11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353;+4=335;+6=265;PMPS=188;+6=368

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265

If I remember correctly, some of those heart medications like the enalapril can raise the BG levels. You might want to think about upping the dose to 4.25 to compensate.

Looking at his SS, he seemed to do better on the higher dose.
 
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265; +12=188

Nicholas is due for his PM shot at 8:20. He had dinner at 6pm and kept nibbling bits til about 45 minutes ago (7:15). He went upstairs and about 15 minutes ago I heard him meowing like he used to when he used to play with his bone shape pillow, carrying it around meowing, and I went upstairs and he was sitting at further end of hallway looking at me. So I thought I would try something and I went to get his pillow from his box (he hadn't played with it in months) and I tossed it to his feet. And went back downstairs. I heard him meowing few minutes later and I went back up and he had the pillow in his mouth and had carried it to the front of bathroom door which is halfway closer from where he was. So I thought OMG and I ran down to get the meter and a strip and went up and he let me poke him and I got blood right away (it does bleed easier after multi pokes over weeks) and tested and it was 188!! Now I jumped for joy and kissed him and went downstairs to get piece of plain deli meat and went up to give to him right away. Now I know that you guys said at +11 some cats drop numbers, so it is just that, or do I enjoy some 'normal breathing' on my part for a bit at this number. He has not hit blue even at 15 minutes pre-shot since his 156 aon 11/5/13. Since he was 188 at 20 minutes before shot time, should I hold his shot and test him later to see what number is? Or should I shoot due to his numbers prior? I will tell you that I would like to wait til later to see how his number is, but wanted to ask here first.
And IF he is higher later and I shoot, how do I get him back on his normal shot time schedule tomorrow since it will be less time til his 8:20am shot time.
Right now I am just going to enjoy putting 188 on his SS and seeing a BLUE again.

Yesterday, I started giving him bits of plain deli turkey, and his usual raw gizzards as snacks, and last night and today I gave him Pure Bites at test/shot time, and when I gave him dinner and he smelled and looked at me, I sprinkled one freeze dried cube chicken on top and he ate. Then he went upstairs and meowed. Could that extra protein have something to do with better number? I am supposing here but in happy way.
I
 
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265

I felt same way Deb when MomofMuse said that heart med can influence numbers. He gets 1/2 pill of Enalapril twice a day. I give him his nightime pill usually an hour after PM shot, but i can wait to give to him when I got to bed, so I can wait and test later to see his number then. But he got blues in Oct and even when I changed to 4.00. He got all wonky when I tried to put him at 2.50 and he's a bouncing time the past few days when I put him back at 4.00. Hopefully he is settling back into the 4.00 and I can keep him there. I am not going to envy the lower dosages of others on here, because the ultimate thing is how he feels and him doing better numbers on the 4u.
 
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265; PMPS=188

I think I'd test again, just before shot time to see if that 188 is a rising or falling number.

We suggest if this is the first time you have shot below 200, than don't feed, wait 20-30 minutes and test again. If you have fed already, than the test will be food influenced and it's harder to judge what is making the number rise/fall.

If you delay the shot, and have gotten off schedule, you can move back the shot time 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes once a day to get back on track to your normal shot times schedule.

Sorry, I was off in the Feline Health forum answering a few posts and did not see your question until now.

Hope this helps.

p.s. I just don't know enough about the different heart medications to know if giving it at a different time will make a difference in the BG numbers.

How is he doing with the 5 P's? peeing, pooping, preening, playing and purring?
 
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265; PMPS=188

Now that's looking better. Now if he can just hang on to the beautiful pmps and settle in on this dose like that.

Yeah with his heart meds the best your going to do is get him well regulated at whatever that dose ends up being.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265; PMPS=188

He ate dinner at 6pm - two and 1/2 hours before his normal shot time of 8:20. And this was first time since Nov 5 that he was again in 100's two hours after dinner. But later that day was when I dropped him to 3.00 and that was the beginning of the wild ride. So I do not want to do that again. I just want to see how long he an go before getting his 4u tonight. i know this "yay!" may be short lived, but at least I know he can got there again, and no ketones (even though strip said negative, you never really know.)

All the P's are as they should be. I give Lasix only as needed, and as he was not so bloated yesterday or today I did not give, so his peeing was normal as his civvies, not a river as when I give him Lasix. That is also what messes things up for 'watching', the Lasix makes him go more so I have to just go by how he acts on other things on those day when I give it to him. He only gets 1/4 pill as needed.

He is now upstairs on my Dad's bed lying flat out on side and when I rubbed his face, he purred.

Actually he never purred in the 8 year since he moved in, and even the vet thought that's odd but otherwise all was fine. Then in January when he was DX FD and lost some of his 17 pounds and looked like a normal cat and not like he swallowed another one, he began to purr and loud. Vet said maybe the fat was clogging his purr mechanism. (what a comedian). But now that he purrs, its a good indicator of how he feels. Like he will not purr when he's given food he's not wild about, but if I open a different can and let him smell, (like wine sample) then he purrs and I know ok to put in his dish.
 
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265; PMPS=188

So if I test at 11pm which would be +3 from PMPS, and shoot, then tomorrow morning I should test and shoot at 10:30am and then at night shoot at 11pm, and then next morning shoot at 10:00am and then shoot at 11pm, and keep going like that - doing half hour less in mornings - until I get back to 8:30am-8:30pm?

If I move back 15 mins per cycle - is a cycle each shot time? Like if I shoot at 11pm, then tomorrow morning I do at 10:45am and then at night do at 10:00pm?
 
Re: 11/11/13 Nicholas:AMPS=353; +4=335; +6=265; PMPS=188

Yes a cycle is every shot time so tomorrow morning if you shot at 10:30 tonight you would shoot at 10:15then tomorrow night you would shoot at 10:00pm then Wednesday morning you'd shoot at 9:45a.m. and then 9:30p.m. and so on until you get the shot time back where you want it.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top