11/10 Pudge AMPS 119 +2 144 +3 123 +4.5 111 +5 111 +6 112 +9 150 PMPS 181

kitten68

Member Since 2024
11/8/25 Prev Thread Pudgles

Peanut is becoming less and less tolerant of vet visits.. maybe because he can't see so well now, it's more upsetting.. but he had to get blood poked twice (🤡)... a needle to the bladder.. and one hand clipped and it was like, nope maybe next time.. I really like his new vet tho x and so close by.. he's got compassion. I get the impression he might want to be more active in treating his FD and im like, uh oh.. 😅 lol.. do I talk to him about TR? what can I say? idk.. im always nervous of that in case they take it the wrong way because it isn't conventional/is off label and sorta underground.. but whatever. truthfully tho, its my cat and its up to me. 💘 this should be the go to treatment if people can manage it in every office. because of this board and the knowledge here and the development of this treatment, he's so much better..

anyway, he got checked over and vet was thinking maybe an infection, maybe UTI.. his weight is still same, acting same.. eating good. had a urinalysis (drawn with a needle! that was WILD!) drew blood again to check everything tho. apparently, Amlodipine can affect the kidneys.. and one other organ he said. 🤡............... 😤 he growled the whole time. :/

but honestly these meds helped him sm. but that's how they get you. haha..

will hear back tmw AM.. poor nugget had so much today.. ugh.
he's decompressed quite a bit now.. and in case he needs antibiotics, im glad he's on his provable..

ugh. I guess we'll hear tmw.. 💘
 
I'm sorry your poor guy had such a rough vet visit! 😓 Sounds like a whole ordeal. I hope the results come back clean and he's feeling better soon! ❤️‍🩹

I know what you mean about when they start to want to be more involved in the FD being an "uh oh" moment. Like, I could've used that way back in the beginning but now I've figured it out and don't need you messing it up... 😅
 
11/8/25 Prev Thread Pudgles

Peanut is becoming less and less tolerant of vet visits.. maybe because he can't see so well now, it's more upsetting.. but he had to get blood poked twice (🤡)... a needle to the bladder.. and one hand clipped and it was like, nope maybe next time.. I really like his new vet tho x and so close by.. he's got compassion. I get the impression he might want to be more active in treating his FD and im like, uh oh.. 😅 lol.. do I talk to him about TR? what can I say? idk.. im always nervous of that in case they take it the wrong way because it isn't conventional/is off label and sorta underground.. but whatever. truthfully tho, its my cat and its up to me. 💘 this should be the go to treatment if people can manage it in every office. because of this board and the knowledge here and the development of this treatment, he's so much better..

anyway, he got checked over and vet was thinking maybe an infection, maybe UTI.. his weight is still same, acting same.. eating good. had a urinalysis (drawn with a needle! that was WILD!) drew blood again to check everything tho. apparently, Amlodipine can affect the kidneys.. and one other organ he said. 🤡............... 😤 he growled the whole time. :/

but honestly these meds helped him sm. but that's how they get you. haha..

will hear back tmw AM.. poor nugget had so much today.. ugh.
he's decompressed quite a bit now.. and in case he needs antibiotics, im glad he's on his provable..

ugh. I guess we'll hear tmw.. 💘
I’m sorry he had such a hard time today 😞
Ivy and I can sadly relate.
Does he get gabapentin before vet visits?
Some cats really do much better when it’s in their system to calm them down.

Ivy takes it before vet visits, I don’t think it helps her, but I give it anyway.
She sure sleeps like a zombie when we get home.

I’m really glad you like this new vet. I hope tomorrow is much better and you get good results.
We are sending big hugs to both of you 💖😻🫂🫂
 
I’m sorry you both had a tough day. Amlodipine dies not typically negatively affect a cat’s kidneys. Max was on it for 7 years and I never read that nor did my vet mention it. It’s gge drug mist preferred for high BP in cats.

You wrote something about unconventional treatment. Were you referring to TR? It’s not at all unconventional.
 
A very rare side effect of too much amlodipine if it causes a fast spike in BP could cause kidney issues. I would not worry about that.
 
I'm sorry your poor guy had such a rough vet visit! 😓 Sounds like a whole ordeal. I hope the results come back clean and he's feeling better soon! ❤️‍🩹

I know what you mean about when they start to want to be more involved in the FD being an "uh oh" moment. Like, I could've used that way back in the beginning but now I've figured it out and don't need you messing it up... 😅
vet just called but missed it ~ waiting for call back 😬😅.. tysm!!!! and like im not sure what to say haha.. just agree whatever it is and keep doing things as we have? idk. 😕
 
I’m sorry he had such a hard time today 😞
Ivy and I can sadly relate.
Does he get gabapentin before vet visits?
Some cats really do much better when it’s in their system to calm them down.

Ivy takes it before vet visits, I don’t think it helps her, but I give it anyway.
She sure sleeps like a zombie when we get home.

I’m really glad you like this new vet. I hope tomorrow is much better and you get good results.
We are sending big hugs to both of you 💖😻🫂🫂
i am going to ask!! tysm for mentioning.. will do this. im not sure what we’ll hear; he didnt sound too concerned on the voicemail but idk 😬 so i guess we’ll see.. HUGS HUGS!!!! 🫶🏼❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥
 
I’m sorry you both had a tough day. Amlodipine dies not typically negatively affect a cat’s kidneys. Max was on it for 7 years and I never read that nor did my vet mention it. It’s gge drug mist preferred for high BP in cats.

You wrote something about unconventional treatment. Were you referring to TR? It’s not at all unconventional.
tysm.. ❤️‍🩹 it kinda was. lol i didnt realize it but i’d been holding a lot of tension and just came home exhausted.. the cat took a while to adjust being back home, too. 😕 his poor eyes.. well doctor called back w results just now but waiting to get call back as i missed it 🤡.. tysm for letting me know this.. im like whelp cant be helped.. haha but thats great to know. i hear it across board more or less.. this doctor said if it happens to be too much, transdermal might actually be good cuz it lowers the dose, but remains to be seen how he’d respond.. we’d have to see. i’d be happy tho one way cuz it would bypass the tummy. 😀 but im starting to feel for a fact that his pressure has been affecting the insulin effectiveness so its just as important to me rn..

right!! i wasnt sure what the word was.. 😅 but it isnt the referred treatment in most offices right/vets know about it? 😕🥴 i only know/knew of it and to come here cuz i was familiar before anything happened. and like when i was looking for a vet some time back, they all use Vetsulin….. 🤡 only one or two were familiar w Lantus. our current one called it Lantee. 😂 hes not too familiar either.. but whatever yknow.
 
Back
Top