11/10 Received 1 unit at +1.75, +8 146, +10 146, PMPS 164, +2 158, +4 142, +6 164,

Cindy loves Tansi

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-pancreatitis-please-see-update-below.255250/

Good morning
Enjoy the day!

Tansi is coming home in a few hours. We are beyond happy!

Pancreatitis seems to be improving and coming home with the right meds as far as I can tell.

Now I am afraid I will need a lot of guidance with dosing.

First, here is what they did in hospital. Since Tansi was running between 7 and 10 on pet meter, they skipped 3 doses. This morning, he showed a 10.2 so they gave him 1 unit of lantus at +1.75 .

Here is the dosing advice I received from the internal medicine specialist.

1. Tansi is likely in remission with his near normal readings with no insulin.

2. Don't worry at all about testing for ketones. This only happens at above 30 bg.

3. Try not to give insulin, unless "he really needs it." With his low numbers giving insulin will probably lead to a hypoglycemic event.

4. Try giving him insulin only once a day instead of twice a day.

Obviously I am completely flabbergasted!!!!!

So, he would have been normally getting his dose 8 hours from now.
I am going to stay with him constantly for the next couple days, so no problem testing very frequently.

What should I dose, and when??
Any thoughts appreciated and so very grateful .
@tiffmaxee
@FrostD
@Bandit's Mom
 
Vet’s don’t realize that we can dose in .25 or even 1/8 increments so sometimes say to dose once a day or not at all. Even my wonderful vet didn’t realize this. He’s great so he let me handle dosing which I did with help here. You want to give insulin every 12 hours so we will need to find the dose that allows for that.

I am going to talk this over with a few others and get back to you on what to do tonight. Once settled get a test and then at what would be +10 and pmps. See if he’s eating and how he’s acting. That will help decide dosing.

I’m so happy he responded so well. Don’t stop any of the meds too quickly and when you do remove one thing at a time and see what happens for at least a couple of days. That way if he starts to eat less or act sick you know he still needs that support.
 
I had to blink a few times after I read that LOL

I generally try not to give dosing advice for tightly regulated cats on relatively lower doses...I'd just snag a couple tests when he does get home. I think you'd be ok to resume normal schedule and dose because depot is shot at this point and numbers are "high" (relatively speaking) but see what others say
 
Vet’s don’t realize that we can dose in .25 or even 1/8 increments so sometimes say to dose once a day or not at all. Even my wonderful vet didn’t realize this. He’s great so he let me handle dosing which I did with help here. You want to give insulin every 12 hours so we will need to find the dose that allows for that.

I am going to talk this over with a few others and get back to you on what to do tonight. Once settled get a test and then at what would be +10 and pmps. See if he’s eating and how he’s acting. That will help decide dosing.

I’m so happy he responded so well. Don’t stop any of the meds too quickly and when you do remove one thing at a time and see what happens for at least a couple of days. That way if he starts to eat less or act sick you know he still needs that support.
Thank you for all your efforts helping us.
Y'all are angels
 
Here is the dosing advice I received from the internal medicine specialist.

1. Tansi is likely in remission with his near normal readings with no insulin.

2. Don't worry at all about testing for ketones. This only happens at above 30 bg.

3. Try not to give insulin, unless "he really needs it." With his low numbers giving insulin will probably lead to a hypoglycemic event.

4. Try giving him insulin only once a day instead of twice a day.
5. Ignore all of the above and do what you were doing! :rolleyes:
How they think he's in remission on 2.25U is beyond me!

Glad to hear he is doing well and coming home! :bighug:
 
I had to blink a few times after I read that LOL

I generally try not to give dosing advice for tightly regulated cats on relatively lower doses...I'd just snag a couple tests when he does get home. I think you'd be ok to resume normal schedule and dose because depot is shot at this point and numbers are "high" (relatively speaking) but see what others say
Right!? Lol
I just agreed with everything she said.
Thank goodness for this group
 
It looks like you will be able to go back to your previous dose but get the tests so we can see. My above info was written when I thought no insulin was given this morning.
 
4 out of 4 wrong answers by that vet. :banghead::banghead: The nod and smile response is once often used here.

Get a test when you get home, fill in the spreadsheet as much you can with the clinic dosing and tests, and we'll go from there. I agree with Elise on next steps.
 
Tha
4 out of 4 wrong answers by that vet. :banghead::banghead: The nod and smile response is once often used here.

Get a test when you get home, fill in the spreadsheet as much you can with the clinic dosing and tests, and we'll go from there. I agree with Elise on next steps.[/QUOTE
Thanks a million
Smile an nod 100 percent!
I am letting him settle in and will begin testing in one hour
 
It looks like you will be able to go back to your previous dose but get the tests so we can see. My above info was written when I thought no insulin was given this morning.
Hi!
I asked for glucose curve results, they can't find them. I do have the +2 bg results for the past 3 days updated on the ss.
 
Excuse me of being skeptical. All that should be documented on his chart. I bet you were charged for curves. Did they give a copy of the chart and all labs as well as the ultrasound?

Don't forget to put 1.75 in the dosing box for this morning. Let's see the pmps.
 
Hi!
The dose this morning was 1 unit, the 1.75 was the time as in 1.75 hours after what normally would have been am dose. And at that time his bg was 10.7, and that's when they gave one unit glargine.
I don't have any PM numbers from them at all. I imagine because overnight there is only an er doctor and some nursing staff.
Yes, they did send all the charts and labs, and the ultrasound findings, but not the actual images.
Do you think an educated guess can be made with the updated ss or should I make a stink and try to get the curve details?


Excuse me of being skeptical. All that should be documented on his chart. I bet you were charged for curves. Did they give a copy of the chart and all labs as well as the ultrasound?

Don't forget to put 1.75 in the dosing box for this morning. Let's see the pmps.
 
Instead of * in the units column, could you put 1.0@13.75. It's easier than scrolling over to the Remarks for me. Similarly if you get AT readings, just put 10.2AT or whatever in the appropriate spot.

How's his appetite so far?
 
In the last six cycles, he's had two cycles at 2.25 units and 1 at 1 unit?

Just wondering if the onset of pancreatitis/inflammation brought on the higher numbers that caused you to increase to 2.25. If so, monitor closely tonight.
 
This is what I mentioned yesterday (today? Who knows what day it is anymore). Mr Kitty's numbers came way down once pancreatitis was treated. Could have been IAA coincidence but I'd just be careful...I had wiggle room with yellows and pinks, you don't have quite as much.
 
In the last six cycles, he's had two cycles at 2.25 units and 1 at 1 unit?

Just wondering if the onset of pancreatitis/inflammation brought on the higher numbers that caused you to increase to 2.25. If so, monitor closely tonight.
I have also been wondering if the pancreatitis has been causing his numbers to slowly creep up over the past few weeks. Since the last three days he has been going higher each day, I am thinking 2.25 will be ok?
I can keep close watch tonite.
Or should I hedge bets and do something like 1.75?
@tiffmaxee
 
You know I was going to suggest that for tonight but was worried you already shot and didn’t want to worry you. Do that. You can go up if necessary and Tansi has been doing well on lower doses too.
 
I’d give it a little time, knowing you can go up if the numbers tell you to and this way you can see if he continues to eat well. With TR you go back to the last good dose if you reduce and it fails.
 
Ok now that that's taken care of, do you have a game plan for the meds? Do you know what they gave, dosage, and when?

During bouts of whatever when I have to manage meds and stuff I tend to just note right in the cells themselves (so pancreatitis back in March, pleural effusion issues back in July/August if you look at SS)

Edit: do not follow my Cerenia and Mirataz dosing, I recently found out ER vet gave me wrong info
 
Ok now that that's taken care of, do you have a game plan for the meds? Do you know what they gave, dosage, and when?

During bouts of whatever when I have to manage meds and stuff I tend to just note right in the cells themselves (so pancreatitis back in March, pleural effusion issues back in July/August if you look at SS)

I am miserably bad at tech stuff and i can't seem to put anything in the cells beyond a few characters!

He has cerenia 8mg once daily
Mirataz 5 g once daily or as needed
Bupenorphine .33ml every 8 to 12 hours
Gabapentin 50mg twice daily
100 subq daily
I skipped the gabapentin for now because he was really sleepy from the bupe and I was worried he wouldn't eat. I might give it later tho.They would only give me 1week of meds snd only 3 days bupe as it is a controlled substance

Edit: do not follow my Cerenia and Mirataz dosing, I recently found out ER vet gave me wrong info
 
Back
Top