11/11 Angie pmps=176 +2=158 vet update and photos

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Hi LL,

Our last condo is here.

Julie and Carla - thank you for your responses last time to our dosecrease question. Sorry I took so long to acknowledge your help.

It's been a little while since I've posted. Angie has been going along ok but I've been unwell. She probably wants an increase but I have been testing her at pre shot +2 and +4 (mostly) so I didn't want to risk anything. Also, I'll know more on Thursday about if there's an infection underlying her return to insulin. If there is, would it make sense to increase before hand?

Vet Update:
We went in to the vet again for her snuffly breathing - I've been doing detective work while she sleeps and am sure that the sound comes from her head not her chest and only when she's breathing through her nose. The vet agreed and she's going to have an xray on Thursday. The vet is thinking it could be a chronic sinus infection or a growth that's blocking her nose. She's breathing evenly through both nostrils though. She tends to wheeze on the in breath and then breath out with ease through her mouth. Her chest heaves sometimes with the effort of breathing in. The vets had initially thought her difficulty breathing in was because of her sternum that broke earlier this year and is now concave and pushing in on her lungs. But the noise really seems to come from her nose.

She needs a seditive unfortunately because they need her head still without a hand on top of it. Last time, for her chest xray, I didn't want them to sedate her so I held her head and bum down (all suited up in the lead protective gear). She had a hissy fit and the vet nurses were scared of her - she has never scratched or bitten so I know that she's all talk. I went nose to nose with her and told her to mind her manners. They all got a fright, me putting my nose to a hissing cat but I know Angie just likes to express her feelings - she wasn't going to hurt anyone. :lol: Anyway, they won't let me try and hold her for a head xray. So, she needs to fast and have a sedative. The vet said to give her a half dose of insulin and bring food.

I've also put her latest blood work up as well.

I'm worried for little cat. She just seems more fragile at the moment. She turns 18 in 12 days! I wanted to have a picnic on our front meadow for her. I invited Angie's favourites of our old house-mates/cat-sitters from over the years. Mum wants me to cancel because I've been so unwell but I'll have to do something. We've never celebrated her birthday before but this feels like a milestone. It would be nice to do something happy - it's been a difficult year for her and I, with Jetzin passing and her health issues. Of course, she probably won't like having a picnic! :twisted:

Lot's of healing vines to beans and cats that need them. I can't tell you how much I appreciate this site and all you wonderfully supportive, caring and helpful people.

Grace
 
Re: 11/11 Angie pmps=176 +2=158 vet update

Using some green peas as bribery, Angie and I had a 18th birthday party outfits photo shoot. I like the single string of pearls. :lol: I think Angie was partial to the diamantes (but not on her head).
 
LOVE the photo shoot...I'm particularly fond of the pearl "tiara" - she looks very regal in that shot!

I'm sorry she needs a sedative for her x-ray...it will all be done and over with quickly, though. Sending prayers for good results!!
 
Good luck with the x-rays. I hope nothing is seen. My vet just uses a little gas and it hasn't caused issues. Seeing your pics reminded me so much of my angel tortie. It's been 5 years and we think of her every day.
 
Hi Grace ~O) ~O) ~O)

I love that photo shoot! Amazingly Angie looks alot like by Elsa. Love those tortie girls! Happy Birthday to you Angie, have a great party!

I wish you luck with the medical things for Angie. Those can be so difficult. perhaps the sedative for the xray etc can be a mild one? Good luck Angie! I love how you were able to go nose to nose with her, I have had a similar experience years ago with another cat: all talk, no action. I too was able to talk him though what was making him so upset. I can so see the look on the vet assts faces. ;-)

Many many healing vines for you. I so hope you are feeling better.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
I love the pictures. Angie looks so adorable in them. I hope you get good test results back and it is something simple. I hope you're feeling better. Sending prayers and hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top