11/10 Sootie: amps/310,amps+1/300,+3/87,+6/82+9.5/117 ,pmps/242,+5.5/117

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-5-5-176-11-209-pmps-274.167941/#post-1819229

Good morning..I conked out again last night...deeply conked out...and missed doing any Bgs after the pmps. :facepalm:

No note from DH about giving Sootie late night snacks other than her standard process tabs.

If this morning's pmps any reflection of her humans being off kilter last night...:(:woot:...

Sootie's ambg....310....:banghead:
Looking like this is the time to increase from 0.25u to 0.5u? I'm thinking so but appreciate feedback...

Shoot window ca 8am ET

Her appy in spurts this morning but she has returned to fud dish and is eating.

Thanks and vines for all.
Sina
 
Removed the blue? in thread title.
Going to retest in a few minutes (Sootie's eaten more) and go with .5u unless by some bizarre miracle she's dropped 200 points in an hour (in which case I'd ask Sootie if she's been reading the post-election financial pages).

She's been at .25u for 8 cycles (if I'm reading SS right). So, unless there's a compelling reason that reduce might jiggle her pancreas to groove in greens and blues...we'll up to .50!
 
Retest of amps..actually amps+1 (correct attribution because no shot at retest?) was 300.
So just did .50u.
 
Sorry no one answered your question. I think Sootie needed a dose increase. Just one thing I wanted to point out, dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot number. Sootie hasn't been getting any green nadirs, so the dose increase is a good idea. Sending prayers.
 
Sorry no one answered your question. I think Sootie needed a dose increase. Just one thing I wanted to point out, dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot number. Sootie hasn't been getting any green nadirs, so the dose increase is a good idea. Sending prayers.
Thanks Carla, yes basing doses on nadirs and patterns as best as I see / understand / learn them along the way. And with thanks for the experience among this group!

Not having done tests last night past pmps, not knowing if DH had given her any food snacks during the night, her jump to over 300 this am and earlier observations from you, Marje and others, indicated time ripe to try increase.

Azalea's eye looks worse this morning. Not sure if steroid eye drops or other. But she is eating. Calling vet now.

Thanks and prayers and vines all around for all.
 
Well, the threat of a dose increase often snaps them into ladder action! Seems Sootie was listening in!:D Hoping the rest of her cycle is a gentle one:bighug::bighug:
Good luck with Azaelas vetting visit..hope it goes well:bighug::bighug::bighug:
( my cat Jett has melanoma in his eye, currently does a perfect imitation of his leopard collar. At some point he too will sport that stylish pirates patch Bubba wears in his picture) Vetty vines and hugs to you.
Les
ETA: Dear E.D. , don't forget to add that beautiful green number you got to your thread title for all to enjoy!
Sincerely,
H.H.
 
There's a chance Sootie was bouncing this morning and you're seeing the new dose and the bounce clearing at the same time.
Oh my!
Ok here's a question bc just when I think I understand bounces...I don't!
In this instance:
1. How to distinguish bounce from effect of new dose absent future knowledge (eg bg's tbd during day)?
 
Bounces can happen from either a fast drop or a cat getting into numbers they are not used to. I suspect Sootie was bouncing this morning because you haven't seen pink for a while, but since you weren't able to get any tests last night that's just a guess. I suspect she dipped into lower blues and bounced.

Most of the time a new dose doesn't bring numbers down that fast. That's a big drop. I hope this helps.

You may want to test again if you haven't.
 
I think the difference that makes it look like a bounce clearing is the kind of drop she took. It is big and bigger than she normally would see just being from the new dose. So the bounce took her higher..and then the bounce was clearing meaning her numbers were already coming down so it's a more exaggerated drop than you would expect just from the new insulin dose. That's where the spreadsheet data comes in, being able to sort of predict based on past data of behavior. Hard as it may be to decipher there are patterns lurking in this dance!
If I have it understood correctly that is!
 
Make sure the Q you need answered is in your thread tool so eyes see you need something answered...:bighug:

Thank you HH! At vetty waiting room now with Azalea

I think the difference that makes it look like a bounce clearing is the kind of drop she took. It is big and bigger than she normally would see just being from the new dose. So the bounce took her higher..and then the bounce was clearing meaning her numbers were already coming down so it's a more exaggerated drop than you would expect just from the new insulin dose. That's where the spreadsheet data comes in, being able to sort of predict based on past data of behavior. Hard as it may be to decipher there are patterns lurking in this dance!
If I have it understood correctly that is!

Bouncy bouncy goes it all...sometimes...
Almost our turn to see vetty, will reply better later.
 
Thanks, we're home and just did Sootie's +9.5@117 :cool:

Still a couple hours til pmps, so will post question early in title and here:

Question:
Given Sootie's trends, today's #'s with the am increase from .25 to .50u....
And crossing paws for her to still be in blues at pmps: Appropriate to hold pm dose at .50u if 150 or more or reduce back to .25 if >90<150?

Shoot window ca 7:30- 8pm ET

Thanking in advance
Sina
 
Well, the threat of a dose increase often snaps them into ladder action! Seems Sootie was listening in!:D Hoping the rest of her cycle is a gentle one:bighug::bighug:
Good luck with Azaelas vetting visit..hope it goes well:bighug::bighug::bighug:
( my cat Jett has melanoma in his eye, currently does a perfect imitation of his leopard collar. At some point he too will sport that stylish pirates patch Bubba wears in his picture) Vetty vines and hugs to you.
Les
ETA: Dear E.D. , don't forget to add that beautiful green number you got to your thread title for all to enjoy!
Sincerely,
H.H.

Hi Les, just updated re Sootie's +9.5 with ? in right places etc I hope.

I'd like to hear more about Jett and his eye situation.

Azalea's eye is a bit larger than it was yesterday (she winced about having the new drops, steroids, that vet rx'd yesterday so I'm not sure if that aggravated her eye or not). Vet rechecked. since yesterday he sees new signs of possible scar tissue forming or a mass/tumor. agrees now best to see specialist. Have appt for Monday unless they have a cancellation tomorrow. In meantime stopping the steroid and resuming the Optimend gel, which imo at least offers a layer of buffer.

Vines for all and extra scritches to Gussie on his glorious otj celebration day.
 
Yeah I'd make sure there was something acting as a lubricant buffer too. If her eye is swollen every time she closes or opens it it's going to rub on that cornea which can not be good or comfortable
Jett has melanoma in his eye. Progressing but slowly, we are monitoring it regularly with a specialist. Bubba lost his eye from the same tumors.
IMG_1359.JPG
You can see it in his left eye, it's pretty evident. His right eye has the beginnings of it. Looks like a brown freckle.
 
Yeah I'd make sure there was something acting as a lubricant buffer too. If her eye is swollen every time she closes or opens it it's going to rub on that cornea which can not be good or comfortable
Jett has melanoma in his eye. Progressing but slowly, we are monitoring it regularly with a specialist. Bubba lost his eye from the same tumors.
View attachment 24252
You can see it in his left eye, it's pretty evident. His right eye has the beginnings of it. Looks like a brown freckle.
Yes I think the optimend gel definitely helps with lubrication and comfort.
Jett is gorgeous! What a personality. I see those speckles...I didn't realize Bubba's eye was removed bc of melanoma.
Will see what specialist thinks on Monday or tomorrow, if has cancellation. Azalea: please don't hissssss at the nice new doctor!

Just about to pmps Sootie, and will update in a few.
 
Bumpity bump please

Pmps at 8:03pm 242. Later than usual pmps and I'm sure some points bc Bella and dancer hovering for fud.
Hold at today's new dose of .25 or decrease?
 
Pmps at 8:03pm 242. Later than usual pmps and I'm sure some points bc Bella and dancer hovering for fud.
Hold at today's new dose of .25 or decrease?
I would hold the new dose of .5. (.5U is stated on your SS; is this a typo and the SS should read .25?) It will take a few days for Sootie's depot to catch up with the new dose, during which time most of the new dose will be going into the depot, and not into affecting the blood glucose. It is important to try not to skip around in dose. You want Sootie to settle in to a dose.

I hope Azalea's eye will improve.

Hang in there!
 
I would hold the new dose for the depot to build.

Last night I dreamed I accidently stabbed Forrest in the eye with a pair of scissors! What a horrible dream. Hope Azalea's eye continues to heal.
 
I think the difference that makes it look like a bounce clearing is the kind of drop she took. It is big and bigger than she normally would see just being from the new dose. So the bounce took her higher..and then the bounce was clearing meaning her numbers were already coming down so it's a more exaggerated drop than you would expect just from the new insulin dose. That's where the spreadsheet data comes in, being able to sort of predict based on past data of behavior. Hard as it may be to decipher there are patterns lurking in this dance!
If I have it understood correctly that is!
I would hold the new dose of .5. (.5U is stated on your SS; is this a typo and the SS should read .25?) It will take a few days for Sootie's depot to catch up with the new dose, during which time most of the new dose will be going into the depot, and not into affecting the blood glucose. It is important to try not to skip around in dose. You want Sootie to settle in to a dose.

I hope Azalea's eye will improve.

Hang in there!
thank you for catching that..my oopsie, yes should be on SS as .25u. I'll fix that. And thanks for your checking in on us and your suggestion on tonight's dosing .

Sootie's back in the bathtub again, drinking and eating (and maybe freshening up for Gussie's OTJ party), the menu and company being quite appealing. Soon as she had her shot, she's on her way to the party!
 
Last edited:
I hope you can get in to see the specialist tomorrow and it's nothing serious with Azalea's eye. I'm glad Sootie is still eating for you. Sending prayers.
 
I would hold the new dose for the depot to build.

Last night I dreamed I accidently stabbed Forrest in the eye with a pair of scissors! What a horrible dream. Hope Azalea's eye continues to heal.
Thanks all, holding at .25u, did (8:45pm) ...and corrected my morning typo on SS!

Bobbie, I've had those kinds of worry dreams too. Once I woke up in cold sweat, counting cats corporeal (6 at the time) and in spirit (over the course of some twenty plus years) and worried I'd lost track of someone...when I got my wits together and took my temp, I had fever...

And thanks too for holding Azalea in healing vibes. I remember you saying awhile back that Bubba adjusted well to "one-eyed" life. But I didn't realize it was bc of melanoma, same as with Les's Jett. Crossing paws and healing vines for all.❤️
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top