11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +11 160.2-shot? help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
He had other plans for me this morning. We were supposed to change his AMPS time but he decided he wanted to change his subq fluid time instead....as he gets treats (freezer dried chicken) then...so had to do the testing right at 5:30 am....so AMPS 207
slightly lower than yesterday's AMPS

good morning to you all and your kitties....where are my manners!
hope you all have a good one....
will report later...
btw i fell asleep last night and so since he ate like a little piggy i didn't think he was gonna go low on me....

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29374

by for now
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket AMPS 207

Morning guys! That is a pretty low yellow amps and could lead to some more of the blues and greens you have been seeing for awhile .. Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket AMPS 207 +3.5 82.8 +4 66.6

will test again shortly...he is dropping fast though....based on his amps....
he has been sitting by the water bowl...is this common?
he does get ondansetron for nausea....should have kicked in by now....
i'm getting concerned here...will report shortly
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket AMPS 207 +4 66.6 +4.5 66.6

at +4.5 testing he headed straight to his food...he probably said "enough of the darn testing i'll go eat some in order for my bean to leave me alone" ;-)
+5 73.8
until later LL
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2

recap AMPS 207
+3.5 82.8
+4 66.6
+4.5 66.6 he then went to eat
+5 73.8
+7 108
+10 162 he went to eat
PMPS 187.2
i gave skinny shot....getting nervous he is dropping quickly

help appreciated
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket AMPS 207

Maybe put Question or Help needed or something in your title? I'm not sure what you want help with, but this will bump you up.
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket AMPS 207

Yes, maybe adjust your subject to include Help With dosage??
and then just write a post to bump your condo up?
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

you were able to figure it out, changing your subject line, but perhaps be a bit more specific? DOSAGE HELP NEEDED example? ;-)
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

OMG this is the 6th time typing my msg

please look at SS
he drops fast and not sure how often to test
where are my msgs going? i'm frustrated

at + 3.5 post amps he was 82.8 found him sitting by his water bowl....he sat there some time...then dropped to 66.6 at +4

is it normal for them to sit by waterbowl?
how often should i test from here on after pmps? i did +1 he went up to 196.2

should i decrease dose for amps?
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

do try and change your subject line again, make it more urgent, i really cannot help with dosing information as I am a rookie, and my mowgli is riding high all the time...i wish i could help
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

Rocket's BG has gone up at +1, yes? You guys are doing fine right now. 196 is up a bit from PMPS.
Nice monitoring for the Rocket kitty. Now we don't want him to rocket up or down.... skating is good - surfing is good.

If he does begin to drop suddenly, feed some regular LC food, about a teaspoon or so and test in about 20-30 (unless it was really scary low then do 15 minutes.)
But he looks pretty good at the moment.
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

And today was a beautiful range of numbers. I know 60's can seem very scary the first few times you see them, but 60 is a healthy non-diabetic number. We aim for that number range.
You are doing beautifully here!
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

yes he went up at +1 196.2 but he hadn't had any food yet....he just ate but is by his waterbowl...
is this normal?
he does get the ondansetron for nausea but that's not for a couple of hrs yet (gets it 2x day) from his CRF related issues
based on those #s from this morning how often should i test him tonight?
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

His number rose before he ate. That shows us that you shot a rising number, perfect. The rise was not caused by a food spike. You did exactly the correct thing by shooting. And now he has finished his meal... but you are worried about him staying by the water bowl? Is this unusual for Rocket? It may be related to his CRF... I don't have experience with that so I cannot say whether it is normal or not.

I think you can get a +2 and see how the dose is affecting him and then decide if you can wait 2 hours for the next test. Today it looks like his nadir was around AMPS +5 or +6 and tonight might be about the same. The preshot BG numbers are very similar. 207 and 187 aren't that far apart.
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

I agree with CD. If you're nervous, a +2 will probably show you when the insulin starts to kick in. If it is already starting to drop then, you can go ahead and get some food into him then to help cushion the drop. His numbers are great, not too low and he's not bouncing very high. Very good. :smile:
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

pmps 187.2
+1 196.2
+2 153 (soon after testing he got up to go eat his regular food)...actually he nibbled a bit on it.

the sitting by the water bowl tends to happen when he has low #s since this whole thing started again (i mean now that he is getting low #s w insulin)....it is not CRF related as this is a new behaviour of his...that's when i know something is not right per se....hence those constant tests...
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket -questions

Hey Claudia, me again,
If you can update your status with your BG's that would keep people informed..
same way..go to your very first post of today and adjust your subject line there as you update his BG'S
:smile:
Hope you are feeling somewhat better?
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +1 196.2 +2 153

Claudia, if you are concerned, then I would test at +3...it will make you feel better than wondering where his numbers are, right? He had some really nice numbers today, and remember you are in control with your meter and the food. You're doing great!

I can't help with the other issues, but his BG numbers are looking good!
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +1 196.2 +2 153

Claudia....Putty hardly ever drinks any water anymore but the few times he does he tends to be in lower numbers.
Rocket had a great day today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +1 196.2 +2 153

I was going to say that I remember at least one person saying that when her cat went to the water dish, it meant he was dropping. Now I see that Putty does that too. On the other hand, last night Jazzy was drinking a lot more water than usual so I tested her, and her numbers were the same as always. I guess each cat really is different.

Sometimes it's helpful to write those observations on your spreadsheet so you can see if that is his pattern.
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +4.5 88.2 question

+4.5 88.2
based on today's #s so far, do i keep him at 1U or do i reduce the dose for tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +4.5 88.2- one ?

ok i will keep him there for now and will monitor him closely...
sorry to post so much...but i go based on the mmol system and when i see those 3.7 and 4.1 #s i panic....
keeping a close eye on him tonight...he is dropping still but now he is fighting me at the constant poking...so i will give him a little rest and try to test at +7 or should i call it quits?
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +3 120.6 +4.5 88.2

if it were me, i'd retest in another hour to see if he's surfing or dropping.
if he's surfing, i'd feed him and go to bed. if he's still dropping, you may need to test again. it just depends on how much of a drop.

in either case, feed before going to bed. you mentioned the other day he has food left out for nibbling all night.
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +3 120.6 +4.5 88.2

looks good. That should be a nice comfy range to sleep. If you're feeding again now, you shouldn't need to wake up again to test. He's not dropping anymore.
 
Re: 11/10 Rocket PMPS 187.2 +4.5 88.2 +5.5 86.4

he dropped a little bit but he is eating now...so will leave his ears alone

thank you all for your great help and support....
 
Claudia, I see you shot a 144 the other day, he was ok. Are you going to be able to monitor? If so, then I would shoot. He will probably rise before shot time anyway...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top