11/10 Xander AMPS 166 +2 141 +3 114 +4 107 PMPS 202 - Another very soft poop

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Xander had a small liquidly poop overnight despite that slightly more formed one earlier and made another mess. Because of the lower preshot and not eating well first meaL, I gave a half dose. He's in a great mood though. Maybe if it is B12 deficiency, the stools will still take some time to improve? Its only been just over 12 hours. I'm scared to resume the s boulardii in case it was making things worse, or still is. Maybe I just need to give the B12 more time.

This is really hard, not sleeping too well which makes my anxiety worse. He was having some great numbers too, and I might have disrupted it.
 
Sending lots of prayers the B12 will kick in and start to help his entire system to recover ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ™
It's so hard when they aren't responding as fast as we need them to (to keep our mental situation under control).
I also like to use Animal Essentials Colin Rescue when Ivy has loose poops, it has marshmallow, slippery elm and other good stuff.
(A prior vet had suggested it to me years ago)
Some people use Slippery Elm and swear by it too.

Do you have any other kinds of soothing GI remedies handy to try?
๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ
 
Sending lots of prayers the B12 will kick in and start to help his entire system to recover ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ™
It's so hard when they aren't responding as fast as we need them to (to keep our mental situation under control).
I also like to use Animal Essentials Colin Rescue when Ivy has loose poops, it has marshmallow, slippery elm and other good stuff.
(A prior vet had suggested it to me years ago)
Some people use Slippery Elm and swear by it too.

Do you have any other kinds of soothing GI remedies handy to try?
๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ
Thank you so much! Did it take a little while for Ivy's poops to recover after the B12 started?

I don't other than the s boulardii and psyllium husk. GI issues are completely new to me, Xander has never had a bad poop that lasted for more than one stool.
 
Did you test his B12? Any chance itโ€™s a pancreatitis episode? Max did not have loose stool from it but many cats do.
We did not test his B12. I wanted to see if it made a difference rather than putting him through the stress of a third visit in the past few weeks.

He definitely has pancreatitis bad right now. His specfpl 2 weeks ago was 50. The loose stools just seemed to start the past week though, he never had that issue with past pancreatitis flares.
 
Thank you so much! Did it take a little while for Ivy's poops to recover after the B12 started?

I don't other than the s boulardii and psyllium husk. GI issues are completely new to me, Xander has never had a bad poop that lasted for more than one stool.
Within a day her poops weโ€™re greatly improved. But I was giving her S. Boulardii as well.

Know this is new for you so itโ€™s a learning what of what to try. Did the vet have any suggestions?
That docement I sent a few days ago has lots of good information about how to treat loose poops ๐Ÿ™
(And you know me, I have an arsenal of things to try when she has a flare).
 
Within a day her poops weโ€™re greatly improved. But I was giving her S. Boulardii as well.

Know this is new for you so itโ€™s a learning what of what to try. Did the vet have any suggestions?
That docement I sent a few days ago has lots of good information about how to treat loose poops ๐Ÿ™
(And you know me, I have an arsenal of things to try when she has a flare).
The only thing she is saying is urging me to start the novel protein diet ASAP. Which I agree with but I am struggling to keep him eating his favorite foods reliably so that would be enormously difficult right now. And it seems the pancreatitis may be playing the bigger role than intestinal inflammation based on his ultrasound etc, but she is pushing for the IBD. It's frustrating to have to make the plan on my own. I'm the one who prompted trying out the B12 yesterday to see if it made a difference.
 
I think with Max it happened a handful of times. At the time I got flagyl but it really should not be given unless thereโ€™s a sign of an infection. I would not go to the vet now to test the B12 either but you do want to know if thereโ€™s a deficiency if giving it. I donโ€™t think he has IBD, right?

I did use SBoulardi with Chai and it worked. It should not make stool worse. I mixed it in baby food to make sure she got it. I hope things return to normal soon.
 
I think with Max it happened a handful of times. At the time I got flagyl but it really should not be given unless thereโ€™s a sign of an infection. I would not go to the vet now to test the B12 either but you do want to know if thereโ€™s a deficiency if giving it. I donโ€™t think he has IBD, right?

I did use SBoulardi with Chai and it worked. It should not make stool worse. I mixed it in baby food to make sure she got it. I hope things return to normal soon.
Im not too sure on the IBD. The ultrasound showed some enlarged lymph nodes but no thickening of the intestines. The vet is leaning towards IBD and treating that with a novel protein diet as the main treatment but that would be pretty difficult right now cost wise given getting him to eat is a bit more challenging at the moment.
 
I saw hounds and Gatos makes on available on chewy. I may order that tonight. He does go nuts for the smell of ham so maybe it will translate to enthusiasm.

I did notice the Hounds and Gatos pork has salmon oil in the ingredients, would this be a dealbreaker?
https://www.chewy.com/hound-gatos-p...xDNaYyBrpnMXL4xekCK_s5gnx7rX_YI8aAqWYEALw_wcB

AI says the difference between fat and protein makes the difference so it shoud be fine:
"Fats vs. Proteins: Food allergies and IBD immune responses are almost always triggered by the protein molecules in a food, not the fat or oil. Pure, high-quality salmon oil undergoes a rendering process that removes the allergic fish proteins, leaving behind only the purified fat."
 
And any supplements are really hard to get in even due to his unpredictable meals and whether he will finish the one I put the supplement in :confused:
It's hard when they don't want to predictably eat.
Maybe you could try to put a supplement in something he likes (baby food??) and feed that before his meal so it's separate and you're not interfering with his main meal.

I hope the diet changes can help and you can find something he will like.
 
I'm going to poach a pork chop later and see how he likes it. I'll order the food and some pork based toppers and deal with the struggles of the transition as it comes. Who knows, maybe he'll love it and not waste like crazy.

I'm surprised that his appetite was reduced today despite all the meds he's on. I hope things aren't getting worse and the B12 isn't going to help. I guess theres still plenty of time for that to start to have an effect though..


One more question - how would I manage when he has low numbers requiring extra carbs? Could I simply mix some karo syrup into his food? Or should I also look for a pork food that has higher carbs?
 
I'm going to poach a pork chop later and see how he likes it. I'll order the food and some pork based toppers and deal with the struggles of the transition as it comes. Who knows, maybe he'll love it and not waste like crazy.

I'm surprised that his appetite was reduced today despite all the meds he's on. I hope things aren't getting worse and the B12 isn't going to help. I guess theres still plenty of time for that to start to have an effect though..


One more question - how would I manage when he has low numbers requiring extra carbs? Could I simply mix some karo syrup into his food? Or should I also look for a pork food that has higher carbs?
You can do either one. I cook and add a supplement for my two. One would eat raw primal pork but refused the ground pork. So weird. My itger with allergies has been eating ground bison as she reacts to protein after a year or two. She will eat the ground. Crazy cats.
 
Depending on the protein, sometimes you can find higher carb products with it. Otherwise just go with karo or honey. I saw First Mate has a pork and apple product. They put potato in their products so tend to be higher carb. But not sure if you can get it in the US.

I like Elise's picky cat story. My IBD girl would eat frozen Stella & Chewy's raw, but not their freeze dried raw product. Primal she would eat the freeze dried but not the frozen. Welcome to the frustrating world of IBD. :banghead:

Were you giving the emergency stop dose of s. boulardii, or just the maintenance dose? Probiotics โ€“ IBDKitties
 
I think i may try the wet pate and the freeze dried dry dehydrated.

For the s boulardii, i was giving 1/4 capsule twixe a day. Then started to increase slightly to 1/3 capsule. I was using the jarrow one with MOS added
 
I ended up giving a reduced shot tonight, 0.75 instead of 1, because of his unpredictable appetite today and preshot being a little lower. I might need to play around with his dose a bit until I feel confident his eating is strong. Even on the 1 unit dose, he had 60s the past 2 nights that required some extra feeding
 
Back
Top