got cerenia for nausea, and he never vomited. He just wouldn't eat, even with three doses of cypro. I think he had a lot more going on than just nausea, and just too many things going bad at the same time. But the bupe seemed to handle the pain for him, even on the half-doses.

I hope Lucy feels much better soon,

Carl
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

Mariko, I'm glad Lucy is improving & responding well to the meds, even tho' a little too woozy from the Bupe. Spankey got really 'happy' when he was on it & the vet said I could adjust it lighter as necessary because some cats are more sensitive to the effects than others.

Glad she's eating for you - and pooping, even though its not a great consistency.

I hope she continues to get better and this is a short-lived thing. I know how scary it is when they're not feeling right. Try & get some rest yourself.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

Poor Lucy & poor Mariko, I hope Lucy is feeling even better by morning. You are so attuned to her (and Ginger) :smile:

Hopefully you caught this early, and it will clear up quickly. Healing vines to Lucy and restful vines for you!
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196 // feeling better, bupe dose?

sounds like you've got a plan. punkin had a 20u (.2ml) dose twice a day for quite a while, but i also didn't realize it came in different concentrations. good to know.

i hope she's feeling better by morning!
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22 // OMGOMGOMG

Lucy cliffdived from 196 to 22 at +2.
OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG

She got sub-q fluids at the vet 2 hours before the PM shot - probably too close together.

I tested her twice.
First reading was "LO", and the 2nd reading was 22, so it's not a false reading.
I gave her 3rd dinner with LOTS of syrup.

I'll test her again in 5 min, which will be about 15 min from the +2 test.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22 // OMGOMGOMG

I forgot to mention.... no symptoms of hypo right now.
She's eating.

Do I need to get changed in case I need to go to the vet?
(I'm already in my PJ.)
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22;+2.25=31 // OMGOMGOMG

Test again in 20 after the syrup to see if she is coming up. If she is up and not showing any symptoms you just need to monitor.

But i don't think those PJs are going to do you much good tonight.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22;+2.25=31 // OMGOMGOMG

And don't feed her too much at once, you may need to feed more later and you want her a little hungry.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22;+2.25=31 // OMGOMGOMG

Thank you, Ann.

Lucy is coming up.
Her +2.5 is 47.
Phew.....
That first "LO" scared the poopy out of me.
I'll give her a little more food with tiny drop of syrup, and keep testing every 15 min until she is above 50, and every 30 min until she is above 70 or so.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22;+2.25=31;+2.5=47;+2.75=79

+2.75 = 79

I'll hold the LC and syrup now.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22;+2.25=31;+2.5=47;+2.75=79

great catch, wow.

I'm glad Lucy is coming up. You'll want to keep checking frequently until she is past her normal nadir time. The numbers might go back down as the syrup starts to wear off. How is Lucy doing? How are YOU doing?

I might not be able to get back to check on you, but others will.
 
Re: 11/11 Lucy PMPS=196;+2=22;+2.25=31;+2.5=47;+2.75=79

Thank you, Libby.

Lucy seems fine.
She didn't want to eat much of the syrup dipped LC at +2.5, but she's coming up.
Her usual nadir is early, at around +2, and she does a second dip later in the cycle, around +10 or so but doesn't go as low as +2, normally.
She is sleepy, but she was sleepy before she cliffdived because of the earlier bupe.
She hasn't moved from her comfy spot so I don't know how her walking is like now, but that is not going to be a very good indication of hypo anyway due to bupe.
She is not twitching or anything.
Just sleepy......

I am doing fine. Thank you for asking, Libby.
I just thought my heart was going to jump out of my mouth, but I am much calmer now since her number is out of the danger zone.
 
it might be from the bupe, mariko. if she's been in a lot of pain that would've driven up her numbers. when she got the bupe and the pain was relieved, which is good, her BGs might've dropped.

not positive that's what happened, but i did see a similar thing with punkin at one point. make sure you take a dose reduction in the morning! good catch tonight - way to keep her safe.
 
Oh my - step away from the computer and look what I missed. :shock: :shock: Lucy really doesn't like this dose, this is the second time she's done this to you at 1.25U. You handled it really well Mariko. I've once got a Lo, but it was a meter error when I retested. I can only imagine how you felt. :YMHUG:
 
I was just looking to see how the vet visit went. Wow :shock: on that 22!
Good luck with the new dose of insulin, and on getting the bupe dose just right. I've always ended up giving half or less of the dose of bupe that the vet prescribed. I start with what the vet prescribes of course, and then lessen the dose if J.D. is too wobbly or spacey.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top