11/10 Toby's PMS=205 +7.5=250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Went to bed early so I could test last night. Got up at 12.00 am which is +6 . Do you think I could catch him. He would take off running every time I got close to him. Then he got under computer desk and I couldn't get him. So I went back to bed with no
Test. He either went low last night or is bouncing from going green yesterday. He's eaten now and is napping. Have a great Monday. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/10 Toby's AMS=366

Julie, Posted this morning before I read your post last night. I don't think Toby will ever get OTJ because of the Pred. I can't take him off the Pred. so I guess my goal is to try and keep him under renal threshold . What is your opinion on this? Wish I could get him on a lower dose of insulin but if I can't I guess I will just deal with It. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/10 Toby's AMS=366 +6=250 PMS=205

try luring him out next time with something yummy to eat. i have good luck with offering a treat to get the cats to come out.

I don't know if the pred rules out his chances of going OTJ. But, I think he could get flatter than he is. Often getting a cat flatter will end in the dose reducing too. Not always, but often.

I'm thinking you have room to increase his dose. He's had 29 shots at the 12u and the lowest test is in the 70's. Even with nadirs in green numbers, you can increase the dose once you've waited long enough to see if it's going to do any better. This is long enough. It's up to you, but it's something for you to consider.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

edited to add - with the size of his dose, I'd probably do a 0.5u increase rather than 0.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top