11/11 Lovey PMPS 193 +2.5 200 +4.5 171

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107933


Julie and Sienne .....
I have one more question. I wonder why after a skipped shot and a reduced dose that Lovey went down to 78 at PMPS. Doesn't a skipped shot drain the depot and I reduced by .25? What do you think?
Do you think Lovey for some reason is responding better to the insulin or ......

I have a really high preshot this morning. I gave the 2.5 dose. I don't want end up skipping again when the numbers settle down and Lovey is swinging from 70's to 500's.
I have had two skipped shots this week. If I get a very low preshot before work I will end up skipping again because I can't monitor, would it be possible for me to try a fat 2.25 or skinny 2.5 if the numbers come down or should I wait and see?
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey AMPS 546 due to skipped shot?

While a skipped shot can drain the depot, sometimes the response isn't immediate. If you look at enough SSs, you'll sometimes see that a kitty drops into low numbers, the dose is reduced the next cycle, and within a cycle or two is back in low numbers. It is likely that the depot hasn't "caught up" with the change (whether it's a reduction or skipped shot).

Of course there is also the explanation that this is the kind of thing our cats do because they can and they are cats. It's their job to keep us confused.
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey AMPS 546 due to skipped shot?

Last time when I skipped a shot. The next cycle was high. this time Lovey is down to 174 at about 5 hours 35 minutes.

what do you make of it? I better keep checking her today in case she is dropping down. I will test again in 1 hour.
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey AMPS 546 +5.75 174? Almost 400 point drop?

it's always good to check again. it might be that this is still too much for her. i'm linking the protocol that has numbers listed specifically using AlphaTrak: Table 3. At preshot tonight, take a look there and see what the recommendation is. It may be that skipping last night wasn't enough to reset the shed and reduce it some, making the 2.5u dose reasonable to go back to. i wouldn't worry about this drop so much because she had the skipped shot last night. Now she's getting back on track.

sometimes when there are a series of changes, in Lovey's case, a dose reduction, HC food, a low preshot with a skipped shot, it's hard to say exactly where to land. Hopefully this cycle will clear up some of the questions.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008 dosing_testing protocol.pdf
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey AMPS 546 +5.75 174 +7 138 ? 400 point drop?

Thanks Julie for your help and reminding me about the lower preshots. I do have the protocol sheet that you gave me. They say one option is reduce by .25 if on a low dose of insulin for a preshot from 80-130 and test if that works. I can definitely try that when I can monitor or a little more conservative for the first time and monitor. Lovey's preshots were so much higher so I am crossing this new spot. I did not know about the protocol when I started on this forum. Although, the protocol is great. I guess I need to modify it when I am working etc.

I did another spot check at +7 and it was 138. I did not get a nadir, but I tested at +9.2 5 at it was higher in the 180's. My preshot will probably be higher this evening unless it dips again. So the nadir today was between +7 and +9. However, coming off a skipped shot I would have expected higher numbers. I am a little concerned that 2.5 could be too much with a normal preshot but I don't want to lose progress either. I will add to the depot as I keep giving the dose?

Sorry for all this rambling. When it gets closer to work I start to get nervous, if I have questions about the dose.
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey AMPS 546 +5.75 174 +7 138 ? 400 point drop?

It's so hard to find a good dose when you work and can't come home to test. I hope you can figure out a good dose for Lovey soon.
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey PMPS 193 +2.5 200

Hey, Catherine -

Seems like Lovey is trying to help you learn lots about FD, what a sweet girl! :cool:

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey PMPS 193 +2.5 200

i wish i had a more clear answer for you. cats like to keep us on our toes - and everything we see is in context. when you see the meter and you're ready to give the shot, you can look at the previous couple of cycles and make a prediction about what you think Lovey might do. Until that point, it's kinda hard to know what the best course of action is.

i can say that always, our first priority is that she needs to be kept safe, even if it means losing momentum. and we all totally get it when you have to work and be gone. I just don't have an exact answer. Your hand is on the syringe, and if you think she needs less insulin in order to be safe, then that's what you should do.

Your other tools includes food and other people. i can't remember if you have a timed feeder or not, but that's what i used for punkin while i was at work, setting it to go off every 1/2 hr when i was really worried. some people mix food with water and freeze catfood ice cubes to leave out instead of a feeder. and of course, there's the help from other people, but i think you said your husband wouldn't test.

consider tonight what your plan will be for morning. the sticky on Low numbers lays out a few choices that you can consider, but it's good to think now what you'll want to do.
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey PMPS 193 +2.5 200

Thanks Julie. I thought you could predict the future. ;-) I guess we do our best decision with the data we have. I have a timed feeder that I have set for two early cycle feedings. I was going to leave that for Lovey. I could add more feedings until I am sure about a dose then drop back. Tonight I gave 2.5 units and am going to do some testing. maybe that can help me make up my mind. Thanks for all your help this week. I really appreciate it.
I can also give 2.25 as a BCS dose and then give 2.5 and test some more.

My husband will spot check for
me but he can't always come home for lunch. He is home on Friday so he will do a spot check for me on Friday.

have a great night and thanks for all the tips.
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey PMPS 193 +2.5 200

:-D you're welcome. i understand the whole thing - all of us do. it's hard to balance work and a diabetic cat. i know my co-workers thought i was crazy because i ran home during lunch to check him. i had to ask the principal to move my lunch earlier so i could run home and check punkin. she was kind enough to not call me crazy! ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 11/11 Lovey PMPS 193 +2.5 200 +4.5 171 AMPS 410?

Do you think this could be a possible bounce from going to low? I could not stay awake any longer.
when I got a 78 on the 2.5 it is not an automatic reduction because it was the first day of a new dose?

Since I wasn't sure, I gave 2.25 this morning. Her +10 was high about 289.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top