11/11 Cupcake AMPS - 121, +3 - 92, +5 - 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cupcake

Member Since 2013
It is still very difficult to stick to one dose when you see a blue number in the morning. At the moment I do not know if we are on 2,00U or on 2,50U dose...
Anyway, no reds for a second day makes me happier.
 
Stay with the 2u unless you get a test anywhere in a cycle that is below 50. Any test below 50 earns him a dose reduction of .25u.

We want him to keep earning reduction until there is nowhere left to reduce so we can throw him an OTJ party! :-D

Now that the antibiotics have done their job and gotten rid of the infection his insulin needs are dropping.

The key to keeping those reds away is not skipping shots. If he gives you a preshot number that is lower than you are comfortable shooting simply shave a half unit off the dose and still shoot.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Dear Mel,

Should I don't be afraid and give him a 2U shot if his BG is, for example, 60 or even 90? I do want to keep his dose as constant as possible. However I do not know what my threshold of comfortable shooting is... I do panic a bit when I see a green pre-shot number. On the other hand, I realise that skipping is not a way out. Reducing a dose again? How about a constant dosing then? ohmygod_smile

What regards Cupcake's infection, we did repeated blood and urine tests a week ago. The results showed there is still some kind of inflammation because his leucocytes where above normal. That means that antibiotics did not help to get rid of inflammation. My vet says it may be because of asthma. I'm still trying to find out how to find the source of inflammation.

OTJ party sounds like the best Christmas gift I could ever imagine :(
 
Right now if he is below 150 take a half unit off his dose. The antibiotics are only going to take care of infection. If the inflammation is from his asthma then that's different. Now my Maxwell has asthma also and he has been OTJ for 3 years. I just can't use pred to control it, he has an inhaler called an Aerocat and I give him Albuterol and Flovent through that so the steroids stay in just his lungs. Don't know if that is an option for you there but might be something to discuss with your vet.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang.
 
Dear, Melody, our angel :)

Yes, I know about Aerokat. Guess what? It seems that I'm the only person that knows about inhalers for cats in my country and, of course, Aerokat is not available here :-D
I'll try to find out more about it and maybe buy it from Ebay. Thanks ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top